We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just stayed at FIta”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #14 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We just completed or third and four stays at Hotel Fita. This is an excellent small hotel. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh and Rijs Museums and the Concertgebowe. Two tram stops are but a block away giving you access to the entire city. Roel and his fine staff will take very good care of you helping with reservations, tickets and general advice for the city. Their breakfast is the best in Europe....you MUST have their eggs and bacon in addition to their normal goodies. I was given the eggs recipe a few years ago and impress all of my visitors with it. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are beautiful. There is an elevator, not always the case with small hotels in Amsterdam. It is on a quiet street with a playground nearby. On recess the childrens' play sounds are a nice way to recover from jet lag or to lull yourself to sleep. They finish by noon so no impact on sleeping. The neighborhood is full of nice shops and eateries and Roel can recommend several to match your taste buds and wallet. My wife and I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. You must stay at Fita.

Room Tip: Every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eur0star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Fita over New Years. This is our third trip to Amsterdam so we wanted to get away from all the Dam Sq. area hassle and this was a perfect location. One block to the Riks, Van Gogh and modern museums, 2 blocks to concert hall, many restaurants in area, high-end shopping (Jimmy Choo like) on next street. This is a residential street so its a quiet neighborhood, feels like you are living among the locals. Great connections via # 2 or 5 tram to just about everything. Hotel is small (15 rooms I think) and cosy- we had a large room on 2nd floor. Simple furnishings but pleasant with plenty of room and large windows, large bathroom, everything we needed. Pleasant breakfast room on ground floor with nice selection and yummy Dutch Pancakes. The staff was wonderful - just like others said. Always smiling and asking what they can do. Gave us great advice on restaurants, transport, events. They really go out of their way to make you feel at home. Will definitely stay here next time in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoyofTravel34517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

very good reception, spacious room with small balcony, but noise early in the morning and late at night, the hotel is not in question, it4s the occupants of the room on the top who do not respect others, but I think the owner should respond to informing its customers and this is not the first time that this kind of inconvenience happens (wooden floors + children). Finally, a last point, the bath water is lukewarm while the tap the washbasin is hot. This hotel would deserve a good refresh. Breakfast very good breakfast with good products.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Fita for two nights at the end of November 2013. We were in a ground floor room, but it was very quiet. The location is very nice, as it is very close to the museum plain. There is a good tram service from the station and the centre of Amsterdam, and the staff are very keen to explain all the places you can go.

The room was a little bland but a good size, with a nice bathroom, and very clean. The wardrobe door was not sliding properly, which was a little annoying. Also, there was a small step up from the room to the bathroom, which was clearly pointed out by the owner, but I still tripped up it in the night. The bed was nice, and we slept very well.

Breakfast was good, especially the pancakes.

The hotel was very helpful, letting us check in early, and contacting us in a very friendly way after we booked. I would definitely come back here, as they were so friendly, the faults were very minor, and didn't affect our very pleasant stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenlandlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Convenient and safe location run very efficiently by friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is quite small with a cosy feel which suited us perfectly. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the larger rooms upstairs which was very clean and comfortable and a great base for our 4 night stay. The breakfasts were great and kept us going all day. I can still smell those pancakes.... :-)

Room Tip: Schools surround this hotel so ask for a quiet room if you plan to sleep during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieDutchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We very much enjoyed our pre Christmas visit to Amsterdam and the Hotel Fita was a convenient and comfortable choice.
Our room was bright and warm (so important!) and we were made very welcome. This is not a luxury hotel, but all is comfortable and clean. Masses of hot water at all hours, and certainly not a noisy location.
One or two points: Wiring is a little elderly so adaptors may not work too well. Stairs are steep, so if you don't like very small lifts and have problems with stairs ask for a downstairs room. I think that larger towels, in the otherwise excellent bathroom, would be a small improvement that would make a big difference.
Breakfast buffet was good, although the atmosphere at breakfast might have been too convivial for those who like peace and quiet in the mornings.
Overall however, a brilliant place to stay.

Room Tip: Suspect that back rooms are a little quieter, and our corner room was wonderfully light and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyWrenSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Hotel Fita is splendidly located (just steps from the main museums and from tram #5, and walking distance from Leidseplein). My room was small but had all I could need (actually they walk you to your room and explain everything that's available, inlcuding a coffee machine with Nespresso pads, and an umbrella). Prices are medium-low for Amsterdam. Most of all, service is 5-star, with everyone being superkind. The breakfast buffet is average, but with a plus given by the ready-to-order pannenkoeken. I'll be back for sure!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rumore0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,355 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#26 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,141 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#9 of 375 in Amsterdam
499 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,701 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $118 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing