We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Owl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Owl Hotel
Ranked #109 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Atsugi, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

this hotel is located in a quiet area and close to vondel park, musiums, etc. right behind hotel mariott. I like this area. everytime I visit here, friendly staff welcome and they are very nice and kind. include breakfast and valuable. rooms are clean and i think its average in europe.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kazy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    315
    80
    18
    9
See reviews for
104
230
81
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
280 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I enjoyed my two-night stay at this hotel. Personnel were very friendly and helpful, the location was ideal - on a quiet street, but just a five-minute walk to a tram stop, the Rijksmuseum, or the 197 bus to/from the airport. One can relax on a rear patio; and a fine full breakfast is included in the room price. My room was compact but comfortable and reasonably quiet - although the lack of air-conditioning means that you may have to leave the window open; and since Amsterdam is a fairly noisy city, you may hear alcohol-fueled revelry at most any hour of the night, even from a rear-facing room. Overall, however, this hotel was just what I was looking for as basis for a brief sight-seeing visit to this city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights during a short visit to Amsterdam. The Owl Hotel is a very well family run hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made most welcome. The rooms were spotlessly clean if somewhat basically furnished. We slept well except for one early call when sirens could be heard rushing into our street. On pulling the curtains back a fireman atop a high ladder passed me by less than a yard away! The house four doors down was ablaze! Gui assured me this was not part of the hotel's entertainment just a one-off event!
The lounge bar next to reception was a great place for a very reasonably priced gin and tonic before venturing out to our restaurants; talking of which do try Willems Restaurant in a street called Willemsparkweg just across the park from The Owl - really outstanding mid priced food.
Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty in a typically continental way. Once again service from the young breakfast waitress was attentive and cheerful.
Within 5 minutes walk trams, buses and water taxis can be caught to all parts of Amsterdam and we used the 'Hop-on-hop-off' canal boats to get around. The bus to and from the airport leaves from there too and costs about 7 euros each way so there is no need to take expensive airport transfers.
Hotels in Amsterdam seem pretty expensive however The Owl is well priced and a great place to stay while exploring the city. It was everything we hoped for and more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheoneRoberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here for three nights while visiting Amsterdam. The staff is wonderful; the hotel is clean and very comfortable. There is a small elevator and a lovely lounge area. The rooms aren't overly large but are comfortable. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonbie
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

A small, family-run hotel just a ten minute walk from the Rijksmuseum and van Gough Museum, very convenient for canal boat, tram and bus travel, and a 50 euro taxi ride from Schipholl airport.

Stairs are very steep, as in most old Amsterdam houses, but there is an efficient lift. No evening meals served, but many restaurant within easy walking distance.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Doors open from the lounge on to a small patio area surrounded by tall trees, frequented by jays and parakeets (which can be relied on to give you an early morning wake-up call!). I cannot recommend this hotel too strongly. Brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights as a group visiting Amsterdam. Michelle and her husband Gui who run the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and comfortable and quiet. There is a pleasant bar/ lounge area where our group was able to gather at the end of the day.
The breakfast is a typical Dutch continental breakfast and is fine.
The location is excellent. Nearby is the Vondelpark, lots of eating places of good quality and the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and modern art museums are just a pleasant stroll away. For further afield there are tram, bus and canal bus stops nearby.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Muckleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked the hotel, because we wanted to stay in a more traditional hotel. We stayed in the family room. The staff were friendly. The location was brilliant. Breakfast ok. The last night of our stay we had rats in the room, which was really disgusting. Will go back there for price and location and pray the rats have relocated.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank YokkaBlantyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#89 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Property: Owl Hotel
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing