We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you for a great Holliday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prinsengracht Hotel
Ranked #173 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We just came back after staying in this nice small hotel 4 nights. The location is great, staff is helpful, room was big enough for two adults and two small children ages 4&7 . We allow suffered from a mosquito attack and the bathroom needs a bit of fixing plus it could be a bit more clean.I will recommend this hotel as we only came back to the room vary late and used the room only for sleeping, you will find a super market and bagel store around the corner

Room Tip: Try the reserant near the hotel de fles I think it is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Prinsengracht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your stay in our Hotel. Hopefully we can welcome you again as our guest an make your holliday as pleassant as the last one. We will try to keep the musquito's away but the room is on the canal side and with the beautifull wheater it can happen that some musquitos are in your room. At the reception we have a special spray for it so next time you can use it.

with kindest regards, and till next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 454 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

I had a tiny room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. It would have been more suited as a store room.I could touch both walls with outstretched arms and the room smelt of damp.The room was quiet so I did get a good nights sleep. Tiny TV and very small, very dark bathroom. I was in Amsterdam for queens night so the rate was also high as expected, however under normal circumstances I would ask to be moved or would have checked out there and then and found another hotel. Staff were friendly but I would not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get the room at the rear of the hotel on the ground floor that backs onto the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinA244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Prinsengracht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear sir,
Thank you for your review! all reviews are checked carefully and we appricate the reviews.
sorry to read that your room was not up to your standards, we try to please all our guest. We also have superior rooms and not the small standard rooms with you reserved. This year we will have a closer look at all our rooms so we can upgrade all rooms to a higher standard.

We hope we can welcome you again than as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel was in a great location. Could walk pretty much anywhere in Amsterdam from here. It's located on a fairly quiet street right in front of a canal.

Hotel itself was slightly older, but can't expect a new hotel in an old city. Rooms were slightly small but comfortable since I'm small. My 6'1" friend did not find it as comfortable though. Bathroom was quite dated and very dim. The lighting could have been better. Did not expect a luxury hotel for the price we paid.

One weird thing is that they lock the front door after 10pm or something like that. You have to ring the bell for someone to come let you into the hotel.

Good stay overall. I would recommend this if you are looking for an affordable hotel that is close to everything and not a hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbbalonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Overall, had a good stay here, unfortunately mosquitos managed to get in the open window and before we realised it they managed to inflict a few nasty bites. We were in room 402, suggest you keep the windows closed to avoid them although with only a fan for air conditioning it could get a bit uncomfortable on warm summer nights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, General Manager at Prinsengracht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Sorry to hear from the mosquito attack. This happens when the windows are open and you are close to the fresh water like the beautifull Prinsengracht.
We can provide a anti mosquito spray at the reception next time.

Thank you fro your review and we hope to welcome you some other time in the future as our guest.

Best regards
Hampshire Prinsengracht hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location. Halfway between museums, shopping and the main tourist areas. Extremely pleasant staff and a lovely breakfast ( we ate outside on the terrace). Off the beaten path so you can escape the faster pace. I would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettynugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Owner at Prinsengracht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your nice review . We hope that we can welcome you some time again as our guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Very friendly and intimate hotel. The staff is extremely helpful. The breakfast is good.
The location of the hotel is great, overlooking the canal in the middle of Amsterdam centre!
Real value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank GohSiewKim
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#187 of 372 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#209 of 372 in Amsterdam
152 reviews
Hotel Asterisk
#144 of 372 in Amsterdam
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#176 of 372 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsengracht Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsengracht Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $100 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prinsengracht Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prinsengracht Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam
Hampshire Hotel Prinsengracht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing