We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“You get what you pay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beursstraat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Beursstraat
Ranked #335 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You get what you pay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The reviews here were a little bit scary. So when we booked the room we knew we could be facing a nightmare. However, we had a GREAT experience. If you are travelling on a budget, this place is ideal. It is VERY close to Amsterdam Central train station (two blocks from main street leading to Dam Square and coincidentally one block from the Red Light District). Of course, the hotel is awful in the sense that it needs new furniture ASAP and there is an awful smell at the entrance. The rooms are really small and the mattress pretty hard. But if you are to spend a weekend there, there shouldn't be any problems. I mean, if you are only looking for a clean and safe place to sleep on, then the Beursstraat hotel should not dissapoint you. We mostly saw young guys who probably won't care too much if there are a lot of stairs, or if the sheets are old, or if the bathroom is tiny. In any case, the shower was pleasant enough, the people at front desk were quite helpful (they provided other sheets when requested) and the best thing of the hotel is the LOCATION and price. Would definitely go back. AH, also, another advante: it is petfriendly!

Room Tip: ASK for rooms in the first floors. We were at the last one and it is quite tiresome to get there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucila_guerrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    40
    77
    51
    88
See reviews for
9
84
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
modena
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

It's not an hotel but an hostel for young people. Dirty rooms and dangerous stairs. It's also very expensive for what it offers. The hall is dirty and the porter eats and play with the cat without any interest for the guest.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marimeri55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

what a dive we stayed in number 31. 78 steps and 6 flights of steep stairs. its safe to say if there was a fire below, you better hope you've got half a cigarette a rizla and a lighter and some of the finest bud you've ever smoked as it will for sure be your last. the room was freezing, the radiator was just a fixture on the wall as it served no purpose what so ever. the beds tool like they has come from hitlers training camp. its like a scene from train spotting. A crack den.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here 1st-4th march 2013.
Rooms were clean,beds are wood nailed together with prison mattress and itchy blankets.
We only needed someplace to sleep,but hotel decided to turn heating OFF (its winter time and damm cold) not good.
Hotel smells a little but that seems normal for cheap hotels in dam.
You can smoke weed in room but open the windows.
Not likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonpaul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Like first, the location is absolutelly great. The prices of the accommodation for Amsterdam are more than friendly. I have been here with group of 8 friends. Nobody of us complain about the accommodation. Furniture is old but ok, sice of rooms is small but ok, bathroom is absolutelly ok (everything works), heating works well too. We used the rooms for sleeping and the sleeping quality is good. Just to compare, two years ago we were in 4* hotel, price was minimal double and the accommodation was very similar, i can say, no difference, ok, 4* hotel had TV in room.
Hotel Beursstraat = you get, what you pay for, dont expect 5* servis for few EURs. I dont have problem to stay here again. Good location for exploring the city.
p.s. We got very late check out for free, great bonus. Big thx to helpfull stuff :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lubox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic, you're less than a 5 minute walk away from the red light district, Central Station, Dam square etc.
We just wanted somewhere really cheap and centrally located as we were only there for one night to have a few beers and watch Ajax v Real Madrid.
The hotel is very outdated but clean, it's fine to go with "the lads" if you're just looking for a place to crash but if you're going with your partner then pay the extra money and stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmer1874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

When I got there I thought I would kill my travel agent whom I always trusted. I am not used to luxurious conditions but that was too much. It was extremely small and old, the bathroom was tiny and clean but smelled like hospital. It was frequeshly cold in the room. Of course no hairdryer though every place I went before had at least one and I didn't bother to take one. We had to move our bed from the windows and it became a bit better. Also had to ask the staff to turn on the heating which later on heated us more than well. As for the bed I was disgusted by it. The blanked was like in prison and only a small, doubtfully clean sheet separated my body from it. I spent there 3 nights and now I am so happy to be home in a clean nice bed:)
To sum up, location is great and the hotel is quite good for its ranking. For me it was not pleasant. I hope a lot of people would share my opinion. Definitely not a nice place for couples to stay. The place is a hole.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hija_de_puta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#307 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#299 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#274 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#282 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#286 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#243 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beursstraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beursstraat

Property: Hotel Beursstraat
Address: Beursstraat 7, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Beursstraat 1*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Beursstraat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beursstraat Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing