We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #13 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Fantastic location, close to the tram line, very easy to get around Amsterdam. Our room was very large, very clean and had a balcony. Shower was fantastic,(including rubber duck) bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great, pancakes were delicious. Raul and family were very welcoming and friendly, like visiting friends!

Room Tip: Request balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nettieg555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    396
    50
    24
    10
See reviews for
256
848
163
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I were very pleased with our experience at this hotel--the staff is warm and welcoming, assisting in any way they can. Our room was a third floor, corner room so it was wonderfully light and looked down on a small play area for young children--loved to hear their voices and watch their comings and goings. Buffet breakfast excellent and complete with fresh hot crepes (Dutch pancakes) made to order, access to a computer and printer, lovely location and neighbour hood close to a canal, art museums, shopping district and large public park. We recommend this to anyone visiting Amsterdam and should we ever return, will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annbirdsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Fita for 6 nights at the end of September. It was our first visit to Amsterdam. The hotel was how it was represented and more. Yes the stairs were steep but we expected that. Made it feel more old world and 'Dutch'. Our room was large, very clean and perfectly comfortable. It overlooked the school which we found fascinating as children were ferried to school on all sorts of bicycles.
We arrived after 8pm but Martijn greeted us with a very warm welcome, helped with our bags, gave us an overview of the area on a map and showed us to our room where he showed us how things work. Charming young man. Met his brother, Roel, at breakfast and he was equally as welcoming and charming. At breakfast I mentioned I had a few things to ask him but no hurry when he was ready was fine as he was busy with breakfast at the time. As soon as he was free he got himself a cup of coffee, sat down at our table and answered all our questions. Can't ask for better service than that!
The area was just perfect in itself and so easy to walk or catch the tram to other areas.
Our only very small 'complaint' which is more of an observation is that after 6 days we would have liked some eggs done differently than scrambled and a choice of more breads. Other than that the breakfast was great and yes the pancakes are as reported. Actually we expected thick, heavy pancakes which are not really our taste but they are more like crepes- so light and delicious.
The Hotel Fita was the perfect stay for us and we have no hesitation in recommending it. In fact book early to avoid disappointment as they were fully booked during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sylv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zottegem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you are in Amsterdam, try to book a room in Fita. In the past years, I stayed in a number of hotels in Amsterdam. In the future I'll book a room in Fita: simply perfect: location, friendliness, ...Accept the breakfast pancakes and look out for the little duck in the shower.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was my first stop after a sleepless overnight plane flight and it was a great place to land. A really helpful staff got me oriented and directed me to everywhere I wanted to go. They were eager to set up shuttle to airport and museum reservations, too. It was so easy to walk to all the great museums, boat tour, outdoor markets, etc. from there. The room was small, but well-equipped with bathroom, coffee maker, TV, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dontcallmebabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This family-run hotel goes out of its way to make sure guests are well taken care of. Lots of thoughtful touches, like a big umbrella and an espresso machine in each room. The proprietors are very helpful in providing information about the city. The breakfast is outstanding, especially the Dutch pancakes. The only caveat applies to disabled access. The hotel has an elevator, but the steep front steps are the only way in. In addition being close to the museums, the hotel is also near the acoustically perfect Concertgebouw. We bought tickets at the box office for an outstanding early music concert. A word of warning, the van Gogh museum is now closed for renovation, but part of the collection can be seen at the Hermitage some distance away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
296 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Location is a short stoll to Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum two of the must sees. We spent 4 nights and this is a quiet haven away from busy Amsterdam. Side street is pedestrian only and front street is narrow and very quiet. Trams to the main attractions are just 200 metres away. A walk in the nearby Vondelpark is a must. A trip to the nearby market stalls and restaurants in De Pijp is a great couple of hours. Our room was very big and the bathroom spacious. A generous breakfast is included to start the day off right. Set amongst other buildings of the same early 1900s vintage with delightful art nouveau architecture. Given its age the stairs are steep and narrow but there is a small elevator if you need it.

Room Tip: Rooms are priced on size. We chose the biggest size. Still a bargain compared with the other choices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,377 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing