We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amsterdam vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #14 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Amsterdam vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Very charming, comfortable small hotel, steps from the Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum. Very helpful, friendly staff and delicious included breakfasts. The building was built in 1901, and has been completely restored. Tram stops nearby, and within walking distance to everywhere.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    407
    50
    24
    10
See reviews for
262
880
169
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
418 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hotel Fita is our preferred hotel in Amsterdam. It is not only centrally located near the museum district but it is beautiful and the owners are working hard to keep their awesome ratings. The rooms are sparkling clean and the breakfast is great and served cheerfully including the dutch pancakes. We took the bus #197 ( 5 Euros) from the airport which dropped us off very near the hotel . The museums, the Vondelpark , the canal cruises are all in walking distance. Bols experience \is around the corner and a fun place to visit.
The hotel has snacks and drinks available on the honor system and the rooms have a Nespresso
machine and hot water kettle for tea. Joel and his team are generous with their advice and restaurant recommendations. We realy anjoyed a little place called "Pompa" which is just around
the corner and not a tourist place. Hotel Fita is great for a pre or after cruise stay.

Room Tip: Upper level new rooms have AC and are really beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2muchfun4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and I had a great stay at Hotel Fita. The location was amazing, right by the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum. The staff were exceptionally friendly, and helpful. Our room was recently updated Everything was very clean and fresh. The morning breakfast was very good, especially the wonderful Dutch Pancakes!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbugCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was our second time staying here and we enjoyed it again. We arrived very early, so Roel took our bags and held them until our room was ready. When we returned later our room was ready and our bags were in the room. It is a beautiful neighborhood with nice shops and museums just steps away. The room was clean and efficient. The breakfast was very good, especially the pancakes. They have done a lot to the Hotel since our last stay and still making improvements. The staff were all friendly and made you feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HFTSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about Hotel Fita. The location is very convenient to museums (one block from the Van Gogh) and my room was absolutely great. But even better is the service from the group of unfailingly upbeat, helpful young people who run the place. They went above and beyond for everyone with which I saw them interact--making museum reservations, helping with tram and bus routes, whatever. I travel a lot for business, and frankly, this hotel provided a better experience than pretty much every high-priced, name-brand hotel in which I have stayed. People like this deserve success.

The hotel is not luxurious, so don't expect it to be. It is basic but very comfortable accommodation. There is no actual check-in space, which didn't pose any problem.

About the only thing I could say negative is that while I was there, construction started somewhere nearby (in their building?) at 7:00, which would have been irritating had I been on vacation.

I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We found this hotel/b&b on trip advisor. We thought we would give it a try. It is right around the corner from the Van Gogh Museum, a block from the Rijks Museum, around the corner from numerous tram stops and the airport bus. We were warmly greeted by a member of the family when we arrived. The room was ready for us as promised. It is not an elegant place but it is comfortably furnished and very clean. The bathroom is large and the tub shower is large. Our room looks out over a small street that has a very small play area. The building across the way houses a school. So it can get a bit noisy during the weekdays during recess. But it really didn't bother us. We loved the breakfasts they prepared for us. A coffee machine will make you an espresso, cappuccino, caffe latte or a hot chocolate. Tea is also available. Fresh flaky croissants, crusty breakfast rolls, eggs and bacon, any number of fruits, cheeses, cereals, yoghurt and specially prepared Dutch pancakes. I had never had one before and didn't think I would like it because I am not a big pancake fan. But these a more like crispy crepes, smothered in butter and confectioners sugar. Oh my! To die for! We were able to purchase our museum tickets from the hotel so we didn't have to wait in line. The family and staff are very friendly and very helpful. There are about 10 shallow steps up to the front door. But they brought our suitcases in for us and there is a functioning (small) elevator inside the hotel to get you to your room. I have become a big fan of Hotel Fita and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Tell the staff when you make your reservation what you require and they will do their best to accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmeg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Room 46, which is only a month old. Very spacious, comfortable, immaculate and quiet. Note, the hotel is next to a kindergarten and it's wonderful hearing the children play during the day. If you prefer quiet then just close your windows. The location is excellent, near the museums and away from the noisy tourists. Tram is right around the corner. We really enjoyed our two night stay and are looking forward to our next visit. We will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,465 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing