We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #10 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A warm comfortable stay”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We very much enjoyed our pre Christmas visit to Amsterdam and the Hotel Fita was a convenient and comfortable choice.
Our room was bright and warm (so important!) and we were made very welcome. This is not a luxury hotel, but all is comfortable and clean. Masses of hot water at all hours, and certainly not a noisy location.
One or two points: Wiring is a little elderly so adaptors may not work too well. Stairs are steep, so if you don't like very small lifts and have problems with stairs ask for a downstairs room. I think that larger towels, in the otherwise excellent bathroom, would be a small improvement that would make a big difference.
Breakfast buffet was good, although the atmosphere at breakfast might have been too convivial for those who like peace and quiet in the mornings.
Overall however, a brilliant place to stay.

Room Tip: Suspect that back rooms are a little quieter, and our corner room was wonderfully light and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyWrenSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    412
    53
    24
    10
See reviews for
275
910
174
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rimini, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Hotel Fita is splendidly located (just steps from the main museums and from tram #5, and walking distance from Leidseplein). My room was small but had all I could need (actually they walk you to your room and explain everything that's available, inlcuding a coffee machine with Nespresso pads, and an umbrella). Prices are medium-low for Amsterdam. Most of all, service is 5-star, with everyone being superkind. The breakfast buffet is average, but with a plus given by the ready-to-order pannenkoeken. I'll be back for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rumore0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We picked this hotel based on reviews from here and we were not disappointed. The host/owner could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Breakfast was wonderful. The location was perfect, one short block from the museums but on a quiet street. The hotel recommended some great restaurants which were nearby. We felt like it was our neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spixton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

One of our main reasons for visiting Amsterdam was to go to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum. As Robert C says, this hotel is perfectly placed for those museums and, if you can tear yourself away from the breakfast table, then you can get to those museums before the tour buses! Also close to a tram stop to take you to many of the other major attractions in the city. All the staff we met were very friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. We stayed in Room 10 on the ground floor - a light and airy room with windows to two sides. A great hotel.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a corner suite and light and airy. Although on street, the windows and heavily double gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayleigh_rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went for weekend to see the refurbished Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum and Rembrandt House. This wonderful find of a hotel is perfectly placed for the museums with good restaurants nearby. So perfect: room spotless and spacious, bathroom spacious; tea and coffee in room; pancakes for breakfast; helpful staff- all round exactly what we wanted. Would definitely recommend and go again ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a glorious weekend in Amsterdam. A contributing factor to it was the charming Hotel Fita and its lovely team!!! The hotel is beautifully located just by the Riksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum as well as the concert hall. Easy access by bus from the airport or tram from the main station. The rooms are charming - complete with coffee maker and hot water kettle for tea. Breakfast was delicious! This was my second time there and there will certainly be a third!!! And fourth...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet comfortable small hotel with excellent access to the museums - then this is it. Our room was cosy - not luxurious - a bit studenty in style but with comfortable beds who is worrying? Excellent breakfast with freshly made scrambled eggs and nice pastries. We couldn't get the coffee machine to work. It would be easy to pick holes but the pros outweight the cons overwhelmingly. A warm welcome from all the hard working staff.

Room Tip: We had room 24 - very quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,703 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,582 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,146 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,323 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing