We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty average”
Review of Hotel Abba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abba
Ranked #203 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for 5 nights and found it to be quite average. Here are some pointers:

- Room was relatively clean
- Toilet was relatively clean
- House keeping every day
- No airconditioning which made it very stuffy in the room. Had to open a window to sleep but the noise from the main street was unbearable affecting the quality of our sleep.
- Safe location and a supermarket is right next door
- Friendly staff
- Right opposite the tram and very close to some famous museums and Vondellpark is just around the corner

Overall our stay at Abba would have been more enjoyable if we didn't recieve a room facing the main street. Make sure to request for a room that doesn't face the street!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank isurus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    201
    130
    35
    23
See reviews for
33
152
66
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a private room with shared toilet/shower.

I paid around £80 total for the 2 nights, which for the location is really good. It's right near Leidsplein which is a fantastic area to start adventures, as well as being 3 mins walk to Vondlepark which is absolutely gorgeous.

Bed was nice and comfy, bedroom had a fan which was hugely appreciated, and the shower was nice and strong.

Nothing to complain about at all! Thanks for having me.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigandFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avellino, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one week. I chose a single room with a shared bathroom. The hotel Abba is near the Vondel Park and Van Gogh Museum so the position it is very good. There is a stop bus in front of the hotel and the tram number 1 go directly from the hotel to the center and the station (the price is 2.80 euros and you can buy the ticket on the tram or buy a card that is cheaper). The room was small but very nice and clean. There is an excellent WIFI system free for all customers, The bathroom was ok and the shower very nice. This hotel have a lot of stairs and it is not adapt for old people or generally for people with heavy baggage. The first precipituos stairs are only to reach the reception and then you have to climb others spiral staircase (with small step). So good luck, but a very useful exercise to digest a beer. I paid 55 euro for each night, breakfast including. So i recommend this hotel to young people and couple. Good receptionists

Room Tip: More you stay at the top of the hotel, more are the stairs you have to climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

hotel abba has to be the best value for money In Amsterdam that I have come across. it's ideally located so that you can start your day up in dam sq and work your way down to hitting the best night spots that are cheaper and friendlier. I've been to Amsterdam 13 times and always try to get a room in abba

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catmac82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

You have to know that accommodation in Amsterdam is quite expensive so this hotel is the best ratio between investment and what you get for your money. Breakfast is quite good. Tram line no.1 is in front of hotel and it's great connection with city centre. Mattresses are very comfortable and good for sleeping. Staff is very helpful with information. Wifi also in covered very well in all hotel.
Room got some smoke smell but considering you are in Amsterdam it's not so big deal.
Stairs, so if you are older it's better that you are in good form. We used shared bathroom and it was smelly sometimes.

Room Tip: Take a room with included breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danyb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed for one week at Abba Hotel and I can say that it's one of the best hotels for young people and not only. If you plan a trip to Amsterdam and you want to spend most of your day out in the city, visiting and enjoying the sights, this hotel has a perfect location. Very easy to reach from the central station by tram. Kind personnel, comfortable rooms. The supermarket at the ground floor is very useful for daily shopping, and I liked a lot the fact that we could reach very easy the center area, as well as Vondelpark. I would definitely book there again.

Room Tip: The stairs are a bit steep, so if you have heavy luggage, take this into consideration (no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed in June 2012 The hotel is quite basic, however the price is reasonable relative to the high priced, yet average hotels in Amsterdam.Close to Rijksmuseum Vondelpark and Leidseplein Square.A basic decent breakfast is included. some rooms look out onto a decent courtyard, No elevator and the stairs are steep as they pretty much all are everywhere in Amsterdam (a problem for people with mobility issues).Heat in the room was a bit of an issue. Returned somewhat wet from a morning out in the city and the room was stone cold. we needed to dry a few articles. and when I notified the reception they told me that the heat was already on. The maintainence man was sitting on his but, smoking. The heat did not come on til much later in the day. The hotel was reasonably clean. I would stay there again, but if you are fussy perhaps better to pay the extra money and a better hotel.

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redrock55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hortus
Hotel Hortus
#232 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#220 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#179 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#265 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#210 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
De Pijp
Bicycle Hotel
Bicycle Hotel
#209 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Property: Hotel Abba
Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Abba 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abba is a one star budget hotel located smack bang in the middle of all the action. We are within walking distance of the main going out area Leidseplein, the museum district, the famous canals and Amsterdam's largest park the Vondel park. So wether you're here to party, explore Amsterdam's culture, stroll along the scenic canals or relax in the park along side the locals, you're in the right place for it! Hotel Abba has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with an international touch for over 20 years! Our selection of 38 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast served from 08:00am until 10:00am. We offer FREE Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and have kettle's, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards available in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing