We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hostel for the price wicked location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Ranked #15 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Hostel is located 3 mins walk from Dam square on the street running parrallel with Damrak. 10mins walk from central station. Check in desk is located at the bar and acesss to the hostel is controlled by the staff via security buzzer. Our room "207" was on the 1st floor and was a double ensuite feature room. It was very shabby chic, ie you couldnt tell if it had been designed like that on purpose but was a very clean colourful room. Ensuite was clean and for the price per night (£35) I cant see why anyone would complain. Breakfast (which is free) was standard continental was fine. Had a few meals in the bar and they were nice. Bar staff were great and had clean towels each day. The clientel was very eclectic!!!! This is ideal for people who arent fussed about airs and graces and mini bars. Perfect for somewhere to crash. Little noise from the street but I get that at home too!! Overall we are booking to go back and the HOT CHOCOLATE is fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank luc1e8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2008

Well Just back from another fabulous holiday in the Dam. It was my eighth time but first time in a hostel.
I was very apprehensive as i have always stayed in pretty nice hotels and some of the reviews were quite scary.
Found hotel no problems and we were able to lock our bags in hold until 2pm. Not too impressed with security but thankfully everything was ok.
There were 11 of us in our party ( all hard working nursing staff ) so we were looking to party obviously! 8 had the dorm downstairs, small room with 4 bunk beds in and a small toilet.
I had a twin room but someone dropped out so i swapped with two others and had a double room to myself. Both private rooms were very funky and both very different in there design and decor.
These rooms were about the same size as the 8 bedded dorm and i think had a bigger bathroom.
Rooms were clean and showers great. New towels every day which is nice.
We spent alot of time in the downstairs bar which was pleasant and comfortable. Some good offers on, such as two for one on stella and jack daniels. Some of our party loved this!
We were quite loud and boisterous at times and were told to behave! Staff do need to chill out a bit ,as we were spending a fortune so they should have been delighted! Also there was a staff member who obviously thought he was a policeman who when questioning one of our party about if she had a key, he shouted into her face " its the law " Jeeze!
Location is really good and you can walk to all attractions in a short while.
Quiet enough late at night apart from the odd people shouting outside but the worst noise came from the ringing of church bells outside ( Xmas tunes ) from about 6am.It drove me crazy.
All in all really enjoyed holiday and hostel was pretty cool.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MrPinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

great hotal,room nice,clean,best place to stay rite in the heart of it all will stay there again

Stayed: February 2008
Thank devbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

i stayed there for 2 nights, and that was enough...., really dodgy...bad rooms, staff couldnt care less, and the chef there is very weird, in my opinion. dirty as well

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank medegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

Booked through hostelworld.com, paid around 30 USD a night for a bed the 6 person dorm style room; around 40 USD for a 3 bed private bath, as there were 3 of us traveling it was a private room.
Simply for the location, I think both were a great deal. St. Christopher's is a little more expnsive sometimes than other hostels (we stayed at Maggy and Gunputsing's for 2 nights of our stay this trip and wished we had booked St Christophers the whole time, through no fault of M & G's!) but you walk out the door and it's 100 steps to Dam square to the left, 100 steps to Damrak straight ahead, and into the heart of the red light district with coffeeshops galore to the right. If you're visiting for the typical Amsterdam experience, there's no better place than St. Christophers, I've stayed there on 3 separate trips now (2 with friends, 1 with significant other) and it has never failed to be a clean, convenient place to sleep.
The staff is also very accomadating for the most part, especially the scruffy looking older guy with blonde hair and some piercings who works there, I think he is the manager or owner or somethign as he seemed to have some authority at times. One of our party got sick during our stay and he was truly as kind and helpful as your grandmother.
The bar serves beer and toastie sandwiches as good and cheap as you'll find anywhere. They also have a more extensive dinner menu--the Hawaiian chicken sandwich is amazing and will make you feel healthy and renewed after eating at the sketchy kabob stands all week! Internet is typical for that area, 1 euro for 15 min, 2 euro for 30 min.
The bathrooms are a little run down but not dirty to the point of not wanting to use them, and I tend to be pretty picky about that. Beds are luck of the draw, I've had sealy-quality and I've been poked in the ribs all night by various broken springs : ) It is part of the hostel experience I suppose...my tip is to leave the bedding they provide you folded up as an extra layer of padding and bring your own lightweight fleece sleepingbag liner ($10 at walmart, about the size of a sweatshirt folded up). One new thing I noticed this past stay was that they now provide you a little packet of shampoo and conditioner and a bar of soap along with your towel each day...maybe because it is connected with the Winston hotel upstairs, but St Christophers tends to have little touches like that which I haven't found in any other hostel.
They also added a pool table recently (2 euro per game is too expensive for me but it was always busy!). Several flat screen TVs and lots of seating in the lobby, which I've found to be a great place to bring your smokes and chill without feeling pressured to buy a drink, etc. as in most of the coffeeshops. The window seat (see photo) has a absolutely dreamy heating vent that you can drape your arm across as you sit and watch the people go by.
It gets crowded at night though, and they blast the music (generally fun late 90s stuff--oasis, greenday, smashing pumpkins, sublime) to compete with the trance type dance club bumping next door. The noise from the lobby was never audible from my room though, even on the first floor. The only noise in the rooms comes from the street outside but even that was practically unnoticable after 1 or 2 AM.
The complimentary breakfast is better than most, with chilled milk for the cereals; and salami, ham, and cheese in adddition to bread, butter and jam.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rstonesuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2007

If your looking for a good base right in the heart of amsterdam and just a stone's throw from the red light district with a great atmosphere and comfortable accomodation then St Christophers is the place to be. I travelled to Amsterdam for my birthday weekend with a group of mixed friends and found this place to be extremely welcoming. The rooms were basic but quirky and individual, the bathrooms were standard and fresh bedding and towels were provided which was more than i expected. To our surprise we found that continental breakfast was included in our rate and that was nice and fresh.
The in house bar is large and full of life with a number of promotions including 1 euro jaegermeisters!! A auto lock door divides the bar from the rooms for added piece of mind.
The staff were all friendly and helpful.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank strawdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

What a great place! I stopped there with six other mates and although we all went for a lads weekend,we were just interested in the beer and the partying.
When i booked the hotel i was a bit apprehensive after reading the reviews,however i needn`t have worried.We arrived on the friday morning just after 10am although it says you can`t check in until 11am they checked us in early which was very good.We left our luggage in a locked room as the rooms weren`t ready until 2pm which was fair enough.We came back just after 2pm went into our room and was shocked as the room hadn`t been serviced.I went to the reception and told them about this,the guy on reception made a quick phone call and apologised to us and said if we all went to the bar we could have a free beer on them.Whithin half an hour the room was serviced and was absolutely spotless.
We stayed in room 2,an 8 bed dorm on the gound floor which was hot as there was only a small window (for security reasons?) but other than that it was ok.
This was the only hiccup we had all weekend and we thought the staff were great,very polite and friendly.
There were some great offers on at the bar:bottled stella 2 for 1 at 4 euros etc.And the food was great (recommend the Chili Con Carne ! ) a good breakfast with fresh orange juice,bread,meat,cheese,jams,3 types of cereal,fruit,tea and coffee.
All in all a very relaxed place to stay (maybe they have taken negative comments from websites such as these on board?)
I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay.Don`t expect the ritz,as you get what you pay for,but out of the budget hostels i have stayed in,this one is the best by far.

Relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billywizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#109 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,514 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,246 reviews
XO Hotels Blue Square
#165 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Hostelle
#36 of 241 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $39 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher’s not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi’s bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can’t go wrong. This is the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We’re sure you’re going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing