We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“unbelievable location, crap hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beursstraat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Beursstraat
Ranked #337 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unbelievable location, crap hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Any lads going for the weekend whos hardly going to be in the room and wanting a perfect location, this is for you.
Anybody else, not so much.
As iv said the location is the best in Amsterdam for nightlife/food places, with the grasshopper bar/coffee shop litrally a stone through away and the red light district just a 2 minute walk.
But the hotel in general was poor..
We were about 5 floors up, the hotel never had any way of getting up apart from a very steap set of stairs.
The bedroom was tiny but still clean enough, had no space to hang your clothes apart from a small coat rail but its also tiny.
The pillows and blankets were crap, but as small as the bathroom was, it was also very clean.
I went here with my girlfriend in June 2013, and I wouldnt take her back to the hotel BUT if I was going with friends who wanted sonewhere near everything Amsterdam has to offer then this would be my first choice.

Room Tip: If you have the choice, try get a room as close to the ground floor as possible, unbelievably steap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriss5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    41
    83
    58
    101
See reviews for
9
95
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Warning - if you have 20kg suitcases and your room is located on the top floor (yes and yes for our experience) be prepared for the one of the most strenuous workouts of your life.

The rooms are very small and absolutely bare minimum basic, however the location is so good that those things don't really matter. If you don't mind 'roughing it' for the sake of being in an excellent location, I would recommend. Not too badly priced (in comparison to other places to stay in the area) and the staff were ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flatwhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The reviews here were a little bit scary. So when we booked the room we knew we could be facing a nightmare. However, we had a GREAT experience. If you are travelling on a budget, this place is ideal. It is VERY close to Amsterdam Central train station (two blocks from main street leading to Dam Square and coincidentally one block from the Red Light District). Of course, the hotel is awful in the sense that it needs new furniture ASAP and there is an awful smell at the entrance. The rooms are really small and the mattress pretty hard. But if you are to spend a weekend there, there shouldn't be any problems. I mean, if you are only looking for a clean and safe place to sleep on, then the Beursstraat hotel should not dissapoint you. We mostly saw young guys who probably won't care too much if there are a lot of stairs, or if the sheets are old, or if the bathroom is tiny. In any case, the shower was pleasant enough, the people at front desk were quite helpful (they provided other sheets when requested) and the best thing of the hotel is the LOCATION and price. Would definitely go back. AH, also, another advante: it is petfriendly!

Room Tip: ASK for rooms in the first floors. We were at the last one and it is quite tiresome to get there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucila_guerrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modena
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

It's not an hotel but an hostel for young people. Dirty rooms and dangerous stairs. It's also very expensive for what it offers. The hall is dirty and the porter eats and play with the cat without any interest for the guest.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marimeri55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

what a dive we stayed in number 31. 78 steps and 6 flights of steep stairs. its safe to say if there was a fire below, you better hope you've got half a cigarette a rizla and a lighter and some of the finest bud you've ever smoked as it will for sure be your last. the room was freezing, the radiator was just a fixture on the wall as it served no purpose what so ever. the beds tool like they has come from hitlers training camp. its like a scene from train spotting. A crack den.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here 1st-4th march 2013.
Rooms were clean,beds are wood nailed together with prison mattress and itchy blankets.
We only needed someplace to sleep,but hotel decided to turn heating OFF (its winter time and damm cold) not good.
Hotel smells a little but that seems normal for cheap hotels in dam.
You can smoke weed in room but open the windows.
Not likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonpaul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Like first, the location is absolutelly great. The prices of the accommodation for Amsterdam are more than friendly. I have been here with group of 8 friends. Nobody of us complain about the accommodation. Furniture is old but ok, sice of rooms is small but ok, bathroom is absolutelly ok (everything works), heating works well too. We used the rooms for sleeping and the sleeping quality is good. Just to compare, two years ago we were in 4* hotel, price was minimal double and the accommodation was very similar, i can say, no difference, ok, 4* hotel had TV in room.
Hotel Beursstraat = you get, what you pay for, dont expect 5* servis for few EURs. I dont have problem to stay here again. Good location for exploring the city.
p.s. We got very late check out for free, great bonus. Big thx to helpfull stuff :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lubox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#289 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#231 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#307 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#241 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#281 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#207 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beursstraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beursstraat

Property: Hotel Beursstraat
Address: Beursstraat 7, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #337 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Beursstraat 1*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Beursstraat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beursstraat Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing