We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, quiet place in the middle of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prinsengracht Hotel
Ranked #197 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet place in the middle of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Nice place located around the center of the Prinzengracht, with good tram access, on a quiet street. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful -- this is worth staying here alone. There is a lovely garden out back - quite a treat in a busy town like this. Our room had a nice view of the canal. The bathroom was clean and perfectly adequate. We had a room safe and a desk. I was pleasantly surprised to find they have an elevator, which is great considering how vertigo-inducing some Amsterdam stairwells can be, and is nice when you're travelling with an elderly parent.

We booked here at the last minute, so I did not do my research to see that they did not have A/C. Not uncommon for a small hotel in northern Europe, and normally not a problem. It was just really hot this month, there were mosquitoes (no screens, also not uncommon for northern Europe), and it also meant having the windows open at night on a weekend with a big street party going on. Also the mattress was really squishy and beat-down feeling. The rooms were tiny (barely room for both bed and suitcase). Other than that, though, everything was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    184
    85
    35
    24
See reviews for
58
175
58
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Perfect wee hotel for a few days in Amsterdam! Great location to walk to the main sites, extremely good service and lovely friendly staff! Nice big room too (think we were lucky), would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Asked for a view, got it. Great staff, clean room and bathrooms, quiet hotel. Very close to the city centre, about 5 minutes walking so it was an ideal spot as you could enjoy the calm canals at night or hit the busier streets 5 mins away.

Enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Prinsengracht Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your stay in our Hotel !
We hope to welcome you again in the near future as our guest.,
With kindest regards

E. Schreurs
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I would recommend this hotel. It is pretty functional but the garden is excellent. The staff were friendly and efficient.

If they read this I would thoroughly suggest getting fixed shower screens rather than shower curtains.

I would go back. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Prinsengracht Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.
Our garden is indeed a secret hideaway in Amsterdam You can relax there and enjoy a drink or even eat our breakfast.,

Thank yuo for your stay an we hope to welcome you again.

With kindest regards
E. Schreurs
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

2nd visit to this hotel - last time 2009, when i was impressed. Stayed for 2 days in July 2014 & observations - LOCATION - Excellent - reached in a 25 min walk from centraal station or No 16 or 24 tram to vitzelstraat. Hotel in quiet street. 10 - 15 mins walk to Dam Square RLD etc, 10 mins to leidseplien & only 5 to rembrant square.. ROOM - was a little dissapointed in this - single room on 5th floor (dont worry the hotel has a lift) - I know Amsterdam has small rooms due to type of buildings but this was very small - just enough room to walk to from bed / shower room & no more. Facilities kettle / safe (free), TV, shower room near the bed. This was the downside for me - the shower room had an extractor type fan noise all the time - even with the slide door shut, i could still hear this, even though i wore earplugs - very annoying. I spoke to staff but was advised it was automatic & could not be turned off. STAFF - Cant fault them , friendly & polite at all times. CLEANLINESS - Seemed OK, however, I noticed 2 large bites on my arms on day 2 - difficult to know where they came from - the bedsheets looked clean - may have came from the rear smoking yard, where mosquitos couldve been far more in number due to it being very hot days. I told reception staff about this - they didnt have any incect repellent to hand but for a short stay i wasnt too concerned. PRICE - £136 room only - fair but next time for the same money, id probably look at other hotels which seemed more modern, a little further away & offered breakfast in the deal. OVERALL - a nice place & definatly worth a quick stay & see what you think..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICKGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Prinsengracht Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.
The single room on the 5th floor is small but has the nice view on the garden. We will take care off the noise and if we can reduce the noise a litlle bit. But I am afraid it is the ventilator which subtracts the condens in the shower. so litlle can be done.

We still hope we can welcome you as our guest in the future.

With kindest regards
E. Schreurs
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights solo before moving to another city to meet family. I stayed in single room # 106 which was small but with a good sized bathroom. The great feature about this room was that there was an access door to the quiet rear courtyard with greenery all around and patio chairs to relax. They serve breakfast at tables set up in the courtyard (as well as indoors) but the courtyard was usually vacant during the day and evening. There is a small cottage at the rear of the courtyard that must be for families or groups. It was a wonderful oasis escape from the busy city all around. The staff is very helpful and since you must leave your key when you go out, they are at the reception desk at all hours. Location is good especially with a bike where you can get around this incredible city easily.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlovincanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#193 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#181 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#143 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#189 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsengracht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsengracht Hotel

Property: Prinsengracht Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsengracht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prinsengracht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam
Hampshire Hotel Prinsengracht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing