We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got extremely lucky!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vijaya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vijaya
Ranked #300 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We got extremely lucky!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for five nights. When we arrived we were early for check in so had to wait a while.

Whilst waiting we heard two different groups of people complaining about bed bugs. We did not experience this ourselves thankfully but the hotel itself was really dirty. There was crap everywhere, essentially the halls were used for storage which was not neat.

When we were checking in the hotel staff Tommy (who was great) advised us that there is a room with canal views available but we would just have to wait a bit longer until it is ready. Thank every God known to man for that. That made our stay at the hotel bearable. Sitting out of the window was perfect. The alternative would have been a same size room with a view of some mouldy building. It honestly wouldn't be worth staying there unless you get a canal view room or you will be too intoxicated to care.

The bed was great and a cleaner came in everyday to provide new towels. The room needed a vacuum though and anyone sensitive to dust should stay away.

The bathroom would be perfect for oompa loompas. I am six foot it took around a minute for me to sort out an angle to sit on the toilet or get in the shower.

It is worth mentioning this hotel is not suitable for the unfit the elderly etc walking up those stairs with suitcases felt like I would be arriving at Olympus to meet Zeus.

Breakfast was average: Salami, Ham, Cheese, Boiled Eggs. For what we paid I was expecting more.

Also the most frustrating part of this hotel experience is the false advertising. It is COMPLETELY different to what is described and also shown in pictures.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    143
    218
    69
    100
See reviews for
47
112
79
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is in very easy walking distance from the main railway station (about 7 minutes). Very central location, ideal for a short stay. Breakfast available which is a plus. Very basic so don't expect luxury but en suite was suitable. 4 of us shared a room which was ok for such a short trip but a great location for walking to many places of interest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I've stayed in the Vijaya on many occasions over the last few years and would happily recommend it if you are looking for somewhere right in the City centre and reasonably priced.

It's basic and a little dated but its always clean. The rooms are small but you're in Amsterdam after all, ALL the rooms are small.

It's not perfect but if you're looking for somewhere to simply use as a base, throw your stuff and sleep its perfect.

Room Tip: If you can cope with the noise at night get a room at the front of the hotel you'll have a brill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magamar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The room was very comfortable,clean and located in the center of the city .the hotel Is next to train station about 10 minutes on foot or 5 minutes with car. The only problem was the stairs , are small and we had problem with our baggage.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savvas_taverna_emp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were 4 girls who didn't want to take taxis every where so we chose a hotel in the heart of dam. This hotel was brilliant for what we paid and the location.
Breakfast wasn't good but I didn't much anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have lost track of the number of times I have stopped at this great little hotel!

The staff are always very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are en-suite, which at this price is unbelievable!. It looks like they've done a couple of modifications since the last time I came - the first thing I noticed in my room was the new shower screen, instead of the old curtain... I've been in this particular room more than once and found the whole experience quite a breath of fresh air!

The central location is very helpful - close to all the action and within easy reach of some great Restaurants (Cafe Batavia)... Rooms are always clean, the breakfast (free) is basic but better than nothing!! Oh and it's included, so... why not? And free WIFI as well - great!

I shall continue using this fine little hotel for the foreseeable future - as I said, it's cheaper than places I've stayed at that were utterly horrendous in comparison!!!

Great facilities, great location, great staff. Can't ask for much more than that really!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveTheBear1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#247 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#306 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#186 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#223 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#244 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#291 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vijaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vijaya

Property: Hotel Vijaya
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 44, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vijaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Vijaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vijaya Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing