We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Amsterdam...”
Review of Hotel De Munck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Munck
Ranked #246 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam. The location is very central and close to all important places of interest. The staff was very nice and friendly. The breakfast was average but enough. A playground for children is also around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank Hans J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Munck
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 221 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014

The location is pretty convenient, there is free wifi and breakfast included, which is a bonus. Yet, for the price we paid for three nights is was not worth it. The rooms were very small, smaller than dorm rooms in college. The stairs were incredibly hard to maneuver, I would not recommend for anyone with disabilities or difficulty with walking, as it was nearly impossible to get our luggage to the fourth floor without hitting our heads and we are 5'2! I could smell mold in our room and the bathroom was clearly very old and in need of repairs- the hairdryer cord built into the wall was an off brown colour. It was more so comparable to a hostel, and for that I would not stay again-especially for the price they asked for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TropicTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The room is clean, with private bathrooom, maybe the walls are a little thicker as you hear the footsteps of the people upstairs, but you sleep really well! the staff is welcoming and friendly, amenable to any request. A continental breakfast is plentiful and excellent
The hotel is in a quite street.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed with tall children 12 and 14 in Room 3, which was quiet, had a fridge and it's own bathroom. The stairs are very steep, but no problem for us. The breakfast was boiled eggs, 2 kinds of cereal, fruit, orange juice, several kinds of bread, rolls, ginger cake and crackers with ham, salami and cheese. Pretty good really. The staff were quiet but efficient. The supermarket a few doors down was really brilliant and quite a decent size for such a central location. But the best thing about this hotel is the fantastic location,not far from the Skinny Bridge with plenty of cosy cafes, restaurants and bars just around the corner but not crowded and hectic. Superb. Tip for drivers. The out of town parking 'Park and Ride' (P+R) system with it's matching travel tickets getting you to and from your hotel on public transport worked like clockwork. Very cheap and so much better than driving in the city.

Room Tip: Room 3, 4 single beds, very quiet at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BridgetPlantaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Room very nice and clean, staff friendly, walking distance to Dam square (10+ minutes), breakfast OK. Good balance price/quality. Bikes can be rented for 12 euros, there is a supermarket just on the side of the hotel. There are very narrow stairs to get to upper floors so maybe not advisable for older people.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank lukMonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

It's just a backpacker hotel; narrow & steep stairs, ordinary breakfast with often same menu over my stay there for 5 nights; yes, location is excellent with tram station nearby with services to all part of city

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aps20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

wanted to stay one night in amsterdam for a concert in the Ziggo dome. Looked for the best location for a cheap rate with breakfast included. Location is easily accesed from the rembrandsplein and lots off public transportation around to get you where ever you want. We were welcomed very friendly by the deskclerk. Where offered a better room than booked ( with shower inside instead in the hallway).Room was clean and cozy. Small but pretty good and large shower, again clean. Our room was sort of a cottage house build on, wich was fun to find in the middle of the city. Breakfast however is best to get from the supermarked next door. Overall for the money it was a good and uncomplicated stay and we were felt welcome on arrival.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimidelaroppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#225 of 371 in Amsterdam
116 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#286 of 371 in Amsterdam
477 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#307 of 371 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#150 of 371 in Amsterdam
398 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 371 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#211 of 371 in Amsterdam
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Munck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Munck

Address: Achtergracht 3, 1017 WL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $93 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Munck 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De Munck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Munck Hotel
De Munck Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing