We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great time staying here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Asiago, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time staying here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A group of 8 (3 girls, 5 guys) of us went to Amsterdam for 3 days in March and had the greatest time! I love this party hostel and when traveling with a large group of friends it is perfect! We stayed in an 8 person room, which was nice that there was 8 of us and we didn't stay with people we didn't know, although you can probably meet some awesome people that way and have the best time of your life!

The beds are bunk beds so they are not that comfortable but when your just looking for a place to crash after a long night of partying it works out great! The room had one shower for us to share and in a separate part with one toilet. so at least they weren't together! There was also lock boxes under the bunk beds so if you bring a lock you could put all your valuables in there. The hostel was very centrally located! It was also very reasonable priced!

The bar attached was amazing! Played the best rock n' roll music and we spent a lot of time there just drinking and the food was also really good too! The breakfast provided to us was very good and healthy, typical european breakfast spread! Which I really liked! People that weren't even staying at the hostel would come to the bar to party! it was always packed at night!

I would recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam with friends and looking to have a good time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaRose51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hey Amanda,
Great of you to write such a detailed review for us. It really seems like you and your crew were a good fit to our style here at The Winston. Awesome that you appreciated our playlists too. We put our hearts and souls into our music and nice that you noticed.
You're welcome back anytime in our hostel and our bar so don't be a stranger!
Thanks again,
Take care Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    446
    135
    48
    42
See reviews for
16
232
186
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norge
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The best thing about this place is the location. A short walk from the Central Station, just around the corner of Dam Square. The lively Warmoestraat outside and the Red Light Disctrict behind it. The Hostel is all right, but nothing special. It is a bit noisy and a bit "trashy", and I don't reckon the service was too good. But I didn't care, because it was cheap, easy and filled my needs. Perfect for backpackers. The bar downstairs is also a nice place to meet other travelers. I would come again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hello Daniel mate,
Good of you to write to us. Its always interesting to read what each and every one of our guests thinks about our hostel and about our location. Very true that we really are right in the middle of all the action, and we can certainly appreciate that on busy weekends the noise can drift over a bit from the Red Light District behind us. You are absolutely right that we cater mainly for the backpacker crowd but Amsterdam is such an awesome city that it attracts all sorts of colourful characters and fills our hostel with a range of interesting people.
We're glad you enjoyed yourself and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed here for two days/ two nights, the staff were helpful on arrival and were always available whenever needed and the calm and casual atmosphere makes it very easy to feel settled quite quickly. Our room was exactly worth what we paid (£32/€35) for, comfortable beds, en suite, clean and well looked after, and the decor inside definitely gave us a reminder where we were! Despite their being a nightclub attached to the side of the hotel our nights sleep was uninterupted, however we were staying a bit further away so I cannot say this would be the same throughout the Hotel. Food and Drinks were reasonably priced, only downside is that it is somewhat tricky to find at first, but once found relatively easy to find again. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZuggiZaccardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hey mate. Great to see you settled in so quickly. Amsterdam does have that homely feel, which is why many of us end up staying. Even if it can feel like a bit of a maze at times ; ) Our team will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much. A very cool review. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Booked in here last minute to avoid a nightmare hostel down the road. Fantastic location just on the cusp of the red light. Close enough to enjoy the nightlife but not have to suffer the noise. Despite what has been said in previous reviews i had a great nights sleep even with a window open. My room was to the side however so aim to get a room there.

Twin room basic but servicable and good standard for a hostel. Fresh linen and even towels thrown in. Discounts at the bar for drinks and food. Food i had was a good standard and relatively cheap for Dam. Smoking room downstairs and both this and the bar were packed with 20-30 year olds up for a craic. Would stay again ahead of hotels i have stayed in before and on this same trip.

Room Tip: Get one down the side for quieter time
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveboyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hey. Great to see you made the most of our central location. It is really is true that we are right in the heart of all the action in Amsterdam. We trust you used your hotel security card to get further discounts on food and drink in the bar as well ; ) Thanks for taking the time to both read our reviews and write your own
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This Hostel is a A*+ Rating. I'm not an easily pleased customer, however at the Winston the service is efficient and friendly and the decor and atmosphere in the Hostel is fab! I travelled with a friend for her 21st Birthday on the Fri 24th Jan - Mon 27th Jan, of where we stayed at the Winston in a 6 bed mixed dorm. Both female and I would say we both didn't find the Hostel area 'Seedy' like it says in some reviews I came across. The location of the Hostel is excellent! 2 mins from Dam square and 5 Mins to the Central station (Do not get confused between the two when looking for transportation once you arrive in Amsterdam to the Hostel.) However you do have some of the Redlight district to the back of you, parallel with the Hostel, we did not find this a problem at all but I know some might. The street of where the Hostel is located is packed with Cafe's, Bar's, Food outlets, the Winston's own nightclub; 1/2 price entry to guests! and also the Infamous 'Condom Shop'. The Food at the Hostel is like decent pub grub in the UK, The bed's are incredibly comfortable (esp. for bunk beds.), the cleanliness of the Hostel is to a 4* Hotel standard, fresh bed linen and towels per day, indoor and outdoor smoking area, electronic lockers for baggage - 4 euro for the whole day (If you have a late flight). The only reservation I would say would be that once on one night I heard the nightclub's music and I was on the 5th floor, however it wasn't unbearable and rolled over and went back to sleep - as I guess most of the guests there are intoxicated (as was I), so it doesn't matter too much. It also looked so much better than any other Hostel we passed on that street. Would certainly Recommend this Hostel 100% if you are visiting Amsterdam and are on the search for Hostels I'd say you would get no better than here. Can not sing it's praises more. BOOK UP! In addition I am glad that I have booked my Paris stay with this chain, I look forward to see what is on offer there!

Room Tip: They offer a variety of rooms, so choose whats best for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The staff were pretty unhelpful, if not downright rude. When the wifi was playing up the lady at the desk said that it was my phone even though I said that I was coming on behalf of others who also couldn't connect, and she made no effort to rectify the situation. They don't have a luggage storage room, they only have lockers which you have to pay for which I found quite annoying. The hostel has a great vide downstairs in terms of its nightlife, but if you want to sleep at 11 (like we did the night we first arrived) you don't have a chance. Even on the 3rd floor you could hear the music loudly and clearly. All that being said the beds were great. Super clean and a great ensuite in the dorm. Also the location was just great. Right in the centre of town.

Room Tip: As high up as you can to avoid extra noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 4,096 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,269 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Property: St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher’s not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi’s bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can’t go wrong. Unlike other hostels, we offer a free continental breakfast buffet, as well as exclusive guest-only discounts and deals on food and drinks in our rocking Belushi’s bar and restaurant; the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We’re sure you’re going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing