We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”
Review of Hotel De Munck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Munck
Ranked #240 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is my first time to write a review in Trip Advisor, and I must say Hotel de Munck did a good job in leading me to do so. I chose Hotel de Munck for its nice location, and while I saw some not-so-good reviews in Trip Advisor, I decided to take a chance and booked it for an overnight trip in Amsterdam. I must share that if you care at all about good and reliable service, you may want to consider looking at AirB&B, or other options around the area that may provide you with better accommodation at the same price. They booked me for two nights when I asked for one, and upon arrival, they refused to let me just pay for one. Arriving on the weekend of a marathon where all other accommodation were booked, I had to ask them if I could at least have a discount for the second night which I wasn't using, and while they agreed on a 50% discount, I still was left feeling gyped by people who won't own up to their mistakes, and are really just interested in making money. So if you don't have a good sense of humor, and just want a relaxing weekend, I suggest you to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: It's okay to stay a bit far, Amsterdam is quite well connected
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheshireCub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    90
    68
    15
    14
See reviews for
32
42
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

If you are looking for a clean place to simply rest your head at nighttime and don't plan to spend a lot of time in the room, this hotel is a good option. It's reasonably close to the entertainment options in Central Amsterstam, i.e. a 10-15 minute walk to Dam Square and surrounded by lots of shops and restaurants. The biggest pro is definitely the location if you don't mind some healthy walking or biking to get around, which you'd have to do anyway. The customer service is good, the staff were nice and helpful. The free breakfast was much appreciated as well.

The condition of the room and the lobby area has room for improvement. When we walked into the rather shabby lobby which doubles as the eating area, there was an unpleasant smell and it was certainly not what we expected the lobby to look like. Our room was located in the building next to the lobby and there is a set of very steep and narrow stairs to climb to get into the building. The room itself was very basic and small, no frills at all, but that was to be expected. Reasonably clean except some mildew in the bathroom. It would have been nice if the TV worked better, it was all scrambled.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the lower floors during the hotter months because you will need to sleep with your wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is a good hotel in a location that allows easy acess to trams and reasonable walk to many landmarks. It is not fancy but clean. The price was not cheap but probably good value in comparison to other options. The back patio should be cleaned up to provide an additional comfortable area for guests.

Room Tip: Negotiate a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andiLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

My wife and I chose Hotel de Munck because it was the only place in the city that had a room for us, and so we were slightly concerned about what we would get. Fortunately, it turned out to be an amazingly sweet, decent little place for the low rate. Service was friendly and cleanliness was excellent. The included breakfast was humble and basic but perfectly good. Free wifi was thankfully there and very handy (but not advertised on the website).

It is directly across the street from a small park, one of the only parks in the city. An excellent coffee shop (Two For Joy) next door, and a grocery store in the same block are great conveniences. The location within the city overall is great: still in central Amsterdam, just far enough from the centre to be a bit quieter, especially at night, but still extremely close to major attractions. When we saw other hotels we’d tried to book, we thought, “Phew, glad we didn’t end up there: too urban and noisy!”

We had some minor quibbles, but all things that are just part of staying in a cheaper hotel in the heart of Amsterdam: for instance, noise from guests coming and going on creaky and noisy old doors was a bit hard to sleep through at times. And the park across the street feels just a little dodgy for a timid tourist after dark, with some local youth often hanging out and talking noisily, particularly favouring a small area directly in front of the hotel: a minor concern, but a bit unfortunate. And the free wifi, although it was great to have anything at all, was quite unreliable in the rooms: too far from a single router in the lobby, I think.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigCloits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Excellent location- a short tram ride from centraal station. If you're looking for a Cosy place away from the crowd (but not too far away) this is the place for you! It's quiet but too not quiet, busy but not too bustling.

Looked after our handluggage no problem whilst we waited a few hours for our room to be ready and on our last day before we flew home (nothing worse than having to lug round your rucksack everywhere!)

Owners welcoming but not intrusive, helpful and organised. Breakfasts-simple but just right.

All in all, perfect little place for people that can climb steep steps up to their room (completely normal for Amsterdam), who want to explore the city.

Go!!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaptisteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Found this hotel by chance, and so glad I did. Great location, in a typical Amsterdam street, very pretty. Just off Utrechtsestraat, which is a great little street with lovely restaurants, bars and shops, leading into Rembrandtplein. Conveniently located near Weesperplein metro station, and a number of trams. Friendly family run the place. It's basic, but perfect for being centrally located. Simple breakfast provided

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fido87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Hotel de Munck near the centrum, at great prices. Hotel owner and reception was friendly checking up on the needs of their visitors. Mostly smiling.. Like all locals of Amsterdam, they spoke perfect English. If you need anything to be arranged, make sure to ask during the morning / breakfast hours, as there is no one later to call a taxi or anything. Luckily, a taxi stop is about few hundred meters away, will take you to Centraal (train) station (10 euro), or Schipol Airport (40 euro).

I had made the reservations using credit card. What I found out when we were leaving, they charge additional 5 % over total cost (hotel stay+5% city tax) for using a charge card.

Hotel has multiple floors, but very narrow steep steps one needs to climb. Ask for lower floor if you have suitcases as it may be difficult to get up there.

Continental breakfast is included in room price. A pot of coffee or tea, white / wheat bread for toasting, rolls, butter, jam, sliced cheese, etc.A table with couple of chairs in front of the building, where one can sit, smoke, have a cup of coffee while watching the passerby.
A collection of longplay record covers are displayed on the walls of breakfast area, a working antique juke box has music choices from 60/70s.

First quad room on third floor was quiet, looking at the back of the building, and small interior garden, offered clean bedding, but didnt have any soap or anything, or enough towels for four. Perhaps they forgot to replace. We had our own, so we didnt mind, and did not ask for it. Second quad room we used on the first floor looking at the street was much nicer. Everything we didnt have in the other quad room, was included in this room. Unfortunately in the second room, we couldn't fall asleep due to running or dripping water sounds of the radiators all night.

Hotel is walking distance to everywhere one wants / needs to see in Amsterdam. Lots of trams running all day long as well.

Weather was not as great while we were in Amsterdam. On again / off again drizzling rain most of the week. But it didnt stop us wondering through the city, sitting at the cafes in the center. September in Amsterdam is wet, one needs some warm clothes to protect from the wind/rain.

Overall, I would recommend the place, good for groups / backpackers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Agora
Hotel Agora
#328 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#197 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#116 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Asterisk
#148 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#300 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#235 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Munck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Munck

Property: Hotel De Munck
Address: Achtergracht 3, 1017 WL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Munck 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel De Munck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Munck Hotel
De Munck Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing