We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sterile Hotel Fita”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #10 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2006

Expect clean rooms, but not kind service from Hotel Fita.

I and my fiancee booked the placed based on the positive reviews from the hotel. We booked for a double room for one night last week.

The seed of our problem was our late arrival at the airport. We didn't take the taxi as was recommended and took the trains to city center first, and were furthermore delayed by a bad taxi driver who overcharged us.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were scolded at length by the lady at the reception for being late and `not listening to her'. Granted she had to wait 30 extra minutes, but we have never received such a treatment from a hotel management in our lives. We wanted to run out of the place but it was too late to do so.

For the hotel's credit the rooms were clean although lacking in style, double room consisted of two twin beds, the no-smoking policy means the hotel doesn't stink. Breakfast was okay. Service was meticulous, with Hans ensuring that we got good, legal taxis(a lesson we learned the hard way indeed!) through the hotel's reservation service.

As a veteran traveler I think a hotel management's first virtue is kindness, not cleanliness. Alas, that is what they lack.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fernweh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,860)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fita
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,518 - 1,524 of 1,860 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2006

Stayed for three nights and loved it! Friendly owners and staff, perfect location, large bathroom, clean rooms and a delicious breakfast. Would definately stay here again if we (which we hope) someday come back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank anderslj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2006

After my fiance and I decided to visit Amsterdam, we looked to Trip Advisor for recommendations on places to stay and came across Hotel Fita. Hotel Fita was a great choice and live up to all of the excellent reviews posted on this site. The couple that ran the hotel were friendly, the hotel was located in a quiet and beautiful section of the city (near Vondel park) and the breakfast served every morning was delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ikaikaokaaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2006

It was my first trip to Amsterdam and not knowing where to stay, my daughter who lives there visited the Fita Hotel first. She immediately gave the hotel a "thumbs up" and so the reservation was made for 8 days and nights. My family loved their stay there and would def stay there again. It was clean, the staff was polite and efficient, and the breakfast was the best in the city!! Every time we had a question, the staff helped us with the answer. It was close to everything we wanted to do and it made my stay in Amsterdam a wonderful experience! And I LOVED the non smoking policy! I would recommend this hotel to everyone for an enjoyable stay in Amsterdam! Linda B.

4  Thank Salsalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

We took our first trip to Europe in May 2006. Our last stop was 2 nights in Amsterdam. We booked the Hotel Fita based in large part on Trip Advisor reviews. When we arrived we were buzzed in by Hans, who turned out to be the owner along with his wife Lus. After several minutes of pleasant conversation we were shown to our room. It was gorgeous, large with a balcony and the largest bathroom we encountered during our eight nights in Europe. As we were getting settled in there was a knock on the door and there was Hans with a bowl of peanuts and champagne. As he suggested we stood on our balcony and toasted to our first night in Amsterdam.

The location is great, near the museums, in a primarily residential neighborhood. Only 1 block away you can hop on a tram or bus. Restaurants and nightlife are within a 10 minute walk. Breakfast was wonderful, and as we were told, just follow your nose downstairs in the morning. We particularly loved the fresh squeezed orange juice, eggs and bacon. We were offered discounted tickets to the museums at breakfast. Exceptional service.

Two nights were not nearly enough to see Amsterdam and enjoy the Hotel Fita.

6  Thank Vallane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2006

This is the hotel we loved the most on our 2 week trip in Europe in March of 2006. There were three of us, husband, child (6) and me in the room...it was so clean and neat - the bed was very comfy and the bedding was all white, fluffy cottons...(no synthetic fabrics). The view was so nice....we had a top floor room with a small balcony overlooking the street and it was enjoyable to be in such a family neighborhood tucked inbetween Amsterdaam's "Fifth Avenue" and the two major Art Museums. It is katty-corner form a public school built in 1900 called the Neue School--the kids played outside at the playyard across from the hotel with thier teachers and it was nice to hear them playing. Also, nice to have a little playyard form my son to play in too...We traveled there to attend the festivities and art shows celebrating 400th year celebration of Rembrandt's birth. I am an Art Professor in the Midwest and have travelled to Europe 3 x now and I always love to find hotels this friendly, CLEAN (have I mentioned that?) and located well. As customary in Europe, the rooms are small to us Americans but the windows were like 12 feet high so it seemed light and airy.If you are looking for a hotel like this with a grocery store around the corner (underground), major park, great shopping, museums, bakery, and awesome public transportaion within footsteps- THIS IS IT!!! I am a very picky traveller on a low/mid-range budget...too bad I won't be reviewing my Paris hotels this favorably - We will stay there again...for sure...but not in March--it is too windy and cold there that time of year !!!! I should add that the staff cheerfully did a load of laundry for us and it came back immaculate that afternoon. We left the staff nice tips...they earned it!

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArtandArtHistoryProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Las Vegas, NV
12
Reviewed July 15, 2006

We stayed for 3 nights at the Hotel Fita-Although we arrived later than anticipated, we were greeted by Hans pleasantly. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. The Hotel is in walking distance to many of the sights we wanted to see, and this made seeing the city much more enjoyable. Breakfast was ample and very tasty. The staff was courteous and attentive. We would recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,611 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,751 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,348 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,200 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#26 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $142 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing