We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Owl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Owl Hotel
Ranked #109 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

For our first trip to Amsterdam, the Owl Hotel was the perfect place to stay. The rooms are charming, clean, and comfortable. The garden behind the hotel is beautiful, and the perfect place to sit with a drink or a cup of coffee. The staff members are welcoming and helpful. The location is within walking distance of museums, restaurants, and shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    315
    80
    18
    9
See reviews for
104
230
81
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol Cyprus
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I chose this hotel because it is very close to the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk and the Van Gogh Museum, just a few minutes walk away. I was also pleased to find The Hard Rock Cafe and many good restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. The hotel itself is just around a corner from a main road, I felt safe, it is in a quiet area, very clean and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast was good, the bar quiet, the garden very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SueKeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel since 1982 and I have just returned from what is at least my 7th stay at this hotel. It is simple and basic but I love it because it is small and personal and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I also like the location which is within easy reach of all the major attractions and yet it is in a quiet street. My only criticism would be the breakfasts - they do lack imagination but they are adequate. And if you are a cat lover then Disney is always willing to receive attention.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not much had changed after 7 years, the staff was still as friendly and helpful as before, room old but clean, bathroom shower leaked and flooded the floor...however everything charming. Location is the big plus point, being able to walk to Leidseplein, as well as the newly opened Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. The breakfast buffet was adequate, tasty and included in the price, which is a big saving in expensive Europe. Would come here again and again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANGELINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Amsterdam is an incredibly overpriced city. And accommodations are often comparatively tattered and worn. That is just the fact. I say this because the rates at the Owl are not bad relatively speaking.

The neighborhood is great, and yes, in a really nice section of town. The street you are on is cosy and quiet, and extremely well situated to transportation to get to all the tourist sights, and to the RAI conference center if you are staying there on business. The nearby park is well known and well used, and well worth going there for walks if you have the time.

Do get a larger room, even if you are a single traveler. And ask for one that overlooks the garden in the back. My was comfortable and the facilities in it were fine.

I imagine, yes, the place is small and could be noisy if guests in adjoining rooms are unduly loud. Though that wasn't my experience, thankfully. While I was there, the patrons all seemed to be considerate, and I would have had no hesitation to complain to them and/or the staff at the desk if they weren't. It's that kind of place: not like a B&B but neither is it like a disinterested, uninvolved hotel, of which there are many in Amsterdam.

The sitting room is attractive and opens up into the garden, and they serve liquor from a little bar next to the reservation desk. I see what some reviewers are complaining about regarding the breakfast. It is somewhat on the sparse side. But then again, IMO, it is more than passable and worked for me.

If I traveled often to Amsterdam, I would consider making this my first option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mostly_happy_camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We traveled with our 15 and 13 year old and had a fabulous time! The owners are so friendly and helpful, and were very accommodating to us! The stairway is steep and spiral, but adds to the charm! The breakfast was pleasant, and we thoroughly enjoyed cocktails on the patio!

The location was perfect for our family...convenient for walking the city, but a bit removed so quieter at night. Had a fabulous stay and will definitely return when/if we visit Amsterdam again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back overlooking the patio :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkkreiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talent, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Owl has a very friendly staff and is situated in a beautiful part of Amsterdam - a short walk from the best museums and park. Unfortunately, the rooms were not thrilling, though clean and fairly quiet. The breakfast was disappointing and not worthwhile - most of the food came from a can or a box, coffee from a machine that added hot water to a powder mix. After being in similar hotels all over the UK (the Cottwolds and York) as well as Belgum (Bruges) this was the exception in what we experienced.

Room Tip: second floor back was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crr4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#148 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#89 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Property: Owl Hotel
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing