We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A*+ / Best Hostel in Amsterdam!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Ranked #15 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This Hostel is a A*+ Rating. I'm not an easily pleased customer, however at the Winston the service is efficient and friendly and the decor and atmosphere in the Hostel is fab! I travelled with a friend for her 21st Birthday on the Fri 24th Jan - Mon 27th Jan, of where we stayed at the Winston in a 6 bed mixed dorm. Both female and I would say we both didn't find the Hostel area 'Seedy' like it says in some reviews I came across. The location of the Hostel is excellent! 2 mins from Dam square and 5 Mins to the Central station (Do not get confused between the two when looking for transportation once you arrive in Amsterdam to the Hostel.) However you do have some of the Redlight district to the back of you, parallel with the Hostel, we did not find this a problem at all but I know some might. The street of where the Hostel is located is packed with Cafe's, Bar's, Food outlets, the Winston's own nightclub; 1/2 price entry to guests! and also the Infamous 'Condom Shop'. The Food at the Hostel is like decent pub grub in the UK, The bed's are incredibly comfortable (esp. for bunk beds.), the cleanliness of the Hostel is to a 4* Hotel standard, fresh bed linen and towels per day, indoor and outdoor smoking area, electronic lockers for baggage - 4 euro for the whole day (If you have a late flight). The only reservation I would say would be that once on one night I heard the nightclub's music and I was on the 5th floor, however it wasn't unbearable and rolled over and went back to sleep - as I guess most of the guests there are intoxicated (as was I), so it doesn't matter too much. It also looked so much better than any other Hostel we passed on that street. Would certainly Recommend this Hostel 100% if you are visiting Amsterdam and are on the search for Hostels I'd say you would get no better than here. Can not sing it's praises more. BOOK UP! In addition I am glad that I have booked my Paris stay with this chain, I look forward to see what is on offer there!

Room Tip: They offer a variety of rooms, so choose whats best for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

The staff were pretty unhelpful, if not downright rude. When the wifi was playing up the lady at the desk said that it was my phone even though I said that I was coming on behalf of others who also couldn't connect, and she made no effort to rectify the situation. They don't have a luggage storage room, they only have lockers which you have to pay for which I found quite annoying. The hostel has a great vide downstairs in terms of its nightlife, but if you want to sleep at 11 (like we did the night we first arrived) you don't have a chance. Even on the 3rd floor you could hear the music loudly and clearly. All that being said the beds were great. Super clean and a great ensuite in the dorm. Also the location was just great. Right in the centre of town.

Room Tip: As high up as you can to avoid extra noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Being in the RLD, the is noise all night. Furthermore, the bar downstairs is loud and people smoke indoors. That said, each room is modern and decorated in a kinky/suggestive style. Staying here is a cultural experience, like visiting the city itself.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelsForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time in St Christopher. Great breakfast. Pretty clean and confortable. Also we had a locker so safety is ok and they ask for your entrance key any time you want to go in. From my experiency I deeply recomend this place. Includes towels that they change it every day, confortables beds... Also we meet many other travellers. Best suggestion

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Fzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

In general a good place to stay however our 2nd night when at the hotel bar the bar staff were extremely rude. When wanting to complain and ask for a manager, as the barman was sneakily trying to serve water when asking for alcoholic beverages, the staff elsewhere were not interested and advised it was nothing to do with them. The barman then proceeded to get security and kick a lot of people out of the bar. We weren't asked to leave however, we felt extremely uncomfortable in our own accommodation and left to go elsewhere. Really disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliewak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I have just comeback from this hotel and wouldn't put it high on my list of good hotels.

The layout of the hotel is good in the bar/restaurant area with enough tables and chairs to accommodate a large number of people, and the staff are friendly.

It was the rooms I had varied issues with.

The bathroom was as big as a pantry/larder, I quite literally had my knees touching against the shower screen door during defecation!

The shower door leaked to the extent that a minor flood was started every morning, this may be the reason for all the canals in Amsterdam!!

The sink was too small to handle the water pressure coming from the tap, so it looked like I had urinated myself when I brushed my teeth on the first morning.

The towels provided were too small to fit around a child's doll (I'm assuming this, as I didn't take a doll with me)

My bed had two rather distinctive brown stains on it, which was only noticed on the second day!

If you want a hotel purely to dump your bags in, go out and get obliterated and then comeback and pass out - come here. However, if you want any home comforts at all - Don't

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Pazcore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very centrally located near the shopping area and red light district. Simple breakfast but enough to get you on your way. Fun, knowledgable, multi-national staff. Bed was comfy with a super cozy down comforter (an upgrade to most hostels which offer just a blanket). Belushi's is a great spot to meet people, with deals on food and drinks.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank kitkatcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,005 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Blue Square
#163 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,028 reviews
Hostelle
#33 of 249 in Amsterdam
274 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 249 in Amsterdam
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 249 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $47 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher’s not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi’s bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can’t go wrong. This is the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We’re sure you’re going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing