We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great home-away-from-home in an excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Owl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Owl Hotel
Ranked #114 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Portland OR
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great home-away-from-home in an excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our first time at the Owl Hotel, and we highly recommend it!

FIrst, location. It was easy to take the bus (4 euros per person in May 2013) from Schipol Airport to Leidseplein, a bustling square that is a mere five minute walk away from the hotel. The hotel is located near Museumplein, where you will find the big three museums (Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk); but there are several other fine museums within a reasonable walk from the hotel as well (we particularly recommend FOAM, an excellent photography museum). In addition to being so close to so many great restaurants, shops, museums, etc., the hotel's location is perfect for re-charging at the end of a full day; the peaceful, tree-lined street is matched by the nice garden patio at the back of the hotel. Highly restorative.

Second, the staff. Helpful, friendly, definitely making this the right place for us to recover from our 10-hour flight to Amsterdam.

Third, our room and the amenities of the hotel. Comfortable bed and a window that overlooked the garden. Free wifi that worked well. The perfect breakfast to get you out the door: cheese, meats, pastries, bread for toasting, cereal with milk or yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juices, coffee or tea (I am addicted to the cheese with cumin!).

We are already talking about our next trip to Amsterdam, and we will definitely stay at the Owl Hotel again when we do return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGalOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    303
    74
    17
    9
See reviews for
97
222
81
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Owl on previous trips to Amsterdam and it is in a very good location. One can walk all over Amsterdam from here. Very nice rooms, recently upgraded. Good breakfast buffet. Front desk staff are so helpful and friendly. Close to the Leidesplein and museums.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is situated in a quite respectable area, although very close to the vibrant Amsterdam center. After all those wandering through the city center, we became aware that it is not so easy to find a hotel with a combination of such merits. Probably, the hotel needs some renovation, as the interior looks almost the same, as it used to be, when I stayed here in 1990. Also the leaky windows need to be repaired somehow; we were freezing in the room, when the temperature came down to 8-10 degrees this May, until the heating was turned on. At the same time the breakfast room looked renovated and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was good enough. The hotel staff was very helpful and polite and did their best to meet our requests. Wifi worked properly all over the hotel. It is also worth mentioning that among all the hotels Own was the only one, offering the entire room price for a stay with no hidden surplus payments, like city tax, cost of breakfast, etc., which facilitated the financial planning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Owl Hotel in early May for 3 nights.
It's easy to get to from the airport on the bus and is in a great spot for a city break - we walked everywhere easily.
All the hotel staff were really friendly and helpful at recommending good local places to eat.
Our room was small, but comfortable and clean.

I would recommend and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigglesnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This place is great! I stayed here for 4 days as I moved to Amsterdam. The wifi is over priced but you can get free wifi at Bagels and Beans Cafe close to the hotel. Alternately you can always go to Starbucks close to Leidsplein. There is also a computer that you can use for free.

The breakfast buffet is great.

The front desk staff is very helpful and look out for you. From helping with public transportation to tips for finding an apartment. I would come back here to stay if I didn't already live in Amsterdam!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelingDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our first trip to Amsterdam and we chose an excellent base, (Thanks to my fellow contributors)

Hotel's in the city are expensive even by London standards and to be fair, Owl is also pricey but the positives more than made up for this. The welcome was warm and this theme continued throught out our stay. The staff (family) could not be more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Their local knowledge was very helpful and much appreciated. The location was very convenient, as a guide you could walk to the central station, thru the centre of town, in 35 minutes. The ever present trams render this unnecessary but you get the idea. Like most old European cities, Amsterdam is made for walking.

The room was clean. comfortable and quiet. Not large or luxurioulsy appointed but this is Europe. TV with cable channels and free wifi in the rooms. Breakfast was perfectly adequate if not expansive. One small comment, freshly made coffee in lieu of the machine would be a nice touch. There is a nice outdoor area to enjoy a cool beer after a busy day exploring.

The newly opened Rijksmusuem is barely a 5 minute walk and the Vondelpark no more than a 3 minute stroll. The busy Leidesplein is just over the nearest bridge with bars, resaurants ect.

I would recommend the hotel with confidence, particularly if like most of us, you are on a budget. A great location and friendly, helpful staff.

If you have not visited Amsterdam yet, just one recommendation, go soon. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: It is a quiet location so no problems there. We were on the top floor, this is a small lift. The sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank middleageoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

So friendly, clean, good location. Get the 167 bus from Schipol to Leidsplein and it's a five minute walk - no need to spend a fortune on taxi or train! Free internet and lots of helpful advice about getting around the city. Recommend the Amsterdam pass - I saved over 55 euros!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#141 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#97 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#90 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#53 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#151 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Property: Owl Hotel
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing