We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent position!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prinsengracht Hotel
Ranked #197 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent position!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The staff is very kind and helpful,the rooms are quiet and clean,the location(Prinsengracht,hello!) is beautiful and you can reach all the "hot spots" simply by walking!
I will surely come back next time I'm in the city!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenix4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    186
    85
    35
    24
See reviews for
59
176
58
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
208 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Fine hotel. Not a 'grand' one, but a very pleasant place to stay right on the Prinsengracht. Finely efficient and highly friendly reception. The lobby area is not really big but has a spacious sense about it.
Small lift took me to my narrow but surprisingly 'roomy' bedroom. Spic-and-span clean. Everything you need for a day or two. Good TV; fine WiFi, small but immaculate bathroom (shower). Comfortable bed. Coffee and tea facilities. Good, light occluding drapes. My view from the third floor was of the nicely green garden.
Breakfast restaurant was fine.
Prices all around were very reasonable.
All in all a very pleasant place!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel for quietude!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in August of 2012 and the best thing about this hotel is the location and the price. It is a very affordable place to stay but the rooms are very small. Pretty much everything is walking distance but Amsterdam also has great public transport if you are going somewhere further away. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking to save money and don't care about staying somewhere fancy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgeorg421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Excellent hotel, to me 3 times are pleasant, stop in it already, but unpleasant incident surprised me this time - stole from the safe 300 euros. I left the hidden camera of supervision in a look a brelka, now I try to open files. Though, certainly it won't help, in hotel told that theft from the safe is impossible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Taras K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel seems to be an older residence converted into a hotel. We had 4 people and were given adjoining rooms back in the garden. Very simple, very quaint, very quiet. The garden was very nice.

Entrance is small and narrow with stairs so large luggage can be difficult, but it's only half a flight so not too bad.

Staff was friendly. Hotel was in easy walking distance of most of the attractions we came to see.

Room Tip: Ask for the garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DukeCrunchySocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is very small with the very basic facilities, but it still has what you need. It is located in the beautiful Prinsengracht street, so you are near good shopping streets and the city centre. It was quiet during night even though I had a view to the canal from my window. Everything is pretty old and pretty small, but it is a pretty good hotel to stay in. It's pretty expensive for what you get, but I think it's like that for all hotels in Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinstarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#199 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#184 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#147 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#190 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsengracht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsengracht Hotel

Property: Prinsengracht Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsengracht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Prinsengracht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam
Hampshire Hotel Prinsengracht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing