We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Still the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seven Bridges Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Bridges Hotel
Ranked #55 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just been back for our third visit to Hotel Seven Bridges in last 20 years. It is still a great place to stay, beautiful old canal house, quirky style, excellent service. We stayed for 5 nights in Suite C, in a separate canal house (first floor) but still part of the hotel. Brought our granddaughter this time and suite suited us perfectly as we had a separate bedroom and she had comfy sofabed in living area (which overlooks the canal). There is even a proper fridge which was very useful. It felt like our own little apartment. We love this place and will return.

Room Tip: Suite C is excellent for families and for those who like canal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    115
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
61
461
59
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is on a quiet street just 10 minutes walk from most attractions.
It's a traditional Amsterdam canal house so as other reviews say travel light and look for somewhere else if stairs are a problem
If not and you don't need breakfast at the hotel (there's a Starbucks or Hema for coffee, croissant and sandwich @ €1.50 within 5 minutes walk) then book now
Staff friendly, room 5 has great canal views, air con and a good size shower. Just remember some anti mosquito spray / devices if you'll want to open the windows.
Wide choice of restaurants on Utrechtstraat, next street over. Various bars and restaurants in Rembrandtsplein

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SKALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This excellent BB is very well located close to Rembrandt Square, within 15-30 min distance from almost all the main places to be seen in Amsterdam, in the middle of the very attractive area of canals. The 3 main Museums can be reached by feet in 20' and the hotel is very easily and directly joined by tram from the train station in 15 minutes (just 150 meters to walk along the canal). It is placed in a very quite and wealthy area, a very romantic place to stay in. It is also close to many restaurants and bars to enjoy your stay at best (we particularly recommend the Italian restaurant at 50 meters). The Seven Bridges hotel is a lovely place furnished with real antique furniture, clean, warm, and welcoming, with very kind and helpful owners. If needs be, a continental Breakfast can be served in your room (or on the terrace if you are like us in Room 5 and if the weather permits). We stayed only 2 nights at the end of August 2013 and consider that the hotel played a very important role in our enjoyment of this trip in NL. We will have no hesitation in going back to Seven Bridges during our next WE in Amsterdam, we are already impatient to be there.
Gilles and Catherine

Room Tip: Not to be recommended for disabled persons if you get rooms in the upper levels (very narrow stairs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilles e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the townhouse connected to the Hotel Seven Bridges in Canal Suite C, so it was not in the main building. This only meant that they couldn't provide breakfast in your room as they do for the main townhouse. On the other hand, being in a separate townhouse without the front desk made us feel like we had our own place in Amsterdam. The view is fantastic over the canal and the street is peaceful. The service and location were all excellent. In the Canal Suite C we had a large living room with couch and table for two by the window overlooking the canal, plus a small bedroom and bathroom. The stairs up to the Suite are very steep, but you expect that in Amsterdam. I highly recommend this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to look at all the rooms on their website to choose exactly what you want. Each room has its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanneClaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Spent 4 nights at Seven Bridges. If you want atmosphere, a quiet retreat, and superb service, book Garden Room 5. Excellent location overlooking canal is a great spot from which to walk to all sights in Amsterdam. We walked to Ann Frank House, the Jordaan, Van Gogh and Rijksmuseums, the Bloemenmarkt, Dam Square, etc. Close to restaurants and tram, too. Avoid the tourists and experience the real Amsterdam. FYI. The Coffee Shop next Door is definitely not an issue.

Room Tip: Garden Room 5 is spacious and decorated with antiques. Private outdoor terrace. Modern bathroom. Gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We recently stayed 5 nights in Suite C at the Seven Bridges Hotel in Amsterdam. It came highly recommended by a friend, and we now agree. The hotel is located at the intersection of several canals amidst several quiet tree lined streets. It was so sedate and lovely. We did not stay in the main building, but in a building two doors down in which there are several "suites" sitting rooms. As a result, there is no breakfast served in these rooms, so I cannot comment on that, as I have seen in other reviews.

Our room was lovely and spacious for European lodgings. The room was decorated in an eclectic style with some lovely antiques. The bed was memory foam, and SO comfortable. Now I want to buy one for myself. Linens soft, good pillows. It is a unique place with it's own style - you will NOT feel like you are in a cookie cutter hotel, but a lovely apartment of your own on a quiet canal.

The room had a tub/shower, WIFI, TV (didn't use), phone, small refrig, and hairdryer. The owner was helpful with getting us settled and arranging cabs when we needed them. We did not stay in the main building, as I mentioned, so I don't know how much he is around in the main house. We really felt like we were staying in our own apartment, but he was very helpful when needed. They did come and make beds/clean each day. I agree - the stairs to the suite are incredibly steep! But we got used to it, and had help from the owner with our baggage when needed. I don't think you'll find anything different in any other of the canal houses in the area - possibly better in larger hotels.

I will say, the location was great. Amsterdam is small, so most things are within walking distance. That being said, we were a 5 minute walk to Rembrandplein (plaza), where there is apparently some good nightlife (we did not partake), 10 minutes to the Museum Campus, 5 minutes to another street along the Amstel where there seemed to be a lot of restaurants frequented by locals, and 15 minutes from "downtown" Amsterdam. We loved walking the outer canals (Prinzengracht, Herengracht, Kierzergracht) and just finding things - cute shops and restaurants. The river life was fun to watch as well.

GREAT restaurant nearby on Prinzengracht - Buffet Van Odette. Fixed menu on Mondays and a la carte otherwise. Fare is light and fresh and delicious, and you can sit outside and watch the life on the Prinzengracht canal go by as you dine. We went TWICE, and would have gone more if we had been there longer. Can't say enough good things about it. We also rented bikes from Mike's Bikes (5 mins away on Kerkerstraat?), and managed to survive the crazy traffic life (mostly bikes) of Amsterdam. Was useful when we really wanted to go way across town. But a little harrowing. Near Mike's Bikes was a great little epicure/food shop called Stach - great sandwiches, fresh packaged salads, drinks, cheeses, pastries, cookies etc. And a cool soup place across the street. There's a Starbucks down on Rembrandtplein.

If you like to have a more personal experience when you travel, as opposed to staying in a hotel where the decor does not reflect the culture, this is the place for you! We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The suites in the adjacent building are more like little apartments -very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erreeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

In a superb location, by a quiet tree lined canal, walking distance to trams, some great restaurants, friendly staff, rooms with real character. The most comfortable bed ever. Stayed in room 4, I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthEssexHeadlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#88 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,588 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Bridges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Bridges Hotel

Property: Seven Bridges Hotel
Address: Reguliersgracht 31, 1017 LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Bridges Hotel is a 300 year old charming canal house at the beautiful confluence of two canals in the historic heart of Amsterdam. Character and atmosphere are created by individually decorated stylish rooms: precious antiques from Baroque, Louis XVI, Empire, Biedermeier to Art Deco, from Sotheby's and Christie's; oriental carpets on wooden floors; handcrafted marquetry furniture - mirrors, tables, beds by a Dutch artisan. Welcome to charm, sophistication and a beautiful ambience inside and outside. The hotel now has AIR CONDITIONING - in all but the "cool" rooms 3 and A. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Hotel Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Seven Bridges Hotel Amsterdam
7 Bridges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing