We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room & Excellent Location”
Review of Owl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Owl Hotel
Ranked #127 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Clean Room & Excellent Location”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I stayed for 8 nights in October 2010. The location is safe. As it is autmun, the trees around the hotel was all painted red. Really pretty!

The hotel is a short distance away to Van Gogh museum and Rijksmuseum. It is also a short walk to Leidseplein, just need to pass by Marriot Hotel and cross the road. From Leidseplein, it is a short tram ride to the central station. Excellent location!

The hotel serves hot breakfast buffet with different breads, boiled eggs, juices, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, fruits, etc. Good breakfast to start the day! My room is facing the inner courtyard. It is clean, very peaceful and quiet for a good night sleep.

You can also surf the net, located just next to the breakfast area. There is also a cabinet full of owls figurines. I like to collect owls figuines too. So, I was really happy to see the hotel's collection.

The staff are really helpful. I remembered this lady who I met on my first day. I was jet lagged and having a terrible headache. As my room was not ready, she gave me a paracetamol and told me to rest at the lounge area with hot tea. I really appreciate her very much! She was also the one that arranged for my transport with Connexxion shuttle on my last day to the airport . She was really professional. Her boss should really value her!

If I am in Amsterdam again, I will stay in this hotel again!

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Gchezmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    337
    84
    21
    9
See reviews for
109
239
90
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2010

A small hotel located in the museum district with charming facilities. Gracious, helpful staff.
Clean rooms. Very low key but great location. Breakfast more than adequate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z0ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Reasonably priced with all taxes and breakfast buffet included. Central location. Staff accomodating. Room small but adequate

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stay 3 night un the hotel
Excellent location
Great team, helped any questions.
Full contribution for payment.
the best 3 star hotel in Amsterdam's.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itay0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Had a wonderful stay, hotel room on the small side but bathroom very well appointed. This is a family run operation, breakfast was good, staff friendly and very helpful!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Having read the reviews on here, and having several bad hotel experiences in the 'Dam, we decided to spend a few quid extra to make sure we got a nice hotel. We paid 260euro for two nights, which to us is a lot of money and could get you two nights at the Grand in Brighton for the same price, so maybe I was expecting a bit too much. It is a nice hotel, but that's all it is. The room was fairly clean although there was a conspicuous stain on the wall, shower was nice and clean, but it was all very basic. Breakfast was adequate, cold meats and cheese, boiled eggs, etc. To be honest, the staff were really nice, but sometimes it was bordering on over-nice, if there is such a thing. The location is good, 5 mins walk from Leidseplein and Museumplein, 2 mins from Vondelpark, 20 mins to Dam Square, but if you there for a party( which I suspect you are!), then maybe this hotel is not for you. It was full of middle-aged Americans who all seemed to be in bed by 10pm. All in all, a pleasent stay, but overpriced for what it was, and over-rated reviews, in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BtnJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in a clean double room with large bath. Quiet street close to town center, during world cup games. Staff is helpful and free breakfast is in a nice sunny room.
We would stay again, more charming then chain hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Needmygps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#119 of 367 in Amsterdam
856 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#69 of 367 in Amsterdam
727 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#86 of 367 in Amsterdam
931 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#117 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,043 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#138 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Property: Owl Hotel
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing