We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel, great staff and location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #13 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great staff and location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed four nights at Hotel Fita. Great location and helpful staff, although the staff is rarely seen in the evening. They give you a front door key to return when they are not present at the desk. Nice breakfast including Dutch pancakes and good coffee. We loved the size of the room, the tub, and the espresso machine inside the room. Two tram stops are within a five minute walk from the hotel. The area seemed affluent and safe. Two areas of improvement for the room we had are the mattresses and soundproofing. Our room was on the top floor and faced a youth hostel and what seemed to be a daycare. These two neighbors provided an unusual amount of noise both day and night which could be mitigated with better windows. Don't worry about sleeping through breakfast - the kids will have you up by 9AM on the weekdays. The mattress was not on par with the other European hotels we stayed at on this vacation. It was comparable to the one issued to me in the Marines. Overall a very good hotel with a couple small areas for improvement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBrown33547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    396
    50
    24
    10
See reviews for
256
848
164
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Fita October 2013 and I have to say it was the most perfect location for us. A short tram ride from the Old City of Amsterdam, it offered clean and lovely accommodations, gracious host and hostesses and breakfasts that filled you up. I would not hesitate to recommend this small family run hotel to friends and colleagues and would definitely return if I visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rete648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful welcome. Nicest owner and staff. Very clean, nice sized rooms. Very quiet at night. Fun and excellent breakfast. Great coffee and pancakes and other good stuff. Really liked the Dutch yogurt and cheese. Close to museums.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rammer2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We just loved our stay at the Fita hotel and enjoyed the service of the staff who always went out of their way to make you feel at home. Position is fantastic, we normally don't catch public transport but in Amsterdam they told us trams are the best way to go. The tram was only 2 minutes walk and they were so efficient we used them everyday to get to our tour pick up destinations, Room was pleasant, we found the room a little noisy because of the street noise but if we closed the shutters it helped a lot and we had no problems sleeping.
Everyone talks about the breakfasts and I was not prepared to be so surprised because we have travelled a lot over our years and I can honestly say it was the very best breakfast.
Lovely hotel, lovely staff you will not be disappointed at this hotel.
Rosalind backler

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 263rozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

It is a great hotel, I would come back, if I had a complaint it would be that you hardly see anyone, you only have to call and someone is there to help you with what're it is you need, I know it is not large so that would be why. You feel secure as you have to use your key to get I. To the foyer and if you are checking in there is an intercom.
Breakfast is very good and you have a pod coffee maker in your room with a jug should you wish. Yo make tea or instant Coffee etc.
You are given a map when you check in and are given suggestions for things to do plus shown on the map the best ways to get around.
My room was over the entry on the second floor and the street was quiet.
The next street that runs parallel is great for shopping or window shopping, depending on your pocket, all are designer brands, you name it and it is there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

It's great to be so close to the Museums and the galleries (you can almost see the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum from the hotel), to the shops and the canals, but what really sets this hotel apart is the hospitality and enthusiasm of the staff and the genuine feel of homeliness. Nothing was too much trouble for the them, whether it be advising us on where to go and what to see, or the special Dutch pancakes specially made to order at breakfast, which was already full and varied . They also sent us to a local seafood restaurant which served the best fish I have had in years. The rooms, though not large, are beautifully clean. All of Old Amsterdam is walkable from this hotel but is set in a very peaceful and charming area away from the traffic, where even the youngest kids play in the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffB169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I just spent 4 nights at the wonderful Hotel Fita and would highly recommend it. As a single traveler, I felt very safe. The location could not be beat - literally around the corner from the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum and a short block to the tram (#2 and #5) which took me everywhere I needed to go. Be sure to take advantage of buying tickets at the hotel for both of the above-mentioned hotels - it will save you a great deal of time by not having to wait in lines. My room (#24) was HUGE - the only downside for others might be the fact is right above the playground for pre-school children and could be noisy. But, I did not find this to be a problem. The staff was absolutely incredible, taking time to answer all of my questions, recommending restaurants, canal cruises, etc. The breakfast was great and the pancakes are not to be believed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing