We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Ranked #13 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

i stayed 4 days in this hostel . its great . not no. 1 but :
excellent location in the middle of RLD
good room and service .
free breakfast .
free WiFi .
bar and billiard pool .
this hostel has no kitchen , so you can not cook your own meal but the bar provides fast food .

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
Thank m1tsalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,284)
There are newer reviews for St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our first visit to Amsterdam and we chose to stay at St Christopher in the Winston hotel / hostel .We booked a premium double room . We arrived in the morning at central station finding the hotel/hostel was quite straight forward with a map ! . We could not check into our room until after 2 pm but we were able to place our baggage into a locker until then, instead of lugging it around with us . The staff were very helpful with any questions ....or for forgotten travel adapters !!lol.
Staying at our hotel/hostel entitles you to received a leaflet for 25% off food and also they have lots of drink offers on daily . The food was AMAZING we sampled quite a few items from the menu and were never disappointing ( try the burgers ...omg lush !!) .
We loved the room that we had on the 7th floor room 701 the art work made us chuckle more than once ! super comfy beds and our own en suite ,tv and romantic lighting ;) A continental breakfast was also included in the price .
We are already looking to book again and we won't be looking at anywhere else to stay as St Christopher's offered an excellent place to explore Amsterdam and a place to come back to and relax ! we enjoyed the smoking room . it was a very social place and you did not feel like you were separated in any way due to the glass doors and windows .
All in all we are very happy and can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank angiebaa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

- Staff ranged from friendly to grumpy
- Twin room with a private ensuite
- Room was dark and dingy
- Clean bed linen
- Plenty of storage space
- Noisy at night due to the bar/club downstairs. Ear plugs came in handy.
- Free wi-fi
- Centrally located in the red light district
- Free breakfast. Nothing fancy but filling
- Good pub meals at reduced rates at the bar
- Security around the hostel at night is not ideal
- Great for anyone looking to party

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoosterFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The best thing about this hostel is its location - on one of the busy streets in central Amsterdam where everything is happening. The rooms are very clean and the shared bathroom adequate for a dorm room of 8. I was a little surprised to find that my room didn't have any artwork on the walls, unlike those rooms shown on various websites, so from this perspective it was a little bland. Furthermore, whilst the hostel does have a busy pub attached to it I found myself wishing there was a common area just for hostel stayers as a means of meeting people. I found this very difficult to do in the pub as it was loud and full of people who weren't staying at the hostel itself.
But over all a positive stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The only good thing about this place is central location. That is why low prices seemed quite strange to us. But it became understandable when we arrived there.
The rooms are extremely small and bathroom is awful- you can hardly fit inside, shower is fixed to the wall very high, etc.
The noise from the street was terrible! All the night and day it was impossible to sleep.
But the worst thing was breakfast. It was just in the entrance hall, no place to sit, no food to choose - only eggs, and some old musli.
This place is good for young people who come to Amsterdam to drink and take drugs, when you don't care about comfort at all!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brennvesle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

location,spot on,just 1 gripe really,the fella on reception must be the most ignorant bad mannered person i"ve come to meet in years,how on earth do you put a person like that on the meet and greet desk is beyond me,it was nothing personal,he was like that with everyone,apart from him the hotel was ok..........ps amsterdam is a bit of a rip off when it comes to prices of things,probabaly run by a cartel when it comes to business,bring em in and rip em off...

Room Tip: rooms at back of hotel are quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmy024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here twice in 2012. Lovely shared rooms with more than adequate bathroom facilities. Has a good sized bar that serves discounted food to people staying within the hostel. The club attached has a really good selection of events. Decent smoking room with fast pool table. Alan, the boss is atop bloke who is happy to assist with any query. Will return!

Stayed: July 2012
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#69 of 371 in Amsterdam
651 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,611 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 371 in Amsterdam
5,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $45 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher's not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi's bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can't go wrong. This is the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We're sure you're going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing