We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Terrible experience!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Ranked #199 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible experience!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We've booked this hotel as they were offering rooms canal view and apparently nice and for 310 euro a night we got a room in the basement , under the stair closed to the toilets and the elevator ... the room was 6 square meters ( my husband has measured it) . The bathroom was horrible and without window or air system and the humidity was so hight the all the room stinked.

When we've asked to change room the person at the reception said that ours was a "standard" room..

I highy suggest to avoid this hotel or to accept it only in case of emergency making sure that the rate they ask you is not more than 90 euro at night.. which is the maximum value for what you get...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrizia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    165
    80
    33
    19
See reviews for
47
159
50
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The rooms are small and I did experience the bathroom as inadequately small.
The bed mattress is made from plane material and does not offer the support I need.
The great thing about this hotel is its location; its not in the noisy part of Amsterdam. That's just around the corners in almost almost any direction.
Last but not least; the staff is just very nice and that makes it just a little more personal.
When you're on a budget and not too demanding with respect to hotel facilities this hotel can be an excellent choice for you.
I had to pay a lot during a busy period in Amsterdam and then it is just not making the rating this hotel probably deserves.

Room Tip: Get a garden room, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hans_hasselbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The staff is very kind and helpful,the rooms are quiet and clean,the location(Prinsengracht,hello!) is beautiful and you can reach all the "hot spots" simply by walking!
I will surely come back next time I'm in the city!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenix4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
182 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fine hotel. Not a 'grand' one, but a very pleasant place to stay right on the Prinsengracht. Finely efficient and highly friendly reception. The lobby area is not really big but has a spacious sense about it.
Small lift took me to my narrow but surprisingly 'roomy' bedroom. Spic-and-span clean. Everything you need for a day or two. Good TV; fine WiFi, small but immaculate bathroom (shower). Comfortable bed. Coffee and tea facilities. Good, light occluding drapes. My view from the third floor was of the nicely green garden.
Breakfast restaurant was fine.
Prices all around were very reasonable.
All in all a very pleasant place!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel for quietude!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in August of 2012 and the best thing about this hotel is the location and the price. It is a very affordable place to stay but the rooms are very small. Pretty much everything is walking distance but Amsterdam also has great public transport if you are going somewhere further away. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking to save money and don't care about staying somewhere fancy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgeorg421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Excellent hotel, to me 3 times are pleasant, stop in it already, but unpleasant incident surprised me this time - stole from the safe 300 euros. I left the hidden camera of supervision in a look a brelka, now I try to open files. Though, certainly it won't help, in hotel told that theft from the safe is impossible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Taras K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel seems to be an older residence converted into a hotel. We had 4 people and were given adjoining rooms back in the garden. Very simple, very quaint, very quiet. The garden was very nice.

Entrance is small and narrow with stairs so large luggage can be difficult, but it's only half a flight so not too bad.

Staff was friendly. Hotel was in easy walking distance of most of the attractions we came to see.

Room Tip: Ask for the garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DukeCrunchySocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#163 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#162 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#148 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#136 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Address: Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam
Hampshire Hotel Prinsengracht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing