We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and view of the canals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Bridges Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Bridges Hotel
Save
You added Seven Bridges Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #50 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and view of the canals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

This is a small B&B run by really nice people, in an excellent location right in the city center. Some of the rooms overlook the canal, which is really nice. The rooms are different in size and with different amnesties in each room. This can be improved - some rooms don't even have basic tea facilities while others have much more and even a fridge. That's why I found the basic rooms to be overpriced. Nevertheless, I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others, just check on their website about room details before you book - they have detailed photos of each room. Note that stairs are really steep and narrow, and climbing them (especially with a suitcase) might be a problem for some.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al1465234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    115
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
60
458
55
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This is a nice, clean, comfortable Bed & Breakfast located beside a canal and in a quiet area of the City near to Centre.

It is not a Hotel which can be expected to have many other facilities such as Doormen, Parking, places to sit outside etc. The room was comfortable and well decorated with a small TV (poor programmes) and small fridge. I thought it was overpriced.

Amesterdam, well what can you say about this dirty, overcrowded canal City. The food was generally awful and expensive, hordes of people everywhere you went which made visiting any attraction a challenge. The Canal Boats are quaint as are the bridges but once you have seen one thats it.

Best part was hiring cycles to get around, try McBike, good machines but overall this city makes you appreciate your own country and it cleanliness, good food and attractions.

The 'tat' that we saw in antigue shops, the grotty Red Light area we stumble into on our way back to the Railway Station and the dirt and squalor of the various centres made us glad to see the back of the City.

Do not go there unless you wish to meet hordes of people and spend money on overpriced items.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robocop646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvercal10
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Not knowing anything about the city, we booked this hotel recommended by a friend who had stayed there a number of times.

It's a quaint home converted into about 12 hotel rooms. Every room is different. They are all relatively spacious (for Europe) and they all have airconditioning!

They bring a nice breakfast to your room everyday between 8 and 9. They staff is very accommodating and helped numerous times with restaurant reservations.

One thing to be aware of is that there is no elevator and the stairways are steep and narrow. Not a problem for the young and fit, but if you have problems walking or climbing stairs, I'd look someplace else.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvercal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We weren't sure what to expect on our first trip to Amsterdam but we absolutely loved this hotel. The staff was extremely personable and seemed to take a genuine interest in serving us. The room was clean and nice-sized (by European standards), and the view onto the Canal was wonderful. As for the breakfasts delivered to us each morning, well, they set a new standard for both breakfast and service. We felt completely spoiled ... and loved every second of it. The breads were tremendous, especially some kind of currant bun that was out of this world, and we liked that there was a different fruit each day. We were afraid there might not be enough; we need not have worried. We were even able to make lunches from all of the food.

Another perk was how quiet the hotel was; we couldn't hear anyone else, although we know that others were staying there. And the location is out of this world. There are some terrific restaurants a mere block and a half away, and yet the street itself is wonderfully quiet at night.

We would stay here again in a second. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duluthian57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. The location is fantastic, and all the action of rembrandtplein is just a few minutes walk away. The museumplein is also not too far away and it's a slightly longer but beautiful walk there. The biggest problem you will have is finding the hotel when you arrive in amsterdam. So unless you are taking a taxi, get direction before you arrive.

The room was charming and original. The wifi was good, and if you don't have a computer you can borrow one of their laptops for a bit. Overall a very satisfying experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denver_Js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This is a beautiful, characterful and friendly hotel in a great central location and ideal for couples looking for a romantic holiday in this charming city. Each room is different, furnished with lovely antiques but also featuring modern appliances like LCD TV's, a small fridge, a radio and hair dryer. There is no dining room but breakfast can be served at your room. The only thing to be aware of are the narrow and very steep stairs to the upper floors, typical of these old Amsterdam houses, adding to its charm, unless you less able to walk very well of course. But the managers/owners take great pride (as they rightly should) in this hotel and the service they offer and I can't see anyone being disappointed in their choice. For a quieter night, maybe ask for the less scenic but quieter garden view...the canal view can have noisy boats going up and down at night with party groups on board. But as the other reviews say, this is probably one of the best B&B style hotels in town...enjoy, we did!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_fensome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I was very happy with my decision to stay at the Seven Bridges Hotel. The location in the canal district is ideal - easy walking to popular attractions, Breakfast every morning was great, with very generous portions. The owners and staff are friendly and available. Finally, the room/bed was large and comfortable As a solo, female traveler, I felt safe. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lahernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#87 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,332 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Bridges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Bridges Hotel

Property: Seven Bridges Hotel
Address: Reguliersgracht 31, 1017 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Bridges Hotel is a 300 year old charming canal house at the beautiful confluence of two canals in the historic heart of Amsterdam. Character and atmosphere are created by individually decorated stylish rooms: precious antiques from Baroque, Louis XVI, Empire, Biedermeier to Art Deco, from Sotheby's and Christie's; oriental carpets on wooden floors; handcrafted marquetry furniture - mirrors, tables, beds by a Dutch artisan. Welcome to charm, sophistication and a beautiful ambience inside and outside. The hotel now has AIR CONDITIONING - in all but the "cool" rooms 3 and A. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Hotel Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Seven Bridges Hotel Amsterdam
7 Bridges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing