We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verry good staf and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Munck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Munck to your Saves list
Hotel De Munck
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Achtergracht 3, 1017 WL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Verry good staf and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

this hotel is good, staf very frindley and helpfull.. 7 min walk to rambrentplain .. its was a perfect stay for me and my girlfriend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anders O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My friend and I stayed here on a B&B basis for 3 nights in June. We were allowed to check in prior to the specified time, i.e. 2pm, given a clean and tidy room and our buffet breakfast was very good. The staff made us feel very welcome and were very helpful. We are hoping to stay here again soon. The location is also very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelC2778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I consider this as a B&B instead of a hotel. The staircases to go up is too steep for most people. If you have mobility issues, forget about this hotel, especially the rooms facing the street. you will NOT be able to climb up the stairs at all. The WiFi is extremely weak and slow, even when you are in the breakfast area. No luck in our room at all. They should have installed screen door for the balcony because a lot of flies came in during the night. If we closed the door, it's hot even with the fan turned on. We found hair on the towels when we checked in so we did not use them at all. Breakfast was not too bad. Staff was friendly. Location is a few minutes of walk to the metro station. 3 stations away from the Central station. We walked for about 35 minutes from the central station to de Munck with our GPS guiding us. Over 100E a night is a bit expensive. A lot of restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Walk to Rembrandplein to eat, lot of good stuff there. Wok to Walk offers fast Chinese food for abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swhli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here during a three-night stay in Amsterdam. We were in one of the rooms on the top floor, and had a shared bathroom that was downstairs one flight. We never had to wait for the shower or toilet. The location was very convenient for accessing all of the attractions and trams, and there were a number of restaurants and cafes within a five-minute walk. There is a grocery store on the same block. Good place if you are there to sleep at night and not expecting amenities to keep you entertained during the day. Our one frustration was that we were unable to connect to the wireless service at any point during our stay. The value was good, but not as good as other places we stayed during our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PonderosaPine_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

nice big room, quiet, great location. The breakfast was a little disappointing, not much choice. Staff very helpful. I did have a problem getting there with a heavy suitcase as directions to the hotel involved taking a tram whose route had been changed, so there was a long walk late at night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Fussy-from-Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Ok, let's get real. For a budget hotel near the centre of Amsterdam, this does exactly what it says on the tin. The owners were very polite, the breakfast was sufficient (cold meats, cheese, rolls, toast, cereal, boiled eggs) and the room was clean. It was everything we expected and great for a base to explore Amsterdam. Everywhere is only a tram ride away and we had no complaints at all.
If you're looking for luxury you won't find it here, but it suited us perfectly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raybrahms1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Hotel is very nice, good location, but the blocked on my card money (hotel's guarantee) is not unlocked yet (20 days gone)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,021 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#195 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#218 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#220 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Munck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Munck

Address: Achtergracht 3, 1017 WL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Munck 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel De Munck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Munck Hotel
De Munck Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#