We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prinsengracht Hotel
Ranked #190 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Perfect wee hotel for a few days in Amsterdam! Great location to walk to the main sites, extremely good service and lovely friendly staff! Nice big room too (think we were lucky), would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    189
    86
    35
    24
See reviews for
61
178
58
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Asked for a view, got it. Great staff, clean room and bathrooms, quiet hotel. Very close to the city centre, about 5 minutes walking so it was an ideal spot as you could enjoy the calm canals at night or hit the busier streets 5 mins away.

Enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Prinsengracht Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your stay in our Hotel !
We hope to welcome you again in the near future as our guest.,
With kindest regards

E. Schreurs
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I would recommend this hotel. It is pretty functional but the garden is excellent. The staff were friendly and efficient.

If they read this I would thoroughly suggest getting fixed shower screens rather than shower curtains.

I would go back. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Prinsengracht Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.
Our garden is indeed a secret hideaway in Amsterdam You can relax there and enjoy a drink or even eat our breakfast.,

Thank yuo for your stay an we hope to welcome you again.

With kindest regards
E. Schreurs
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

2nd visit to this hotel - last time 2009, when i was impressed. Stayed for 2 days in July 2014 & observations - LOCATION - Excellent - reached in a 25 min walk from centraal station or No 16 or 24 tram to vitzelstraat. Hotel in quiet street. 10 - 15 mins walk to Dam Square RLD etc, 10 mins to leidseplien & only 5 to rembrant square.. ROOM - was a little dissapointed in this - single room on 5th floor (dont worry the hotel has a lift) - I know Amsterdam has small rooms due to type of buildings but this was very small - just enough room to walk to from bed / shower room & no more. Facilities kettle / safe (free), TV, shower room near the bed. This was the downside for me - the shower room had an extractor type fan noise all the time - even with the slide door shut, i could still hear this, even though i wore earplugs - very annoying. I spoke to staff but was advised it was automatic & could not be turned off. STAFF - Cant fault them , friendly & polite at all times. CLEANLINESS - Seemed OK, however, I noticed 2 large bites on my arms on day 2 - difficult to know where they came from - the bedsheets looked clean - may have came from the rear smoking yard, where mosquitos couldve been far more in number due to it being very hot days. I told reception staff about this - they didnt have any incect repellent to hand but for a short stay i wasnt too concerned. PRICE - £136 room only - fair but next time for the same money, id probably look at other hotels which seemed more modern, a little further away & offered breakfast in the deal. OVERALL - a nice place & definatly worth a quick stay & see what you think..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICKGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Prinsengracht Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.
The single room on the 5th floor is small but has the nice view on the garden. We will take care off the noise and if we can reduce the noise a litlle bit. But I am afraid it is the ventilator which subtracts the condens in the shower. so litlle can be done.

We still hope we can welcome you as our guest in the future.

With kindest regards
E. Schreurs
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights solo before moving to another city to meet family. I stayed in single room # 106 which was small but with a good sized bathroom. The great feature about this room was that there was an access door to the quiet rear courtyard with greenery all around and patio chairs to relax. They serve breakfast at tables set up in the courtyard (as well as indoors) but the courtyard was usually vacant during the day and evening. There is a small cottage at the rear of the courtyard that must be for families or groups. It was a wonderful oasis escape from the busy city all around. The staff is very helpful and since you must leave your key when you go out, they are at the reception desk at all hours. Location is good especially with a bike where you can get around this incredible city easily.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlovincanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Just got back from a three night stay here. The room was in the eaves on the top floor, a little bit tatty and tired looking but with a great view over the canal. The room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable; the room was also very quiet even with the window open. The location was utterly superb, handy for Rembrandt Square, the Heineken Experience, Canal Cruise and the Riksmuseum. The staff were very pleasant and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#210 of 368 in Amsterdam
141 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#189 of 368 in Amsterdam
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Asterisk
#148 of 368 in Amsterdam
441 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#147 of 368 in Amsterdam
392 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#116 of 368 in Amsterdam
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsengracht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsengracht Hotel

Property: Prinsengracht Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsengracht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Prinsengracht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam
Hampshire Hotel Prinsengracht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing