We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tourist Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tourist Inn
Ranked #270 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Awesome Place. Rooms are clean, but a little small. Washrooms are also very small, especially the showers, but very clean.

Breakfast is also good. Location is awesome. People at the reception are very helpful and always willing to help. I walked throughout Amsterdam without any trams or cycle because of the location of this hostel, although i did land up walking a lot...

Overall a great and comfortable Stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taruneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    40
    31
    17
    31
See reviews for
5
31
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogasawara-shoto, Japan
Level Contributor
357 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

65€/night for a monks cell with bath and toilet on another floor??
I think this place is actually in multiple buildings. Based on other reviews they have some better rooms.
Great and cheap indo take away counter just 30m further down the street, away from main station!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Takoyaki47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for 1 night (thank God it was so short). I think its the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. It was very expensive for what you got. €150 for a double room.

It did actually have a double bed in it which was comfortable, but the rest of the room was very small and the toilet was tiny and looked more like something you would find in a road side motel. The room also had graffiti all over the wall, which is nice if your 15 years old i suppose.

It was also very noisy in the night, with people walking in and out of their rooms and doors slamming all night.

The breakfast was also very late, 8am, so we couldnt make it since we had to leave before that in the morning.

I guess its a nice hotel if you're a big group of young people and you just come to Amsterdam to party.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jander24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here for £115 for 3 nights with breakfast over new year; didn't have very high expectations as our priority was just to get a cheap deal but the hostel was actually a pleasant surprise. The rooms (10 of us in two 5-bed rooms), showers and bathrooms were very clean and the beds really comfortable with thick duvets. Never managed to make breakfast so can't comment on that :-) The location was great for us too, a short walk from shops (including a supermarket), bars, restaurants and the red light district (2 right outside our bedroom window but there wasn't any trouble!) An amazing city, best New Year ever :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LillieBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

shared bathroom was ok as toilet & shower was seperate, however we werent in the main hotel we were about ten meters behind, was as few 'red light windows' as expected, in amsetrdam. would recommend the cafe at the end of the road nice guy and remember us. we did ask if we could up grade as there was room as being on the third floor with no lift and steep stairs was the only down sides. hotel is near dam square which is handy and there also a few coffee shops on the same road. clean towels every day and for the travellers there is hand and body wash in the shower which i thought was a nice touch. recertion staff are 24 hours and there is sercuity cameas and door code for the building.

Room Tip: try and get a en suite as then the building your in has a lift. but where we stayed would be FAB for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had a quad room for first night but your own ensuite was across the hall!!! Moved to a twin room and these were spot on and would recommend and the breakfasts were ok ! Don't think I will return to Amsterdam but if I did would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andygill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel has a nice location. It has coffee shop near it and some "girl windows" on the back of the street, keep that in mind. And as everything in Amsterdam, it's quite narrow. It's not so cheap, but nothing in Amsterdam is.

There is a misleading information over the internet that are are smoker rooms, as there is no smoking in the entire hotel! The breakfast was quite nice. The staff is helpful, but the rooms (the bathroom) was not cleaned during our 3 day stay, it wasn't such a problem, I'm just saying it. There was a TV, an AC and a free Wi-Fi in our double room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bijsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#152 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#222 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#188 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Vijaya
Hotel Vijaya
#312 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#306 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Inn

Property: Tourist Inn
Address: Singel 69, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 262
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Amsterdam
Brian Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Brian Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing