We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for low budget stay.”
Review of Hotel De Munck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Munck
Ranked #252 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed November 4, 2013

wanted to stay one night in amsterdam for a concert in the Ziggo dome. Looked for the best location for a cheap rate with breakfast included. Location is easily accesed from the rembrandsplein and lots off public transportation around to get you where ever you want. We were welcomed very friendly by the deskclerk. Where offered a better room than booked ( with shower inside instead in the hallway).Room was clean and cozy. Small but pretty good and large shower, again clean. Our room was sort of a cottage house build on, wich was fun to find in the middle of the city. Breakfast however is best to get from the supermarked next door. Overall for the money it was a good and uncomplicated stay and we were felt welcome on arrival.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimidelaroppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 223 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

I am very baffled by all the positive reviews on here. This Hotel would be great if it was cheap. As is happens paying €345 for a room for three people (two nights) makes one feel robbed given the standard of the hotel (beds, general state of place) and the worst breakfast ever.
For the prices they charge this Hotel is a robbery! If you don't care about setting somewhere very basic and get a good price if might be ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alvaro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank AidanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Slightly baffled by all the positive reviews here. Yes, the location is good but for me and my wife, visiting last week, everything was overshadowed by the fact we were charged 251 euros for a double room at a hotel that we feel was barely above the level of quality and service of a backpacker hostel. It's shabby with mismatched carpets, grubby walls and furniture that is cheap, shoddy and possibly secondhand. Bathrooms are old with cheap fittings. All of which would be acceptable if the room cost 40 or 50 euros per night but de Munck charges over twice that amount. We had just stayed in two hotels charging the same rates (approx 120 euros per night) in Berlin that were smart, modern, aircon, with minibars, wifi, thick mattresses, thick quilts etc... everything you'd expect for that sort of money. We should have known there was something not right when the Munck management insist we pay at check-in – had we seen the room first we would have walked and looked for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SamBayoumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We booked 3 nights in hotel de Munck. The hotel has very good location. Really close to tram no. 4 that goes straight to Central station. Also close (approx. 7 min walk) to Metro. The nearest food shop is just next door and also Lidl is near enough. Busy streets are behind the corner, so you can enjoy proper sleep in quite location. Breakfast was not bad, but the same option every morning, staff extremely helpful. We had room with shared bathroom, but absolutely no issues with that... Bathroom and toilet were separated, always clean, there are just bit too small... There was a good size sink in our room, also hairdryer and small TV, kettel would be nice as well, maybe the owner could think about that. Wi-fi signal was very low on the fourth floor where was our room. We were also able to rent bikes for a day, even cheaper then everywhere else - bike is a must in Amsterdam as it's much easier to get anywhere you want to go...Over all I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for cheap accomodation near city centre for few days. But keep on mind this is 2 star hotel ;)

1  Thank miromira
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hotel de Munck provides a very reasonable service for the price. It was small, but comfortable and clean. The shower was warm. The beds were clean and soft and there was a new towel every day. Breakfast was basic but perfectly adequate - bread with cheese and meat, rolls, tea, coffee, juice, cereal and milk. The staff are friendly and also booked us a 7 seater taxi back to the airport for only 40 Euros. They kindly also let us leave our bags at the hotel after we had checked out (our flight was not until 8 in the evening), so that we didn't have to carry heavy luggage around the city on the last day.

Access to Amsterdam centre is easy, simply follow Utrechtstraat to Rembrandtplein (Rembrant Square) where you will find direct walks to all parts of the city centre, including Dam Square (watch out for constant trams and bikes!). There is a supermarket very close by with cheap prices on snacks and beer. Numerous cafes, shops and restaurants are only minutes away by foot.

Not good for disabled access as the stairs are very windy and steep. Wi-fi only worked downstairs and was very slow, but it was available at no extra cost. If you are travelling from abroad, be warned that city tax (5.5%) will be added to your bill on arrival

I would recommend and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

By far the best thing about Hotel De Munck is it's location. Not too far to all the main attractions with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. The building is lovely situated at the end of a a small canal on a quiet side street.
The room was large, warm and reasonably comfortable. The shower/loo was very small, too small. On the plus side, the shower was strong with ample hot water. Unfortunately the bed left a lot to be desired. The mattress was very soft with a slight but definite tilt towards the centre. I do not have a bad back but I did after 3 nights sleeping in this bed.
Breakfast was continental. Limited choice, just 2 cereals, but perfectly sufficient.
Given the price and great location Hotel De Munck represents good value for money. I would would stay again but only if there was a new mattress!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#285 of 373 in Amsterdam
484 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#222 of 373 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Plantage & the East
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#101 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#186 of 373 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#226 of 373 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Centrum
City Hotel Amsterdam
City Hotel Amsterdam
#171 of 373 in Amsterdam
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Munck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Munck

Address: Achtergracht 3, 1017 WL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $99 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Munck 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel De Munck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Munck Hotel
De Munck Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing