We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Would not recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

In a dodgy area with creepy men standing outside the hostel at night. Our windows looked down onto the red light district windows. The staff were not accommodating to our questions and were quite dismissive. The photos on the hostel website are misleading and rooms are actually quite old. Our bathroom had an awful drainage smell. The hostel is situated near a bell tower which rings every half hour ! Not safe or suitable for females. Not worth the extravagant price. Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROGALD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hey,

It's a real pity you didn't feel totally safe in Amsterdam; the city gets a bad rep sometimes and has made a lot of huge positive changes in recent years. We take security extremely seriously at The Winston and our building is staffed with trained professionals around the clock, so we can assure you are quite safe with us,

Pity you didn't hit it off with our crew as well. They would have been able to tell you about just how cool and laid back this city really is. It's why we love it here!

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your first impressions of Amsterdam. Next time will be a different story we are sure ; )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    447
    135
    48
    42
See reviews for
16
233
187
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This is the 4th time im stayd in st christophers amsterdam and i couldnt say a bad word about the place. It is by far the best hostel i've stayd in and i've stayd in a few around europe. I've went as a couple and with the lads and its perfectly suited for both. Theres a bar/smoke room downstairs were ur guarenteed to me more like minded people to party/relax with. Im actually in the process of organising a euro interail for nxt summer and the place is that good im just gona stay in st christophers hostel all over europe!!! Also theres also loads of drink and foods deals that helps loads when your working on a budget so its def worth checkin out. Thanks guys until the next time!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dirkdig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very convenient location. Friendly staff. Good bar and food. Good to place to meet like minded people. Staff happy to recommend places. Clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed in the chick dorm which is separate to the rest of the hostel rooms. You have to exit the actual bar/hostel and walk next door. No hassle, except that I couldn't get in for breakfast and no one answered the door bell so I had to wait for people to exit.

As with most Amsterdamage hostels, there's no common room here, only a bar which hosts many a passing pub crawl. It felt like many people were travelling in packs and keeping to themselves - not so cool for the solo travellers.

All in all, it served its main purpose as a hostel for me as I was lucky to meet wonderful dorm room buddies to share the crazy city with and it was in prime location for the typical Amsterdam experience. Way noisy at night, but if you're out partying it won't matter. Hence, good for the partier (me!), but not so good for the museum enthusiast who wants to sleep (not me!).

The hostel is only about five or so minutes stroll from Centraal Station (but then add five more for the time it takes to dodge waves of tourists). It's a quick stroll around the corner to the Red Light District (just a few minutes away); a short walk to Rembrandtplein and about twenty minutes walk to Leidseplein and Vondelpark.

In future, I would only stay again if I was travelling with people. If I'm solo again, I'll go elsewhere to seek new experiences and a more solo friendly hostel.

Oh, and a dude pops by briefly each morning to recruit walking tourers - he's easy to miss though so if you do miss him you can just head to Dam Square and join there, like I did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayechihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We didn't stay in the hostel as it was fully booked, but visited the bar on 2 occasions and had a very enjoyable time. The staff were very friendly (especially the guy from Harrogate) and the music and atmosphere were excellent.
Although we were the oldest customers by about 30 years we didn't feel out of place.
When we go back to Amsterdam we will try to stay here.
Also, check out the photo of the men's urinal!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philsams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The bar in this hostel was excellent - great music and excellent atmosphere no matter what time we visited. They do really good promotions including 2 Absolute Vodka and (real) Red Bull for 9 euros all day which was really good. We also tried some food which was delicious and fresh. Definitely worth a visit and we would even look at staying in the hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Flew into Amsterdam for the night and booked this hotel because it was relatively cheap and had great review on other hostel websites. Hostel did not disappoint and was right in the red light district. Was about a 8 minute walk from Central Station. Hostel has a great bar / lobby area where everyone hangs out and socializes. Stayed in a 6 bedroom dorm and found it above average compared to most other hostels I have stayed at. Only thing that was weird is that when we returned at 1am, the lobby area was closed and there wasn't any place to hang out after hours. Besides for that, St. Christopher's Inn is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelKlump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 4,097 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,270 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Property: St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher’s not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi’s bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can’t go wrong. Unlike other hostels, we offer a free continental breakfast buffet, as well as exclusive guest-only discounts and deals on food and drinks in our rocking Belushi’s bar and restaurant; the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We’re sure you’re going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing