We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Ranked #68 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel, it's very clean and cozy little place. Our room had big wooden pillars in it which was quite unique. The sheets and bathroom was very clean. Water in the sink had an unpleasant smell though. The location was perfect for boat cruise, the train station, Anne Frank's house, the red light district, shopping.. everything was 5 to 10 minutes walking distance. Very safe and pleasant neighbourhood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    328
    98
    28
    15
See reviews for
132
315
42
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for our three night mini break to Amsterdam. Yes the room was very small but it was perfectly suitable for our purpose, a bed for the night! We had so much to do ad see in our three days we didn't intend to be in the room much.
The staff were very friendly and the hotel is clean. It is in a great location with everything you need near by.

Room Tip: Ask maybe for one not on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat-Girl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A short distance from the central train station and tram lines, but walking into the Hotel Sint Nicolaas, one is transported into a quiet, stylish and relaxing atmosphere. The room we were in (twin) was comfortable and clean, the staff friendly and welcoming and the continental breakfast offering was varied and plentiful. My only negative comment would be as other reviewers have suggested, room lighting is rather dark. Another reviewer has noted that Spuistraat is a bit seedy, but there are parts of Amsterdam that are like that and I agree, we never felt unsafe. The location of this hotel meant we were able to walk to major attractions navigating through the picturesque residential neighbourhood back streets lining canals. Favourite part of the day was relaxing in front of the fire in the open plan Sint Nicolaas reception/lounge area. I'd recommend this hotel to couples and small groups of friends.

Room Tip: THe room my friend and I shared was on the first floor and we didn't notice traffic noise even t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie195847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the idea hotel for the discerning customer, all the main attractions are within walking distance and the Central station is a stones throw away. Although close to all the amenities this Hotel is surprising quite once inside. The decor is very modern and well maintained, the staff were wonderful, very helpful and friendly. It was a great pleasure to stay here, we would highly recommend and certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the tram side, very quite and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is an excellent hotel in, as others have noted, a very convenient location near Centraal Station. Rooms are good size (for Europe). They could use better lighting, however. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast, included in the room rate, is fine. Spuistraat is a bit seedy (a few women in windows, for example) in places but not unsafe. With the windows closed and drapes drawn I didn't notice much noise from the trams. Could be a problem in summer with the windows open, I suppose. I have stayed at four other hotels in Amsterdam; overall, the Sint Nicolaas is a very good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonrockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for the weekend to celebrate a friends Birthday. We stayed in the Quad room on the fourth floor. The hotel is very conveniently located to the train station, 5 mins walk, 10 if you walk leisurely. The room itself was very spacious and the beds very comfortable indeed, the only criticism I have is that the lighting can be improved a tad. The bathroom was a little dated, but very clean with towels provided. Breakfast was continental, but plenty of it and if fry ups are more your thing, then there are plenty of bars to eat at nearby. Check out is at 11.00am but you can leave your bags in a secure area if you are not planning to leave Amsterdam later in the day. I am scoring this 4 as I feel the rooms can be improved by adding tea and coffee making facilities or an option to make tea in the bar area downstairs plus there didn't appear to be any room service. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wend37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#85 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#104 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Property: Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing