We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very confortable, i loved neighborhood, close to everything, tasty breakfast.
Everyone in the hotel was very helpful. Details like excellent maps, advises,
cold drinks, they have bykes to hire, can sell tickets in advance for Van Gogh and Ryksmuseum.
I will recomend it and go back if i visit amsterdam again.

Room Tip: We choose the big rooms on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Excellent location so close to Van Gogh and newly renovated Rijksmuseum, shops, cafes, supermarket and tram stops. Staff very friendly and helpful with delightful, youthful energy and enthusiasm! Our twin room was spacious and light with very good facilities and excellent block out drapes (there was a lot of noise initially from an outside playground / kindergarten when we arrived on a Friday but this abated after 6pm and holidays started on the Monday). Breakfast was excellent quality, range and quantity and the downstairs eating space was welcoming and inviting. We loved Amsterdam and this small, privately owned hotel (15 rooms) added to our enjoyment because of the location, the relaxed, yet efficient and friendly environment and the people working in it.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the kindergarten / open courtyard would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hard to know where to start: physical location or people? OK - location first. From my room I could just see the Van Gogh Museum. We wanted to stay as close as possible to the Museumplein and the wonderful thing about Hotel Fita is that it's in a quiet street parallel to the busy street running along the edge of the Museumplein, a couple of minutes to the Concertgebouw. Because it's next to an infants / junior primary school, you have the feeling of a living city, with a hundred or more kids being dropped off by parents as you eat breakfast in the airy breakfast room. This juxtaposition of two of the world's most important galleries (Rijksmuseum and VGM) and a school whose playground is formed by putting up some very informal barriers across the street made me think: This is a real city that accommodates its own people and the people passing through like us. I loved that. Other things about hotel: only 15 rooms (I think); superb breakfast (anybody who misses the pancakes is nuts - apologies to those who can't eat pancakes). Now to people: Queenie and Roel and the other lovely young people at Hotel Fita are the kind of people who make travelling a joy. You think: Why have I left it so long to come back to the Netherlands? When can I come again? I'm already thinking about next year. Thanks, Roel - no wonder Hotel Fita is No 5 of 337 hotels in Amsterdam! I will have to book a long way ahead (and if my review makes that even more necessary, I will be very happy). LOVE YOU. THANK YOU. BEST WISHES. Brett Sydney Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneytraveller010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Easily the friendliest and most helpful of all the hotels we stayed in over Europe. Tea and coffee making facilites in the room and an iron and ironing board! These are the norm in our part of the world but next to impossible to find in Europe and what a delightful difference it makes to your ease of stay. Located on a quiet street, but literally a couple of minutes walk from Amsterdam's cultural hub and tram stops, and about 5 minutes walk from its shopping and entertainment madness. Was expecting the room to be quite small, but it turned out to be the largest we had stayed in with a great sized bathroom. Perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

i have now stayed at Hotel Fita twice; last year in February and just recently at the end of June. I would recommend Hotel Fita to friends because of its: family run style; the location which can't be better, close to trams, downtown and the museums plus shopping; breakfast a wonderful start to the day; the area feels like you are part of the Amsterdam community. Even though there is no air conditioning being able to open the windows, is to my way of thinking, better. Room was nicely arranged, and bathroom very roomy. A hotel to consider when you are planning your stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 354Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourges, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful family-run hotel, friendly, service. Our room had a small balcony and beautiful view for the three of us. My daughter and I almost turned down the delicious homemade"pancakes" but we were glad we tried them they were so tasty. Walking distance to museums. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was the best decision that I could have made; a small, quiet location in the middle of culture. In a very short period of time, I learned to ride the tram (right around the corner), walked to the museums, and felt very comfortable and safe. I relaxed and refreshed. The breakfast was just enough to get me going, but not enough to weigh me down. Everyone was welcoming, friendly, and helpful.

Room Tip: Great place for someone traveling solo and doesn't need a lot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wetonah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,002 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,763 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing