We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,098)
Filter reviews
1,098 results
Traveler rating
464
456
132
29
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
456
132
29
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcentral stationnice hoteltriple roomdam squarestreet noiseno air conditioningbeds were very comfortablevisit amsterdamcoffee machinecity breakminute walkred light districtwalking distancewould stay here againhotel is locatedbooked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
728 - 733 of 1,098 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I have stayed at the Hotel Sint Nicolaas before, a few years ago, but never on the 4th floor. The "double" rooms on the 4th floor are small with barely enough room for 2 people. I did ask for a room change but was informed this was not possible. The only positive point for Hotel Sint Nicolaas was the central location.

Room Tip: Only accept a room between floors 1 and 3.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank millsnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful at this small hotel. We had a large family room on the top floor which had four single beds which were very comfortable. We took the train in and out of Amsterdam and the hotel is an easy few minute walk to the station.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights, my husband and myself and 17 year old daughter shared a 3 person room. The room was fantastic, a good size with a lovely and clean bathroom including a bath. My only negative is the room was a bit warm and opening the window let in a lot of noise from the trams. We walked with our luggage from the station no problem. The handy tram access was useful for when we ventured into the museum district or to the cheap eateries in the noisy part of town. The room was quiet despite trams. Lots of coffeeshops close by which didn't interest us but didn't get in our way either. Some cheap cafes close by but also some pricey ones so look at menus and head toward the smaller streets and laneways. Breakfast was a typical continental which filled us up well. Loved the decor. Will come back if in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ragrunberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

My hubby and I went to a 10 day trips in May visiting Frankfurt, Paris, and Amsterdam. After experienced the shabby and tiny 3-star hotel rooms in Paris and Frankfurt, we didn't have high hopes for Hotel Sint Nicolaas. But wow, what a nice surprise. The room was "huge", classy, with fresh paint and modern finishing in the bathroom. Although the windows were facing the Voorburgwal street, the room is well sound proofed once the window is closed. There was a safe in the closet for customers' convenience. The location is great, a short five minute walk from the central train station and the major habor for canal cruises. Free Wifi and the complimentary breakfast buffet was good, offering fruit salad, cold meet/cheese slices, vegetables, pastries, juices and coffee. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. At the night before our departure, we checked with the front desk if we may had some breakfast earlier next morning as we need to leave around 5:30am. He said it may be difficult as the stuff serving breakfast only start working at 7am. Then in the morning when we came down to the lobby at 5:40am, he has already set out most of the breakfast items for us all by himself. We were deeply touched. This nice gesture just made the perfect end to our trip.
Thank you, Hotel Sint Nicolaas. We will defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCtravelerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

As first-time visitors to Amsterdam, the staff were very, very helpful in helping us find our way...from printing train schedules to recommending tours, etc. It is only about a five minute walk from the central train station. It was a great location for touring Amsterdam. The family room was a little small, but doable. The continental breakfast was great. After we checked out, they stored our bags in a secure room. If we were to visit Amsterdam again, we would consider staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews