We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fita!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #13 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fita!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Excellent location so close to Van Gogh and newly renovated Rijksmuseum, shops, cafes, supermarket and tram stops. Staff very friendly and helpful with delightful, youthful energy and enthusiasm! Our twin room was spacious and light with very good facilities and excellent block out drapes (there was a lot of noise initially from an outside playground / kindergarten when we arrived on a Friday but this abated after 6pm and holidays started on the Monday). Breakfast was excellent quality, range and quantity and the downstairs eating space was welcoming and inviting. We loved Amsterdam and this small, privately owned hotel (15 rooms) added to our enjoyment because of the location, the relaxed, yet efficient and friendly environment and the people working in it.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the kindergarten / open courtyard would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    396
    50
    24
    10
See reviews for
256
847
163
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hard to know where to start: physical location or people? OK - location first. From my room I could just see the Van Gogh Museum. We wanted to stay as close as possible to the Museumplein and the wonderful thing about Hotel Fita is that it's in a quiet street parallel to the busy street running along the edge of the Museumplein, a couple of minutes to the Concertgebouw. Because it's next to an infants / junior primary school, you have the feeling of a living city, with a hundred or more kids being dropped off by parents as you eat breakfast in the airy breakfast room. This juxtaposition of two of the world's most important galleries (Rijksmuseum and VGM) and a school whose playground is formed by putting up some very informal barriers across the street made me think: This is a real city that accommodates its own people and the people passing through like us. I loved that. Other things about hotel: only 15 rooms (I think); superb breakfast (anybody who misses the pancakes is nuts - apologies to those who can't eat pancakes). Now to people: Queenie and Roel and the other lovely young people at Hotel Fita are the kind of people who make travelling a joy. You think: Why have I left it so long to come back to the Netherlands? When can I come again? I'm already thinking about next year. Thanks, Roel - no wonder Hotel Fita is No 5 of 337 hotels in Amsterdam! I will have to book a long way ahead (and if my review makes that even more necessary, I will be very happy). LOVE YOU. THANK YOU. BEST WISHES. Brett Sydney Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneytraveller010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Easily the friendliest and most helpful of all the hotels we stayed in over Europe. Tea and coffee making facilites in the room and an iron and ironing board! These are the norm in our part of the world but next to impossible to find in Europe and what a delightful difference it makes to your ease of stay. Located on a quiet street, but literally a couple of minutes walk from Amsterdam's cultural hub and tram stops, and about 5 minutes walk from its shopping and entertainment madness. Was expecting the room to be quite small, but it turned out to be the largest we had stayed in with a great sized bathroom. Perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

i have now stayed at Hotel Fita twice; last year in February and just recently at the end of June. I would recommend Hotel Fita to friends because of its: family run style; the location which can't be better, close to trams, downtown and the museums plus shopping; breakfast a wonderful start to the day; the area feels like you are part of the Amsterdam community. Even though there is no air conditioning being able to open the windows, is to my way of thinking, better. Room was nicely arranged, and bathroom very roomy. A hotel to consider when you are planning your stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 354Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourges, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful family-run hotel, friendly, service. Our room had a small balcony and beautiful view for the three of us. My daughter and I almost turned down the delicious homemade"pancakes" but we were glad we tried them they were so tasty. Walking distance to museums. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was the best decision that I could have made; a small, quiet location in the middle of culture. In a very short period of time, I learned to ride the tram (right around the corner), walked to the museums, and felt very comfortable and safe. I relaxed and refreshed. The breakfast was just enough to get me going, but not enough to weigh me down. Everyone was welcoming, friendly, and helpful.

Room Tip: Great place for someone traveling solo and doesn't need a lot of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trp1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Fita based on the TA reviews. Other reviews have noted it is more like a B&B and this is a reasonable comment. This is not a negative, simply an observation.

Our room was very good, although showing its age a little. We arrived in Amsterdam in the middle of a heat wave - no air conditioning meant the ceiling fans got a good workout. The double bed was actually two single beds pushed together with a significant gap in the middle - this seems to be a common practice in European hotels.

The location is brilliant - in a quiet street, but close to multiple trams and a seven iron away from the key museums, something greatly appreciated when we slept in on our first morning, for our booked time slot at the Van Gogh Museum.

The highlight of this hotel is the service - incredibly helpful and absolutely faultless.

Hotel Fita is a terrific option for the tourist in Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing