We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Ranked #12 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

I've been to Amsterdam 4 times, 3 of which were for pleasure and I've stated here twice. This hotel is totally awesome and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants somewhere close to the central train station and a budget hotel that is like a posh hostel. The food they serve here is great and cheap. The hotel is located just on the edge of the red light district and it's also right next to an Irish pub if you like that kind of thing. The rooms are all unique and very clean.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Prilly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hey,
Thanks for the feedback. We've never been called "posh" before and we all had a bit of a laugh about it, but we'll take it as a compliment, as we know that our facilities are a bit more than you usually get in your run-of-the-mill hostels elsewhere ; )
Either way, we're pleased that we lived up to your expectations and you are more than welcome to come back and visit us any time,
Cheers for now,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    472
    143
    53
    44
See reviews for
17
248
203
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay here, but my first solo and the Winston didn't disappoint. Centrally located, clean and it's got a great laid back atmosphere which makes it awesome for meeting people. The Belushi's bar is a great place to knock back a few beers/jägers. The staff are friendly and approachable, helping you get the most out of your stay. Which is something I've found at the other St. Christophers locations I've stayed at.

All in all, this place is awesome. Definitely stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Hello,
We're really pleased that enjoyed yourself both as a solo traveler, and as part of a group. And we're really pleased that you took the time to tell us about it as well.
Seems like you spent some quality time in our bar too, which is what we like to see. And looks like you even sampled one of our the local delicacies too - Jager ; )
Glad you've had the chance to check out some of our other sites too. Make sure you book via our own website to get discounts on accommodation if you're planning a multi-city trip,
Until next time,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here in October last year for the Half-Marathon. Great selection of food and drink, friendly staff and all the mod cons for tourists with internet access, great storage facilities and simple check in/out procedures. Plenty of choice for breakfast and located near the train station, trams and busy shopping and café district. We booked a double room and en-suite rooms were modest but ideal for our needs and stylishly designed.

Will definitely return. Would recommend this hotel for backpackers and friends looking for somewhere affordable with all the perks of a hotel.

Room Tip: En-suite was a little more but well worth the investment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobThomason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hey. Thanks for writing. The Amsterdam Half-Marathon was a lot of fun for everyone here in the city and we're glad we were able to help you enjoy it. We're sure nothing can beat a good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast if you're going to be running 21km the next day ; ) Take care and maybe see you for next year's race
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asiago, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

A group of 8 (3 girls, 5 guys) of us went to Amsterdam for 3 days in March and had the greatest time! I love this party hostel and when traveling with a large group of friends it is perfect! We stayed in an 8 person room, which was nice that there was 8 of us and we didn't stay with people we didn't know, although you can probably meet some awesome people that way and have the best time of your life!

The beds are bunk beds so they are not that comfortable but when your just looking for a place to crash after a long night of partying it works out great! The room had one shower for us to share and in a separate part with one toilet. so at least they weren't together! There was also lock boxes under the bunk beds so if you bring a lock you could put all your valuables in there. The hostel was very centrally located! It was also very reasonable priced!

The bar attached was amazing! Played the best rock n' roll music and we spent a lot of time there just drinking and the food was also really good too! The breakfast provided to us was very good and healthy, typical european breakfast spread! Which I really liked! People that weren't even staying at the hostel would come to the bar to party! it was always packed at night!

I would recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam with friends and looking to have a good time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaRose51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hey Amanda,
Great of you to write such a detailed review for us. It really seems like you and your crew were a good fit to our style here at The Winston. Awesome that you appreciated our playlists too. We put our hearts and souls into our music and nice that you noticed.
You're welcome back anytime in our hostel and our bar so don't be a stranger!
Thanks again,
Take care Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The best thing about this place is the location. A short walk from the Central Station, just around the corner of Dam Square. The lively Warmoestraat outside and the Red Light Disctrict behind it. The Hostel is all right, but nothing special. It is a bit noisy and a bit "trashy", and I don't reckon the service was too good. But I didn't care, because it was cheap, easy and filled my needs. Perfect for backpackers. The bar downstairs is also a nice place to meet other travelers. I would come again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hello Daniel mate,
Good of you to write to us. Its always interesting to read what each and every one of our guests thinks about our hostel and about our location. Very true that we really are right in the middle of all the action, and we can certainly appreciate that on busy weekends the noise can drift over a bit from the Red Light District behind us. You are absolutely right that we cater mainly for the backpacker crowd but Amsterdam is such an awesome city that it attracts all sorts of colourful characters and fills our hostel with a range of interesting people.
We're glad you enjoyed yourself and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed here for two days/ two nights, the staff were helpful on arrival and were always available whenever needed and the calm and casual atmosphere makes it very easy to feel settled quite quickly. Our room was exactly worth what we paid (£32/€35) for, comfortable beds, en suite, clean and well looked after, and the decor inside definitely gave us a reminder where we were! Despite their being a nightclub attached to the side of the hotel our nights sleep was uninterupted, however we were staying a bit further away so I cannot say this would be the same throughout the Hotel. Food and Drinks were reasonably priced, only downside is that it is somewhat tricky to find at first, but once found relatively easy to find again. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZuggiZaccardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hey mate. Great to see you settled in so quickly. Amsterdam does have that homely feel, which is why many of us end up staying. Even if it can feel like a bit of a maze at times ; ) Our team will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much. A very cool review. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Property: St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher's not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi's bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can't go wrong. This is the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We're sure you're going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing