We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Back here after 7 years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Owl Hotel
Ranked #108 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Back here after 7 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not much had changed after 7 years, the staff was still as friendly and helpful as before, room old but clean, bathroom shower leaked and flooded the floor...however everything charming. Location is the big plus point, being able to walk to Leidseplein, as well as the newly opened Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. The breakfast buffet was adequate, tasty and included in the price, which is a big saving in expensive Europe. Would come here again and again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANGELINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    303
    74
    17
    9
See reviews for
97
222
81
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Amsterdam is an incredibly overpriced city. And accommodations are often comparatively tattered and worn. That is just the fact. I say this because the rates at the Owl are not bad relatively speaking.

The neighborhood is great, and yes, in a really nice section of town. The street you are on is cosy and quiet, and extremely well situated to transportation to get to all the tourist sights, and to the RAI conference center if you are staying there on business. The nearby park is well known and well used, and well worth going there for walks if you have the time.

Do get a larger room, even if you are a single traveler. And ask for one that overlooks the garden in the back. My was comfortable and the facilities in it were fine.

I imagine, yes, the place is small and could be noisy if guests in adjoining rooms are unduly loud. Though that wasn't my experience, thankfully. While I was there, the patrons all seemed to be considerate, and I would have had no hesitation to complain to them and/or the staff at the desk if they weren't. It's that kind of place: not like a B&B but neither is it like a disinterested, uninvolved hotel, of which there are many in Amsterdam.

The sitting room is attractive and opens up into the garden, and they serve liquor from a little bar next to the reservation desk. I see what some reviewers are complaining about regarding the breakfast. It is somewhat on the sparse side. But then again, IMO, it is more than passable and worked for me.

If I traveled often to Amsterdam, I would consider making this my first option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mostly_happy_camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We traveled with our 15 and 13 year old and had a fabulous time! The owners are so friendly and helpful, and were very accommodating to us! The stairway is steep and spiral, but adds to the charm! The breakfast was pleasant, and we thoroughly enjoyed cocktails on the patio!

The location was perfect for our family...convenient for walking the city, but a bit removed so quieter at night. Had a fabulous stay and will definitely return when/if we visit Amsterdam again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back overlooking the patio :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkkreiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talent, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Owl has a very friendly staff and is situated in a beautiful part of Amsterdam - a short walk from the best museums and park. Unfortunately, the rooms were not thrilling, though clean and fairly quiet. The breakfast was disappointing and not worthwhile - most of the food came from a can or a box, coffee from a machine that added hot water to a powder mix. After being in similar hotels all over the UK (the Cottwolds and York) as well as Belgum (Bruges) this was the exception in what we experienced.

Room Tip: second floor back was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crr4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathmont
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel a few days ago and it was possibly the most overpriced hotel we have ever stayed at. The rooms were very old and the carpets were stained. The bed appeared to have been cleaned poorly because it had other people's hair on the sheets.

We the customer service of the front desk was either really good or really bad depending on who was working.. One of the guys appeared to have no idea where to even catch the bus to the airport from. I am really not sure how this place got such a good rating..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The service here was excellent but sadly the hotel was poor value for money. The walls were paper thin which meant when the Aussies in the neighbouring room got their 6am phone call from the family back home we got to here every word... 2 days in a row. They then stayed in bed chatting post call to 8am which equated to us getting very little sleep, obviously not their fault, the fault of the paper walls and us staying up late. The fire alarm on sunday morning at 6.30am thanks to the smoker in the room was also not ideal. We left amsterdam exhausted and instead of pre dinner birthday drinks on saturday night we needed a pre dinner nap.

The service was super friendly and Disney the hotel cat was also friendly.

The room reminded me of halls of residence. The breakfast was very basic and the coffee was the worst coffee I have ever drunk, it was undrinkable (I'm sorry friendly family hotel but it really was). Fruit bread very yummy though.

Despite the super friendly service i would not stay here again. A good nights sleep is a high priority for me on holiday and this hotel is not designed to deliver one.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harrisonerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our first time at the Owl Hotel, and we highly recommend it!

FIrst, location. It was easy to take the bus (4 euros per person in May 2013) from Schipol Airport to Leidseplein, a bustling square that is a mere five minute walk away from the hotel. The hotel is located near Museumplein, where you will find the big three museums (Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk); but there are several other fine museums within a reasonable walk from the hotel as well (we particularly recommend FOAM, an excellent photography museum). In addition to being so close to so many great restaurants, shops, museums, etc., the hotel's location is perfect for re-charging at the end of a full day; the peaceful, tree-lined street is matched by the nice garden patio at the back of the hotel. Highly restorative.

Second, the staff. Helpful, friendly, definitely making this the right place for us to recover from our 10-hour flight to Amsterdam.

Third, our room and the amenities of the hotel. Comfortable bed and a window that overlooked the garden. Free wifi that worked well. The perfect breakfast to get you out the door: cheese, meats, pastries, bread for toasting, cereal with milk or yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juices, coffee or tea (I am addicted to the cheese with cumin!).

We are already talking about our next trip to Amsterdam, and we will definitely stay at the Owl Hotel again when we do return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGalOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#95 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#50 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#90 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#54 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#151 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Property: Owl Hotel
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing