We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small family run hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #11 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely small family run hotel in great location”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Fita for four days. First impressions very good, good sized bedroom with lovely bay window. Had a warm welcome on arrival and breakfast pancakes made to order were a nice touch. Situated in a quiet street a short walk away from lots of restaurants and about 15 minutes walk to the canals. Very happy and would stay at the Hotel Fita again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the main floor and had a lovely bay window. School days you have a bit of noise when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra59_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    410
    52
    24
    10
See reviews for
272
906
174
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Wonderful small hotel in a great location in Amsterdam.

This hotel is less than five minute walk from several great museums. The Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh (when it reopens), the Stedelijk modern art museum and some other smaller museums. There is a lovely park nearby. The tram and buses are very convenient and nearby.

We were there for 5 days in mid April. The hotel is run by a young man, Roel. He was so helpful in every way. He gave us a lot of good info about getting around the city
Our room was very spacious and airy.(There is a school nearby, so if you want to nap during the day, you might like a room away from the playground.)

As mention by other reviewers, the breakfast is very nice and they make a wonderful "pancake".

All of the staff we had contact with were so friendly and helpful. Roel and Queenie especially.
We were referred to two restaurants by the staff. One-- Indonesian and the other Italian/ Argentinian steak house. Both were wonderful.

I very highly recommend this fine little hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMBFortLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

parfait de bout en bout. accueil, infos sur la ville, petite coupette de pétillant à l'arrivée, chambre spacieuse et très lumineuse avec un petit bow-window, vraie nespresso, bouilloire, fer à repasser, un petit déjeuner to die for, crêpes faites maison et toutes fraîches, vraiment rien à redire.

if i really had something to change, i'd make the beds wider (room 12) and also add a hook for clothes and robes in the bathroom (room 12).

other than that, absolute perfection. thank you again for everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathaliefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Hotel Fita for 3 days at the beginning of May. There was plenty of space in our room for all our things and the people there were very helpful. And local calls are free...unheard of anywhere else.
Close to the Van Gogh and Rijks and also the Concertgebouw...the beautiful concert hall that was a real treat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a layover in Amsterdam, so we stayed at Hotel Fita for one night. I booked a single room unintentionally, but the staff was gracious and gave us a roll away bed for an extra fee.

Staff was very knowledgeable, and gave us a quick over view of the city. Hotel's location is right off a major bus and trolley line. Very convenient from the airport and all the major sites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wil96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Fita four nights and found it to be a warm, inviting hotel with a friendly staff and a delicious breakfast. Located in the Museum Quarter a short walk from the tram stop, it was a perfect location for our time in Amsterdam. There are very good restaurants nearby which meant we didn't have to go far to find yummy food. I'd stay there again, especially now that the major museums will be open

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not everyone has the knack of being an ideal host.. Raoul has it down pat.. Never intrusive but always there with a smile, a greeting, an answer to your question, he runs his little hotel Fita with just the right touch. This small hotel is the perfect place in the perfect location for visits to the newly opened Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh and the Stedelijk museums.. all of which are just down the block. Tickets are available at the hotel. There's dependable wi-fi throughout a hotel, a state of the art coffee maker in the room, and pancakes for breakfast if you like. An honour bar rounds out the offerings..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 28A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,110 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,661 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,304 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,391 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing