We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Professional -- A Great Family Hotel”
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #11 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming and Professional -- A Great Family Hotel”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

While just steps away from all that Amsterdam has to offer, the charming Hotel Fita is in a quiet neighborhood alongside a school and playground. Walk to the tram, bus (only 4 Euros from the airport), museums, canal, grocery, restaurants, high-street shops and the Leidseplein night life area.
Roel and his staff have been mentioned most favorably here and with good reason. The staff are professional, yet personable in that wonderful Dutch way. Roel made us feel that we were most welcome guests in his home.
The rooms are generous (by European standards, it must be noted), furnished well and aptly. The bed cradled us after long days with good linens and coverings. The bath towels and amenities refreshed us and the breakfasts refueled us for the day (when asked about the pancake, give an enthusiastic "Yes!").

Room Tip: Buy your I Amsterdam card from Roel. The refrigerator in the breakfast room is communal; we chilled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oldmangamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,321
    410
    52
    24
    10
See reviews for
269
902
173
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Great location within easy walking distance of the museums and the upscale shopping district. We needed an elevator because we were coming off a cruise ship with too much luggage. However, there is a flight of stairs from the street to the lobby but Roel was right there to whisk our luggage up. While waiting for our room to be ready he also gave us a map of Amsterdam and marked all the interesting locations, walks, trams, etc. A great introduction to the city. We were in room #6 in the basement which would not be our first choice. Other rooms (we peeked when doors open) much more charming. Hotel is next to a playground which makes for some noise on weekdays. However, the sound of children playing is rarely annoying and one does not visit Amsterdam to snooze the day away. Breakfast is well done and the pancakes delicious. There is an honor bar next to the breakfast room. Free wifi which was super fast and reliable. Safe in the room and we enjoyed the nespresso machine. All in all, so much more pleasant than an impersonal chain hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FLBirdlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had a great stay at the family-run Hotel Fita. As others have mentioned, the location vis-a-vis museums and the tram is very convenient, but it is also a very calm area. We really appreciated the warm welcome from the owner Roel and then the welcome drinks delivered by his mother shortly after we checked in. Roel provided a really useful overview of the city on the map he gave us - and during the weekend he responded cheerfully and enthusiastically to our requests for help with reserving restaurants or advice on where to go. We also appreciated the self-serve drink and snack bar in the hotel (on an honor system) - a nice feature after a long day of museums and sightseeing. Room (cat A) were spacious - particularly for Amsterdam standards - and comfortable.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MandJ-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on 29th May and were ushered into the hotel by the owner, Roel. We were told the rooms were ready as soon as we stepped into the premise. The rooms we had were spacious, clean and it comes with a balcony where you could enjoy the scenic view of the streets. Shopping streets are a stone throw distance, while the vangogh museum is only 5min away only. Breakfast was pretty standard and the staff offered to make pancakes for my family, a plus to this top notch service! We will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone visiting to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with balcony on the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Maggie8387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Hotel FITA has a great location and so much more. Within a a few blocks of the Van Gogh Museum, Rijksmuseum, Concertgebouw, Vondelpark, and new Stedelijk Museum as well as major tram lines and some excellent restaurants, the hotel is in an area that most travelers will visit; but it is outside of the hectic, crowded Leidesplein and Dam Square areas. All of our contacts with Roel, the owner and manager, before the trip were positive and helpful. Thanks to his suggestion, we had an easy bus ride from the airport to the hotel in under an hour and far under the price of a taxi. Throughout our 5-night stay, he and his brother graciously provided maps, directions, and responses to our questions and requests. Our room (#34) was spotless and spacious. Although bathroom amenities were sparse, the size of the room made up for it. A small, 3-person lift was available for getting to the room when we chose not to take the steep, winding stairs. Breakfast was varied, ample, and could be individually prepared; and they did an excellent job on our request for scrambled egg whites. Early in our stay, my backpack purse was pick pocketed. Roel could not have been more helpful and supportive. When I had trouble with my mobile phone connections to the U.S. to report the theft and cancel credit cards, he had me use the land line in our room without charge. He directed us to the nearby police station to make a report and checked periodically to make sure that I was OK. We have stayed in four different places in Amsterdam, and the Hotel FITA provided the best base for exploring Amsterdam and it certainly provided the best service.

Room Tip: Large rooms, such as 24 an 34, have big bay windows, lots of light, and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paradocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were a group of 8 (3 couples and 2 singles). From the moment we arrived we were welcomed like family. the family operates the hotel directly with some support staff. We were a small block from the VanGogh and were able to get tickets directly at the Fita. It is perfect walking distance even to the Anne Frank museum (not a short walk but a great way to see the city streets). Everything about Fita says "we want you here". We took the bus from Schipol and only had a couple of blocks to get to the hotel so that cuts the cost and time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BinWoodside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Hotel Fita is owned and managed as a family business and their approach to customer care puts most other hotels to shame. Nothing was too much trouble for Roel, Martijn and Ria and any requests were dealt with promptly and most courteously. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well furnished. The inclusive breakfast was exceptional offering hot and cold choices in a buffet style: all the more surprising as there are only 15 rooms. The freshly cooked pancakes and home made jams were a real treat.
The hotel is located in the museum district and is very quiet at night. It is a few tram stops away from Dam Square and was an absolutely ideal location for us and thankfully away from the nosier central parts of Amsterdam.
If you are fortunate enough to book a room in this superb hotel make sure that you arrange your taxi to the airport through through them - it saved us 20 Euros compared with the price we paid when we arrived!

Room Tip: The larger double rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cofc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,065 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,529 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing