We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #11 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very friendly hotel”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Fita for two nights at the end of November 2013. We were in a ground floor room, but it was very quiet. The location is very nice, as it is very close to the museum plain. There is a good tram service from the station and the centre of Amsterdam, and the staff are very keen to explain all the places you can go.

The room was a little bland but a good size, with a nice bathroom, and very clean. The wardrobe door was not sliding properly, which was a little annoying. Also, there was a small step up from the room to the bathroom, which was clearly pointed out by the owner, but I still tripped up it in the night. The bed was nice, and we slept very well.

Breakfast was good, especially the pancakes.

The hotel was very helpful, letting us check in early, and contacting us in a very friendly way after we booked. I would definitely come back here, as they were so friendly, the faults were very minor, and didn't affect our very pleasant stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenlandlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    410
    52
    24
    10
See reviews for
270
906
174
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Convenient and safe location run very efficiently by friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is quite small with a cosy feel which suited us perfectly. We were lucky enough to stay in one of the larger rooms upstairs which was very clean and comfortable and a great base for our 4 night stay. The breakfasts were great and kept us going all day. I can still smell those pancakes.... :-)

Room Tip: Schools surround this hotel so ask for a quiet room if you plan to sleep during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieDutchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We very much enjoyed our pre Christmas visit to Amsterdam and the Hotel Fita was a convenient and comfortable choice.
Our room was bright and warm (so important!) and we were made very welcome. This is not a luxury hotel, but all is comfortable and clean. Masses of hot water at all hours, and certainly not a noisy location.
One or two points: Wiring is a little elderly so adaptors may not work too well. Stairs are steep, so if you don't like very small lifts and have problems with stairs ask for a downstairs room. I think that larger towels, in the otherwise excellent bathroom, would be a small improvement that would make a big difference.
Breakfast buffet was good, although the atmosphere at breakfast might have been too convivial for those who like peace and quiet in the mornings.
Overall however, a brilliant place to stay.

Room Tip: Suspect that back rooms are a little quieter, and our corner room was wonderfully light and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyWrenSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Hotel Fita is splendidly located (just steps from the main museums and from tram #5, and walking distance from Leidseplein). My room was small but had all I could need (actually they walk you to your room and explain everything that's available, inlcuding a coffee machine with Nespresso pads, and an umbrella). Prices are medium-low for Amsterdam. Most of all, service is 5-star, with everyone being superkind. The breakfast buffet is average, but with a plus given by the ready-to-order pannenkoeken. I'll be back for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rumore0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We picked this hotel based on reviews from here and we were not disappointed. The host/owner could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Breakfast was wonderful. The location was perfect, one short block from the museums but on a quiet street. The hotel recommended some great restaurants which were nearby. We felt like it was our neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spixton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

One of our main reasons for visiting Amsterdam was to go to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum. As Robert C says, this hotel is perfectly placed for those museums and, if you can tear yourself away from the breakfast table, then you can get to those museums before the tour buses! Also close to a tram stop to take you to many of the other major attractions in the city. All the staff we met were very friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. We stayed in Room 10 on the ground floor - a light and airy room with windows to two sides. A great hotel.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a corner suite and light and airy. Although on street, the windows and heavily double gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayleigh_rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went for weekend to see the refurbished Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum and Rembrandt House. This wonderful find of a hotel is perfectly placed for the museums with good restaurants nearby. So perfect: room spotless and spacious, bathroom spacious; tea and coffee in room; pancakes for breakfast; helpful staff- all round exactly what we wanted. Would definitely recommend and go again ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,101 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,656 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,302 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,388 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing