We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Ranked #16 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed in a few St-Christopher's hostels before, but this was our first time at the Winston.
It is in a great location, not far from the train station, and we found it easy enough. You are close to many main attractions, such as Dam Square, Red Light District etc and surrounded by bars and places to eat. The bar in the hostel was great with 2 for 1 on drinks and all the staff we encounter were really great and helpful!
I can't comment on food, as we were only staying here for one night before moving on, and we decided to have a bit of a long lie after the night before so missed breakfast.
The rooms are differently themed, ours having a big John Lennon tribute about the bed. The rooms are comfortable and clean, everything you really need!

The only slight disappointment we had was that the hostel chain no longer accepts their bed & bars cards, which used to get you 10% off your accommodation. Other than that we had a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    502
    149
    62
    46
See reviews for
20
266
217
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Clean, great staff, good bar, good food in a great location just a short walk from central station.

We had private en suite rooms which were warm and comfortable and really good value.

When i return to Amsterdam this place will be my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azertyuiop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is by far the best hostel I have ever been to. The rooms are suitable - if you're paying hostel prices, you don't expect anything snazzy, but the decor is nice, the beds are comfy and the shower is hot and powerful. The breakfast is amazing. Free continental breakfast; I thought this would be a couple of bits of toast with some ham and cheese or something. I was wrong. There is a buffet, with ham, cheese, salami, different cereals, yoghurt, fruit, a selection of drinks, eggs, a selection of breads, jams and preserves - it really is incredible for the amount you pay. The food at the bar is also amazing. With 25% off if you are staying at the hostel you can't go wrong. It is so tasty, and you can tell it's not just some cheap stuff that they warm up in the microwave. 2 for 1 drinks etc, I would definitely go here again. It is right in the centre, only about a 10 minute walk to the central train station. Near to all the main attractions, lockers to use if you are there early or staying late after check in/out. Separate smoking area for those that don't wish to be disrupted. Very secure. A FREE nightclub next door which is actually really good! I didn't know what to expect from a Dutch nightclub, but the music was really fun, drinks were reasonably priced and 2-4-1 and it was a really good night. The staff are really friendly. I really can't compliment this place more. Definitely go here especially with groups of friends, you'd be a fool not to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkaholic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Having stayed in my fair share of hostels I have to say well done. Normally I avoid the big chain hostels as they can be hit and miss over the normal excellence you get at independents.

However, that said, this place was perfect.

Central - location couldn't be any better
Excellent staff - gave me a load a great recommendations
Amazing food - their burger menu was awesome and great value with 20% off
Great rooms - bed was super comfy, probably the best hostel bed i've ever had. Rooms were suitably spacious with really handy under bed secure storage for both bunks. Shower was really good, and having a separate toilet and separate sink really helps a group of 8 make quick use of the room
Breakfast - normally the free breakfast isn't anything worth bothering with but we were all pleasantly surprised by the decent continental selection
Tunes - great tunes all day long pretty much, expect for Sat night but thats just our musical tastes
Noise - could be a draw back but we didn't hear much at all - we benefited from being against a quite side street and as the bar closes at 1-2AM its not really an issue for weekend stays

Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Room 5-7 are great, further away from bar area and against a quiet street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackpackingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Came here on stag do....for the price it was excellent, same with location, right where you wanted to be.
Rooms were good, hit & miss with shower strength, but clean & tidy.
The downside is the noise depending where you are, but ear plugs help.
Good bar/club as well which the hostel is above.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Let me just start by saying this; I do not stay in hostels often, and had it been solely up to me - I would opted for a hotel. Due to the trip being more of a budgeted plan, I was pleasantly surprised with the Winston Hotel. I had stayed in a few other hostels around Europe prior to arriving in Amsterdam and was NOT looking forward to another hostel.

First off - the location is A grade. Perfect for people looking to do the New Europe tours (which I highly recommend as well!), as the meeting point for many of these tours in a 1 minute walk down the street. The hotel is located very close to the red light district, the best shopping district and typical coffee shops/sex shops if that's what you're in to - which I am not but it was never an issue.

Furthermore, I found the staff fantastic, friendly and welcoming. The bar was better than other St Christopher's I have experienced; well priced and food was very good for hostel/bar food.

The rooms were small - but again you get what you pay for so you can't expect lavish and large rooms. What you can expect is clean rooms with the amenities you need.

Another big PLUS is that wifi works in the rooms, which again I have experienced not having wifi in the actual bed rooms in hostels in the past.

My only real complaint or negative comment is that at night there was quite a lot of street noise until around midnight which is when it tended to die down. Not a major issue unless you are looking to have extremely early nights.

Apart from that small comment I would highly recommend this hostel and would happily stay there again despite my resistance to stay in hostels!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't attract too much street noise if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a 3 night break in Feburary we where given the Absoloute Dannys themed room and loved it, would highly recommend this hostel its so central with everythign on your doorstep, the food in the bar is great and the drinks are cheap. Where totally enjoyed our stay, the only think was our room was pretty noisy with the bells from the church 2mins away but not Hotels fault, it sounded like the theme tune from eastenders!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#61 of 367 in Amsterdam
551 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Volkshotel
#41 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,261 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Property: St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher's not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi's bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can't go wrong. This is the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We're sure you're going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing