We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St Christopher's at Winston Hotel to your Saves list
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Deals & Bar Promos
Ranked #30 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The location is awesome, right in the center of tons of bars and restaurants, around the corner from the red light district, quick walk to the square where most tours meet.
My friend and I stayed in the two person room on the 5th floor, and there was no AC- which is no big deal, but the noise from the street carries up and it can be pretty loud. I never made it to breakfast because they shut it down at the exact time they say they're going to.
The bar was busy at night and was a great way to meet new people. The beer garden is really nice. There is wifi in two areas of the hotel.
The staff was really friendly and welcoming.
The beds were clean and comfortable.
Some negatives- the shower door was broken, tiny bathroom (I got water all over the place just brushing my teeth), and the garbage wasn't emptied when we arrived.

Room Tip: ask to have a room overlooking the courtyard for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktitone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We've made sure to pass on your kind comments about our staff to them directly. Makes their day when they know that they've made a lasting impression on our guests : )
And, it's good to see you got a good night's rest. Nothing's more important when you've a busy day exploring Amsterdam ahead of you. Pity you missed breakie though. If you ask our staff we usually have leftover fruit and eggs and stuff that we can leave out for those guests who snooze through their alarms.
Thanks for pointing us in the direction of those bathroom issues. You'll be happy to know that's all taken care of now.
Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I love st christophers this was my second time using this company and always look for them when I'm in Europe. Great location, close to train station and city center. Enjoyed the free walking tour. And was close to the location where I picked up the windmill day tour the next day. Had a free breakfast cheap and clean rooms and just can't say enough about how great this company is. Front desk so helpful in showing you anything you wanted to know on the map. Internet went down for a bit the first day but they apologized and it was fixed by the time I was back that night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed for one night in a double room that had one wall covered with a large photo of two naked guys. The room was small (10m2), the beds were small, the bathroom was small (2m2); the location was great. If you just need a place to crash, I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

St Christopher's Inn was our first experience staying in a youth hostel. The stay was perfect and exceeded any expectations, especially for the amazing prices per night! The hostel staff were so friendly and helpful and the hostel itself was modern, clean and perfectly located above a chain of bars called Belushi's! We loved the garden at the back and the balcony that we had outside our room, both locations you were allowed to smoke in. It made our stay in Amsterdam perfect! It was literally 5 minutes from Centraal Station, Dam Square and amazing coffee shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed there with my girlfriend and we wanted to meet people from around the world. We think that the location is excellent, very close to the dam square. The breakfast was very tasty and had alot of Varied food.
The pub is big but we thought that the tables will be big and long so people can sit together and talk with each other, like in other hostels but very good for couples that want to be alone. The pub is often full of people so there isn't a place to sit and smoke for the residents of the hostel.
Room is beautiful and clean. Very good that has a big window in the room but little bit a noise from the street even if you close the window.
If we will come back to Amsterdam and would like to be alone we would stay here again but if we want to meet other people we would search for another place.

Room Tip: If you would like quite ask for a room with no window (don't know if there is any). Wake up earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Itay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had a private room with some interesting art on display. There were a lot of drunken English people on a stag party, but this is Amsterdam so……. Staff are very friendly and helpful and even tried to control the for mentioned drunk Englishmen. The hostel is located in the Red Light District, within easy walking distance of Amsterdam Centraal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had a private single room on the 4th floor with Bob Marley's face taking up one entire wall. It was perfect. So clean, so comfortable, such good value and right where you want to be. I really don't think you will find better. I forgot about breakfast being included so that was an awesome surprise :) The bar and garden area do get really busy and it sounds like they're partying in the hallway outside your door, but staff move everyone inside at 10:30 most nights and then it's super quiet considering you're right in the heart of all the action. I was stoked they had lockers cause they really don't want you checking in until 2pm and I was not about to lug my suitcase around until then. Also the elevator quickly became best friend because of said suitcase. If you want the best you can get in The Dam then stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#142 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,269 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your first culture stop in this over-the-top Dutch city! Here you can upgrade to one of our 60 design hotel rooms - all decorated by local artists. When you stay at the St Christopher’s at the Winston Hostel and Hotel not only are you in the most central city location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi’s bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can’t go wrong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#