We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fita is just right”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #13 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
SouthUSA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fita is just right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

We booked Hotel Fita based on TripAdvisor reviews. We got exactly what we imagined. Hotel Fita is a great little hotel. While the furnishings are basic, our room was clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was ample and delicious - especially the fresh sqeezed OJ. The hotel is located on a quiet, tree-lined street around the corner from the Rijkesmuseum and the Van Gogh museum. The staff was very friendly and welcoming although they are rarely at the front desk. You have to seek them out. The free international calls were great as was the free internet service. We had a very pleasant, two night stay at Hotel Fita and would certainly stay again.

  • Liked — Most everything
  • Disliked — No beauty products like shampoo, etc
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank journeydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,295
    407
    51
    24
    10
See reviews for
266
886
170
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

Hotel Fita was fabulous! Attention to detail is meticulous. They are friendly, helpful and the room is cute and clean. The location is perfect. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HHtravelerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2007

We spent 4 nights pre-cruise fro May 13 to May 17 at the Hotel Fita. We had a wonderful stay. The staff was warm, friendly and helpful. The room was wonderful. Breakfast each morning was excellent. The owners were fantastic, Hans' dinner recommendation was the best meal we ate while we were in Amsterdam. We enjoyed the free phone calls back home, the free internet, and took care of the laundry service that they also provide at no charge. The location is fantastic with the Van Gogh museum and the Rijks museum within easy walking distance as well as tram service into the heart of the inner city. When we go back to Amsterdam our stay will be at the Hotel Fita again.

  • Liked — Great Staff
  • Disliked — Steep stairs
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank retrieverdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2007

Hotel Fita is in a great location, a leafy street in the museum district well away from the frenetic core of the city so it provides a restful haven following a days sightseeing.

The city and all its attractions are within easy walking distance or alternatively a short tram ride of the hotel.

The room we stayed in is described as deluxe and was certainly large, clean and well equiped with a sizeable en suite bathroom.

Breakfast is very acceptable and staff are friendly and helpful. Discount tickets for the nearby museums are available and local restaurants we ate in were very good, particularly "De Knijp" which had an excellent atmosphere.

Overall a very pleasant stay in this wonderful city. The sun shone also which was a welcome bonus.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank linford95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2007

Date: May 16-May 22,2007
Reviewer: Lady from Miami
Stayed at this charming small hotel earlier this month and had a wonderful time. Hans and Loes were excellent hosts. The property was immaculately kept. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfasts that Hans cooked. The free phone calls that we made to relatives and free laundry service were an extra bonus.
Don't expect very ornate rooms. Ours was clean and functional. The bathroom was just fine and the duck found in the room added to the charm of the hotel. The neighborhood was terrific. Near most everything and very safe. Received champagne when we arrived and a little baggie of Hans' most wonderful homemade jelly when we departed. Can't wait to return to the Hotel Fita!

  • Liked — Loved the cleanliness and the feeling of safety
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ladyfrommiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2007

My eighth stay at the Fita in seven years of attending the same trade show and it remains a pleasure to be off the conference circuit and somewhere that's small, intimate and spotless. It's convenient for town, trams run in all directions just a block away and now Rick Steve's guidebooks have picked it up I'll be lucky to get in next year! Seriously, I plan to take my four teenage children to Amsterdam as it is such a nice, pleasant place - an of course I'll be staying at the Fita.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UKSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Center, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2007

This is a 16 room hotel on a quiet street in the museum district. It is run by a friendly couple, Hans and Loes de Rapper. The location is convenient for both walkers and those using public transportation. Energetic travelers with not too much luggage can get a tram (2 or 5) outside the train station and be at the hotel within about 10 minutes. Too far to walk with any luggage. The tram will deposit you within one block of the hotel (at the stop just opposite the Van Gogh museum). Taxi's are available, but pricey.
Our room was up two flights of fairly steep stairs, typical of other hotels in Europe. A lift is available. The room was clean and very adequate. Not too small. Comfortable bed. The bath was modern and well equipped (hair dryer, soap dispenser, etc.) The breakfast buffet, included in the room rate, was excellent. This hotel was chosen after much research on this and other websites, both for its reasonable rate and location. We would definitely stay here again. An added bonus: discount tickets to some attractions are available at the hotel.
Bill and Donna Anderson, Valley Center, CA, USA

  • Liked — Location, rate
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cedartrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing