We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Central Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Ranked #69 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous Central Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the idea hotel for the discerning customer, all the main attractions are within walking distance and the Central station is a stones throw away. Although close to all the amenities this Hotel is surprising quite once inside. The decor is very modern and well maintained, the staff were wonderful, very helpful and friendly. It was a great pleasure to stay here, we would highly recommend and certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the tram side, very quite and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    365
    115
    28
    14
See reviews for
148
353
44
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is an excellent hotel in, as others have noted, a very convenient location near Centraal Station. Rooms are good size (for Europe). They could use better lighting, however. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast, included in the room rate, is fine. Spuistraat is a bit seedy (a few women in windows, for example) in places but not unsafe. With the windows closed and drapes drawn I didn't notice much noise from the trams. Could be a problem in summer with the windows open, I suppose. I have stayed at four other hotels in Amsterdam; overall, the Sint Nicolaas is a very good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonrockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for the weekend to celebrate a friends Birthday. We stayed in the Quad room on the fourth floor. The hotel is very conveniently located to the train station, 5 mins walk, 10 if you walk leisurely. The room itself was very spacious and the beds very comfortable indeed, the only criticism I have is that the lighting can be improved a tad. The bathroom was a little dated, but very clean with towels provided. Breakfast was continental, but plenty of it and if fry ups are more your thing, then there are plenty of bars to eat at nearby. Check out is at 11.00am but you can leave your bags in a secure area if you are not planning to leave Amsterdam later in the day. I am scoring this 4 as I feel the rooms can be improved by adding tea and coffee making facilities or an option to make tea in the bar area downstairs plus there didn't appear to be any room service. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wend37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good hotel central location but loud. Very pleasant nice / helpful staff which was lovely. Bathrooms could do with an upgrade but rooms lovely in general. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank GlasgowKitty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good hotel, enjoyed staying in this hotel mainly for its location being close to central station (which is handy for onward journeys in Europe). Room was good, great bathroom, comfortable beed. Breakfast was ok. Overall, good hotel, would reccomend it to others travelling to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms are a good size, is slightly noisy at night due to location but not terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
1,101 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 904 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here on 2 occasions , the reason I came back was because of the lush and very comfortable beds, the cleanliness and the helpfulness of the staff, all be they casual in manner , they were very helpful and caring . Until on my last morning there when I was greeted by Abihet the young Ethiopian receptionist who had a distinctly bad attitude toward me. I came down to breakfast 10 minutes early everything was already set up so I got myself a coffee and bowl of fruit , sat down and began to partake of my breakfast. Abihet then came over looked at me as if I was a naughty child and scowled at me that breakfast begins at 7 am. By this time it was 6.55... I said I am sorry i was unaware of the time breakfast commenced ..I need to catch an early train, his exact words were " you should have read the instructions on the pamphlet you were given when you checked in, and the rules are the rules and they must be obeyed.. "" yes he used the words "rules"
I explained to Abihet I had to catch an early train , with a sour face he said that is not his problem , the rules are the rules.
I was wondering how the owner might have felt about this young man making such a statement to a guest. I was the only one in the room... i felt awful, I felt terrible being told off by this guy.. as if i was really committing some crime here. I have run hotels and if it had been me i would suggest to the clients we do normally open at 7 am but you are welcome to take your breakfast a few minutes early from the buffet. Would this not have made me feel welcome ? would this not make me want to come back next time i visit Amsterdam ?
I can only hope the owners read this and dismiss this young man who might be better suited to a career as a parking meter officer or maybe a court summons server . His demeanour and attitude certainly did not match that of the other fine workers there or the standard of the place.
I would highly recommend this hotel , for everything except Abihet the receptionist who hopefully will not be there next time i come to amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskiagrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear,
First of all I would like to thank you for your stay in hotel Sint Nicolaas and your review on
Tripadvisor.

The behavior of the man at the desk is unacceptable and most definitely not the way we treat our guests.

The matter will be discussed with him and I will make clear his behavior will not be tolerated in our hotel team.

I’m really sorry for the way you have been treated.

Furthermore I would like to thank you for your kind words about the hotel and the rest of the staff.

Kind regards,

J. Kaarsgaren
Hotel manager
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The position of the hotel can not be faulted, easy walk to all places and across the road from Amsterdam central.The staff where of the utmost help and very courteous.The breakfast was sufficient .The rooms are rather small but the bathrooms where quite large and clean.The ambiance of the hotel was great to sit down after a weary day out chatting with staff over a cold beer.Over all if you had a short stay in Amsterdam i would recommend this hotel as the staff where quite brilliant !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank steven l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#30 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#91 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#25 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Property: Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing