We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Marvelous small hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #11 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marvelous small hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

What a terrific small hotel! If you are looking for a B & B type....this is the place! It's family owned and managed with about 20 rooms. You are greeted by the owner/manager, Roell, and he will help you any way he can. My baggage was lost by the A-L and I made a report to have it sent to this hotel. After I had not received the luggage at the end of the first full day. Roell called and talked to them to make sure where to deliver it . My luggage finally arrived on the 3d day as we were ready to go on a river cruise. We had a neat room on the 2d floor corner above the walking path, room 26 with lot of light and an open balcony with french doors. We kept the doors open at night with a lot of fresh air. The food was plentiful and fresh. Great pancakes! American and European breakfasts.

Room Tip: Rooms above the first floor require either steep narrow stairs or one person + luggage elevator. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    390
    49
    24
    10
See reviews for
248
824
157
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Everyone in my group (two couples: myself, my husband and our 2 friends) agreed that this was a great choice for a place to stay. We were there for 4 nights during the Gay Pride parade (which we found out after we had booked our trip to Amsterdam). We thought that the noise would be horrible, but lucky for us this hotel wasn't near the city center where all the festivities were taking place. Our rooms were comfortable, immaculately clean, large and with terraces. The neighborhood was so quiet that we were able to sleep with our windows and terrace doors open every night. Be aware that there is no A/C in this hotel. That was fine with us and especially me, since I don't like being in sealed air conditioned hotels. Only once did we hear an enthusiastic partier yelling some nonsense, but it didn't last long. I'm guessing he found his way back to the Central Station area. The Fita is more like a boutique hotel. It is homey, friendly and quaint. They include breakfast in their price (approximately 900.00 USD for 4 nights) which we considered a bargain for the neighborhood that this hotel is in. It is considered the posh part of Amsterdam and is located in the museum and high end shopping district. The breakfast was amazing. Be sure to try the Dutch pancakes. They tasted similar to a crepe and are made fresh per order. The staff members are young, gracious and incredibly helpful. Thank you so much Rual, Walter and Maxine. Hope I remembered all of your names correctly. You made our stay very special.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RITripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We booked this hotel after taking a Viking river cruise. It is centrally located - a block from the Van Gogh Museum, a couple blocks from Rijks Museum. We asked for a room with a view - which we got. The tram and buses are really close too. Fita owner provides a delicious breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon, yogart, all kinds of bread and all the juices, coffees, tea and milk. The breakfast room is downstairs, with colorful seats and inviting atmosphere. The staff was very helpful with a map and recommendation. As a side note - DO NOT TAKE THE HOP ON HOP OFF BUS. It isn't for the tourist - they try to drop you off at the diamond place - the stops are not convenient and hard to find. You are much better off buying a one or more day bus ticket. We walked to most of the destinations. Another hint - buy your tickets on line for the museums and Anne Frank house. Otherwise you will spend your day in a blocks long line. I would totally recommend this hotel... nice, clean ... large room with table, chairs, tv, and large bath with tub/shower. Remember to bring an adaptor for your hair curler etc. They provide a hair dryer. Also the shops around this hotel are very, very expensive. There are reasonable shops elsewhere unless you are into Tiffany and the like.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. I understand the rooms upstairs are smaller. If you have a street view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coyotenancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Fita. Very warm, smiley, friendly staff, and very much in line with all the good service we encountered in Amsterdam. This is an ideal location for the museums and galleries of the city and short walks away from good restaurants, shops and the lovely Vondelpark. The hotel seemed well equipped but more importantly there was a feeling that nothing would be too much trouble if anything was missing. To be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 72Kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Very nice personnel. It was a little annoying that the cleaning lady was knocking on the door of the neighbors quite often. Location was good. Bathroom of the single room 38 was dark. One of the girls in the kitchen / breakfast room talked very loud but was very helpful. Maybe it was my hangover...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymondanser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Loved this Hotel and its happy staff but you cam be unlucky. We had room 24 for four nights.
Positives - Large light filled room and large bathroom with a bath. Adequate delicious breakfast. Great neighbourhood so can walk to all the sights. Excellent in room Wi Fi connection.
Negatives - The Hotel Van Gogh is opposite and provides back packer accomodation. Every night we listened to loud drunken revellers between midnight and 5.00am. Make sure your room does not face this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deniseadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison Hot Springs, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The Fita Hotel met our expectations completely, a wonderful place to call home for the three days we were in Amsterdam. The location was great, near the Rijks Museum and the beautiful Vondel Park. We walked to most of our destinations and took the convenient tram when we needed to. Thank you to the friendly staff for a great breakfast to start the day each morning and for your service on our behalf. Next time we are in Amsterdam we will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing