We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Do not take it unless you have no choice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beursstraat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Beursstraat
Ranked #335 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not take it unless you have no choice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel reminds an anthill, with very steep stairs, not that friendly staff and terrible rooms.
It could be Ok for a hostel, but it costs unreal for the lack of services it provides. It also has a terrible smell of weed in the room and scary showers.
If you have a possibility - take a hotel a bit far from the center of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Даша П
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    80
    55
    95
See reviews for
9
91
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The staff were nice enough, they looked quite scary but gave us a room upgrade which I thought was quite good of them. The stairs are very steep so do be careful! Rooms are very small and in need of some TLC as walls have been drawn on etc. There is a smell of smoke and hash in the rooms and in the hallways but that's what's to be expected in Amsterdam. One thing that really annoyed me was that there was only one socket. And when straightening your hair etc. You need to either guess or stand on a chair as the only mirror is quite high up on the bathroom wall. All in all the hotel is in an ideal location and if you are not planning on staying in your hotel for long periods of time then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emily92x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

First I will say great location. Thats the good comments done.
We were greeted by angry staff who told us we couldnt have the double room we had booked until the second night, after arguing telling us we had booked a twin.
We arrived in our twin room, 2 single beds with disgusting old blankets and smelling as though someone had just smoked a joint in it. One power point in the room. Stains of god knows what on the walls and 2 very small old discoloured towels.
Left the room for a night out and when we returned discovered one of the pillows had chewing gum all over the underside of it. Showed reception in the morning and no comment on it at all. Gave us our new slightly bigger room with a double bed, which had single sheets on it! Anyway to sum up this place is a hostel at best, an expensive one at that. Stay here if you plan on going with the boys and being out of your mind by the time you need sleep, otherwise avoid at all costs. The place is disgusting.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nz_phill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights on the 18th January for my best friends 21st birthday.
The staff were friendly.
The rooms were extremely dated the beds weren't really comfortable but it was clean.
It got quite noisy at night time as it is generally a hotel for younger people I thought.
However, I've been to Amsterdam 3 times and this is the best located hotel you could stay in!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lctyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

In general its not bad hotel. Especially, employees in there are so friendly and helpfull. Location is excellent. You can go by a walk in everywhere. There was a little bit noise because of the walls. Walls are so thin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neddov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel has a good location, in to the old Amsterdam, you can reach the most interesting points easily. the hotel is OK not so bad. it s near to who is interested with red light district. you can reach bars easily. i don't mind to go again.

Room Tip: Better to choose a room not in the ground flour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgico2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very central hotel. % minutes walk from Centraal Station. Very basic. Beds were a bit hard but the room was clean and en suite. Ideal for a short stay,. Reception was 24 hour and access to rooms was secure. Good o know as it is so central.

Room Tip: Good location for a short stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#311 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#290 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#277 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#284 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#243 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#182 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beursstraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beursstraat

Property: Hotel Beursstraat
Address: Beursstraat 7, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Beursstraat 1*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Beursstraat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beursstraat Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing