We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for seeing the sights - right in the heart of the Red Light District”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Ranked #14 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, UK
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect for seeing the sights - right in the heart of the Red Light District”
Reviewed March 13, 2008

The Winston is a perfect stay if you want to be in the heart of it all.
This was our 2nd visit and it was excellent both times.
On the main street right next to all the action, night life, pubs, clubs, coffee shops, windows etc.
Only a 5 min walk from Centraal Station and a 20 min train ride from the airport so very easy travelling.
Book a room via the St christophers website but then e-mail the Winston direct asking for an artroom. Really good fun.
Food excellent and reasonable, mainly chips and toasties but that's all you need. Excellent Kebab house on the same street and an Indian restaurant that was also cheap but the best Indian we've ever had abroad just at the station end of our street owned by the Vijaya hotel I believe, petals on the mat outside.
Best brownies were in bar 36 in the same street. Plenty of decent pubs especially the sports bar across the road. less than 1 min from Dam square.
Couldn't choose a better place for location. A bit noisy at night but not a problem really.
Will go back again very soon.

  • Liked — Location, security, artroms
  • Disliked — needs updating a little
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    507
    150
    63
    46
See reviews for
20
271
223
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Dear me - what do you expect for accomodation in the centre of a major European capital for 50 euro a night?

This is not a lovers' retreat, it's a cheap and cheerful hostel with good facilities and some fairly freaky decor. The beds are prefectly adequate to pass out on and the location is fantastic - right in the middle of everything for the night out, and a short trip when you are feeling that the culture meter is registering empty.

...and it's 50 euro per person!

I've been there twice and it's been great both times.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_A_N_B01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Hostel is located 3 mins walk from Dam square on the street running parrallel with Damrak. 10mins walk from central station. Check in desk is located at the bar and acesss to the hostel is controlled by the staff via security buzzer. Our room "207" was on the 1st floor and was a double ensuite feature room. It was very shabby chic, ie you couldnt tell if it had been designed like that on purpose but was a very clean colourful room. Ensuite was clean and for the price per night (£35) I cant see why anyone would complain. Breakfast (which is free) was standard continental was fine. Had a few meals in the bar and they were nice. Bar staff were great and had clean towels each day. The clientel was very eclectic!!!! This is ideal for people who arent fussed about airs and graces and mini bars. Perfect for somewhere to crash. Little noise from the street but I get that at home too!! Overall we are booking to go back and the HOT CHOCOLATE is fantastic.

  • Liked — Location, friendleness of staff, cleaniness of room free wireless
  • Disliked — No english breakfast teabags!!!!! had to drink earl grey ewwww
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank luc1e8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Well Just back from another fabulous holiday in the Dam. It was my eighth time but first time in a hostel.
I was very apprehensive as i have always stayed in pretty nice hotels and some of the reviews were quite scary.
Found hotel no problems and we were able to lock our bags in hold until 2pm. Not too impressed with security but thankfully everything was ok.
There were 11 of us in our party ( all hard working nursing staff ) so we were looking to party obviously! 8 had the dorm downstairs, small room with 4 bunk beds in and a small toilet.
I had a twin room but someone dropped out so i swapped with two others and had a double room to myself. Both private rooms were very funky and both very different in there design and decor.
These rooms were about the same size as the 8 bedded dorm and i think had a bigger bathroom.
Rooms were clean and showers great. New towels every day which is nice.
We spent alot of time in the downstairs bar which was pleasant and comfortable. Some good offers on, such as two for one on stella and jack daniels. Some of our party loved this!
We were quite loud and boisterous at times and were told to behave! Staff do need to chill out a bit ,as we were spending a fortune so they should have been delighted! Also there was a staff member who obviously thought he was a policeman who when questioning one of our party about if she had a key, he shouted into her face " its the law " Jeeze!
Location is really good and you can walk to all attractions in a short while.
Quiet enough late at night apart from the odd people shouting outside but the worst noise came from the ringing of church bells outside ( Xmas tunes ) from about 6am.It drove me crazy.
All in all really enjoyed holiday and hostel was pretty cool.

  • Liked — Funky Decor and Petra the bar maid.
  • Disliked — Fussy boring staff.
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2008

great hotal,room nice,clean,best place to stay rite in the heart of it all will stay there again

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank devbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2008

i stayed there for 2 nights, and that was enough...., really dodgy...bad rooms, staff couldnt care less, and the chef there is very weird, in my opinion. dirty as well

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank medegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
augusta, ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2007

Booked through hostelworld.com, paid around 30 USD a night for a bed the 6 person dorm style room; around 40 USD for a 3 bed private bath, as there were 3 of us traveling it was a private room.
Simply for the location, I think both were a great deal. St. Christopher's is a little more expnsive sometimes than other hostels (we stayed at Maggy and Gunputsing's for 2 nights of our stay this trip and wished we had booked St Christophers the whole time, through no fault of M & G's!) but you walk out the door and it's 100 steps to Dam square to the left, 100 steps to Damrak straight ahead, and into the heart of the red light district with coffeeshops galore to the right. If you're visiting for the typical Amsterdam experience, there's no better place than St. Christophers, I've stayed there on 3 separate trips now (2 with friends, 1 with significant other) and it has never failed to be a clean, convenient place to sleep.
The staff is also very accomadating for the most part, especially the scruffy looking older guy with blonde hair and some piercings who works there, I think he is the manager or owner or somethign as he seemed to have some authority at times. One of our party got sick during our stay and he was truly as kind and helpful as your grandmother.
The bar serves beer and toastie sandwiches as good and cheap as you'll find anywhere. They also have a more extensive dinner menu--the Hawaiian chicken sandwich is amazing and will make you feel healthy and renewed after eating at the sketchy kabob stands all week! Internet is typical for that area, 1 euro for 15 min, 2 euro for 30 min.
The bathrooms are a little run down but not dirty to the point of not wanting to use them, and I tend to be pretty picky about that. Beds are luck of the draw, I've had sealy-quality and I've been poked in the ribs all night by various broken springs : ) It is part of the hostel experience I suppose...my tip is to leave the bedding they provide you folded up as an extra layer of padding and bring your own lightweight fleece sleepingbag liner ($10 at walmart, about the size of a sweatshirt folded up). One new thing I noticed this past stay was that they now provide you a little packet of shampoo and conditioner and a bar of soap along with your towel each day...maybe because it is connected with the Winston hotel upstairs, but St Christophers tends to have little touches like that which I haven't found in any other hostel.
They also added a pool table recently (2 euro per game is too expensive for me but it was always busy!). Several flat screen TVs and lots of seating in the lobby, which I've found to be a great place to bring your smokes and chill without feeling pressured to buy a drink, etc. as in most of the coffeeshops. The window seat (see photo) has a absolutely dreamy heating vent that you can drape your arm across as you sit and watch the people go by.
It gets crowded at night though, and they blast the music (generally fun late 90s stuff--oasis, greenday, smashing pumpkins, sublime) to compete with the trance type dance club bumping next door. The noise from the lobby was never audible from my room though, even on the first floor. The only noise in the rooms comes from the street outside but even that was practically unnoticable after 1 or 2 AM.
The complimentary breakfast is better than most, with chilled milk for the cereals; and salami, ham, and cheese in adddition to bread, butter and jam.

  • Liked — loction, clean bed to crash in at the end of a longggg day!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rstonesuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#64 of 368 in Amsterdam
608 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Volkshotel
#38 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,329 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Property: St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher's not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi's bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can't go wrong. This is the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We're sure you're going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing