We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treasure in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fita
Ranked #12 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A Hidden Treasure in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This 15 room, all non-smoking hotel, was a perfect way to start and end our four days in Amsterdam. Roel, Martin and Queenie, along with the other staff, made us feel at home and very pampered. The breakfasts were superb and the company delightful. Our room was just the right size, warm, immaculate and quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable. The umbrella for loan in each room was a nice feature, even though we had atypical sunny and warm March weather. Not only is Hotel Fita close to the museums, tickets were available for purchase in the Hotel to avoid the lines. With its location, we were close to the trolley line, and walking to the city center was easy. Roel had recommendations for wonderful restaurants as well. The elevator was a treat, especially for the one sore knee on the trip. We both felt safe and secure. Our email contact before our arrival for directions was timely and clear. I have already recommended Hotel Fita to five couples. It is a charming Hotel with a B & B feel. We highly recommend Hotel Fita.

Room Tip: Our corner room in the back was sunny and very quiet at night. The children at the school below wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittSanRafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,183
    381
    47
    24
    10
See reviews for
243
804
155
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We have just spent three nights at Hotel Fita and can't praise it highly enough. Roel, Martijn and Ria made us feel very welcome and were very helpful with any queries we had.The hotel itself is charming, the rooms very comfortable, and it is well placed for exploring the city- we walked everywhere quite easily. The neighbourhood is quiet and there are excellent restaurants nearby. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quizmaster2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel was perfect for my husband and I. Now owned and operated by two brother we found these accommodations perfect for our stay. Our room was comfortable and large with a large bathroom. All very clean. Being an older couple, an elevator was a must. It is quite small which adds to the fun! Breakfast in the morning, yum. Pancakes by Martin (the other younger brother a promising chef). Just the right options for a light, satisfying breakfast. Loads of information and assistance offered by Roel. One block from the very busy Van Gogh museum. We purchased our tickets from Roel. Cab to the front door from the airport and to our ship. Tram also one block away. Purchase the full day ticket. Rijksmuseum & Royal Concertgebouw easy walking distance. Perfectly situated for all one's needs. This isn't a luxury, high end hotel. Our needs were met and then some with. Thank you Roel & Martin if your reading!

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms. We chose a room away from the school children, even though it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinOak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This small hotel located just steps from the Van Gogh Museum is a real find! Roel, Martijn, Ria made us feel like part of the family from the emails we exchanged before our arrival, all during our stay as well as the email we received when we got home thanking us for staying with them. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast is included and was delicious. We had eggs bacon and waffles made to order and a beautiful spread of fruit and bread and yogurt. If narrow steep steps or a small elevator is something that would make you uncomfortable you should be aware that this hotel has both although this is something very typical to European hotels. I can not recommend the Fita more highly!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This small three star hotel in the southwestern part of Amsterdam is very well located only 100 meters or so from the VanGogh Museum. It is on the main trolley line that feeds to the city center in only 10 minutes.

The rooms are good sized for Europe the staff is wonderful. Run by two brothers Martin and Rould they can help with all your needs.

The included breakfast is very good. Ask for the Dutch pancakes.

Room Tip: Ask for room 14 it has a small patio and a full bathtub too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaveWatcher16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

It is worth going to Amsterdam, just to stay at the Hotel Fita. I have stayed at a lot of Hotels in my 21 World trips, but loved this place. The two sons, Roel and Martijn could not be more helpful and treat you as if you were their first ever customer, every time. The room was very comfortable, lovely and warm, despite being freezing outside, and the bed was exceptional. Location is very good, unless you turn the wrong way out of the Hotel, like we did, then it is a very long walk. Breakfast was excellent and despite not being on my strict diet, I could not resist the Pancakes. Typical continental Hotel in steep steps and tiny lift, but this was all part of the charm. I cannot recommend the Fita highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We booked the hotel and got my confirmation right away. We got our rooms and they were perfect clean. Breakfast is included and it was excellent! The service was super good and the staff was very friendly, helpful and always available for any question we had. Location is great, in a very nice quiet area, central, close to one of the best restaurants areas, and all transportation available. There is a bus which leaves right next to the hotel and takes you directly to the airport.
Overall experience perfect!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kebn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,245 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Property: Hotel Fita
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing