We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location But Over Priced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Ranked #197 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location But Over Priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel was was in a great location. The suite we rented was dated and needs some fresheining up. There is a nice court yard. There was no ice available as the ice machine was broken. For the price I think there is better value available.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dera Guest,

Thank you for your review. Indeed at some times in Amsterdam the prices are very high. To pay less you better reserve diectly with us which saves you at least 10% and our breakfast is reduced in price for you.

Also reserve long time before your stay so we can make you a good offer!

Indeed when is it very busy in Amsterdam the prices can go up, sorry.

Still we hope that we can welcome you again as our guest in our Hotel.
Best Regards
E. Schreurs
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    172
    83
    33
    22
See reviews for
54
163
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Amazing location, not too far from most attraction. View is so good too looking over a canal. Good garden in the back to chill.
Room was OK but a bit too small for the price paid also could have been a bit cleaner!
Also slightly too noisy because windows are not double glazed

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RafTheDentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel on business and what a great little hotel it is. Our room was very spacious clean and tidy. Staff very helpful and friendly. Nice quite area but not to far out from the center. Would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Delaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Nice and quiet hotel. Helpful front desk staff. We had two rooms with private baths, but on different floors: one very comfortable, but the other one was small with a tiny bathroom. I guess that is not unusual, but the rates shouldn't be the same! The good thing is that it's in the heart of Amsterdam! Walking distance from anywhere we wanted to go. We appreciate all the help from the front desk sir on the night we arrived.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAMS31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Our family of 3 people stayed in this hotel for couple of days. We lived in a small garden house (with birds singing on the trees) with two bedrooms. Shared bathroom is a disadvantage - you need to lock it from both sides. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonidx87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, it's very close to museum square, about 5min walk, and I was staying at the top floor, from the room can have beautiful canal view.
However the hotel is very bad valued, it costs 170+ Europe per night but the room is fairly tiny, the breakfast costs 12+ Europe but simply nothing much. It came to the worst part was the hidden cost. I booked this one from booking.com, when I checked out the stuff declared there was additional 5.5% city tax which I didn't question it but after that I was staying at a few other hotels in the city none of them was the case and booking.com supposed to include everything already - so it's cheating!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lemonlike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I had opted for this hotel based on some positive reviews I had read on trip advisor but was completely underwhelmed by my stay. The room was adeqate but I was surprised to find the two small pillows on the bed were stained, the large pillow was dusty as were the light fittings (they were thick with dust). There was the odd small brown stain on the walls and in the bath room a hole under the sink filled in with what looked like plastic bags. There was a menu advertised but on the first day when I enquired they said they didn't have any food and on the second, they said the sandwhich toaster wasn't working. I've actually had that before in hotels and it's a bit insulting. How isn't the sandwich toaster working? Blown fuse? The location is very handy but a canal side hotel in central Amsterdam could and should try a lot harder. Fairly disappointing. Aside from the great location, I'm not sure I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve372014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Eigenaar at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear guest,

we are sorry to hear that your stay was not to your expectations. We have spoken to our cleaning staff and we will look after this. This is also not our standard. For the meals, indeed when you were in our hotel the toast machine was not working but we have bought a new one also we have changed our small dinner meals.
Next time when you visist us we would like you to offer you a free dinner in our restaurant and a complimentary upgrade for your room.
Thank you very much for this review which we used to improve our service level.

With kindest regards
Ed Schreurs
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#183 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#139 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#175 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Hotel Asterisk
#149 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Address: Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam
Hampshire Hotel Prinsengracht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing