We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your home away from home.”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #14 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic experience! Centrally located charming hotel with impeccable service. Rooms are very clean, killer breakfast with the most welcoming and helpful staff. Get you Van Gogh museum tickets from the front desk to avoid the long lines.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vagabond35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very confortable, i loved neighborhood, close to everything, tasty breakfast.
Everyone in the hotel was very helpful. Details like excellent maps, advises,
cold drinks, they have bykes to hire, can sell tickets in advance for Van Gogh and Ryksmuseum.
I will recomend it and go back if i visit amsterdam again.

Room Tip: We choose the big rooms on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Excellent location so close to Van Gogh and newly renovated Rijksmuseum, shops, cafes, supermarket and tram stops. Staff very friendly and helpful with delightful, youthful energy and enthusiasm! Our twin room was spacious and light with very good facilities and excellent block out drapes (there was a lot of noise initially from an outside playground / kindergarten when we arrived on a Friday but this abated after 6pm and holidays started on the Monday). Breakfast was excellent quality, range and quantity and the downstairs eating space was welcoming and inviting. We loved Amsterdam and this small, privately owned hotel (15 rooms) added to our enjoyment because of the location, the relaxed, yet efficient and friendly environment and the people working in it.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the kindergarten / open courtyard would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hard to know where to start: physical location or people? OK - location first. From my room I could just see the Van Gogh Museum. We wanted to stay as close as possible to the Museumplein and the wonderful thing about Hotel Fita is that it's in a quiet street parallel to the busy street running along the edge of the Museumplein, a couple of minutes to the Concertgebouw. Because it's next to an infants / junior primary school, you have the feeling of a living city, with a hundred or more kids being dropped off by parents as you eat breakfast in the airy breakfast room. This juxtaposition of two of the world's most important galleries (Rijksmuseum and VGM) and a school whose playground is formed by putting up some very informal barriers across the street made me think: This is a real city that accommodates its own people and the people passing through like us. I loved that. Other things about hotel: only 15 rooms (I think); superb breakfast (anybody who misses the pancakes is nuts - apologies to those who can't eat pancakes). Now to people: Queenie and Roel and the other lovely young people at Hotel Fita are the kind of people who make travelling a joy. You think: Why have I left it so long to come back to the Netherlands? When can I come again? I'm already thinking about next year. Thanks, Roel - no wonder Hotel Fita is No 5 of 337 hotels in Amsterdam! I will have to book a long way ahead (and if my review makes that even more necessary, I will be very happy). LOVE YOU. THANK YOU. BEST WISHES. Brett Sydney Australia

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneytraveller010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Easily the friendliest and most helpful of all the hotels we stayed in over Europe. Tea and coffee making facilites in the room and an iron and ironing board! These are the norm in our part of the world but next to impossible to find in Europe and what a delightful difference it makes to your ease of stay. Located on a quiet street, but literally a couple of minutes walk from Amsterdam's cultural hub and tram stops, and about 5 minutes walk from its shopping and entertainment madness. Was expecting the room to be quite small, but it turned out to be the largest we had stayed in with a great sized bathroom. Perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

i have now stayed at Hotel Fita twice; last year in February and just recently at the end of June. I would recommend Hotel Fita to friends because of its: family run style; the location which can't be better, close to trams, downtown and the museums plus shopping; breakfast a wonderful start to the day; the area feels like you are part of the Amsterdam community. Even though there is no air conditioning being able to open the windows, is to my way of thinking, better. Room was nicely arranged, and bathroom very roomy. A hotel to consider when you are planning your stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 354Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful family-run hotel, friendly, service. Our room had a small balcony and beautiful view for the three of us. My daughter and I almost turned down the delicious homemade"pancakes" but we were glad we tried them they were so tasty. Walking distance to museums. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,355 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#26 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,140 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#9 of 375 in Amsterdam
499 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,701 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $118 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing